1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

best way to get mp3 and amps on audi navigation +

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by shufti, Aug 9, 2007.

  1. shufti
    Offline

    shufti Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 9, 2007]
    i've just bought an audi a6 with the double din head unit so i am looking to add one of these to keep the standard audi dash and also i love the look of these dash sat navs.....

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/AUDI-NAVIGATI...ryZ75327QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

    this will be quite a big compromise on what i am used to so my question is what are my options for adding mp3 playback to the system?

    also I assume I will have to use the head unit speaker wires with low level rca converters to run my amps?

    i have 2 pairs of mids and tweeters in each of the 4 doors on a 4 channel amp + a 12" subwoofer on a mono amp in the boot. the standard audi set up has a 6" subwoofer in the boot, could i utilise this for my input to my sub amp?

    any help would be appreciated

    cheers
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 21, 2014]

  3. shufti
    Offline

    shufti Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 9, 2007]
    I forgot to add i don't have an ipod and i don't want any visible wires and i want control from ther head unit not an mp3 player....... all of my previous systems played mp3 direct from dvd/cd disc or media flash cards

    i know the new model sat nav has an sd card slot but i really want to base a system on the audi navigation plus sat nav as in the link above

    cheers
    #2
  4. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Aug 9, 2007]
    All Audi head units already have front & rear pre-outs, they're just not on standard RCA connectors. You need a Blaupunkt pre-out adapter and then you can connect standard RCA's to feed your amps.
    http://www.caraudiodirect.co.uk/blaupunkt-preout-lead-p-79.html
    There is no independent sub pre-out so you'll have to run the sub off the rear RCA's using a splitter or the pre-out feed from your 4ch amp (if it has one).
    A phatnoise in the boot will allow you to load up 20GB of mp3's with direct integration to the CD changer port on the Audi HU. The Audi HU can't navigate the Phatnoise, everything is done via voice prompts.
    http://www.phatnoise.com/audi/
    #3
  5. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Aug 9, 2007]
    Cant think why you want an RNS-D over the E, the D is a pig to fit and requires a TMC module to interface to the cluster.

    RNS-E is basically plug and play compared to the D and it fits your needs.
    #4
  6. steve1975l
    Offline

    steve1975l Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 9, 2007]
    Craig is right, RNS-E is the way forward and with MP3 it's a no brainer.
    #5
  7. shufti
    Offline

    shufti Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 11, 2007]
    thanks for the info, maybe the RNS-E is the way forward........ it was only really the cost difference why i was going to the RNS-D

    RNS-E are about £450 used aren't they?
    #6
  8. sh500
    Offline

    sh500 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 18, 2007]
    #7
  9. shufti
    Offline

    shufti Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 18, 2007]
    interesting...... good spot!
    #8

Share This Page