1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bent Over for a SENSOR

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by LordNelson, Jan 20, 2010.

  1. LordNelson
    Offline

    LordNelson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    I feel like i have been seriously bent over now......
    MoT failed on my ABS light deciding to make an appearance during the test.

    I had previously had a VCDS scan and the Longitudinal Acceleration Sensor came up with an "implausible signal" fault......so, after finding out the price, i decided to chance it. no luck!!!!

    and now....Audi have just charged me £133 for a new one..... GUTTED!!!!!

    has anyone else had this prob and managed to fix it without buying a new one?
    i tried unplugging and plugging back in but had no effect!!
    #1
  2. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    270
    you could swap the sensors over to see if the fault follows the faulty sensor. That will at least make you feel a bit better that its not wiring or a symptom of another fault.
    #2
  3. 666markyboy
    Offline

    666markyboy Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    32
    Should have asked for a discount..... i rang Backburn Audi on Sat morning for a coolant temp sender as mine was the black type and has an intermitant fault.... after reading on here i knew they were around £22 for the newer Green OEM one.... i had £25 cash in my pocket so thought i would pick one up on the way home from work, however when i rang them i was quoted £33 with a new 'O' ring so i said i'll have to leave it as i don't have enough money on me..... to which the said hang on a min let me see what i can do.... "How does £20 sound ?? " so i now have a nice new OEM sender fitted
    #3
  4. LordNelson
    Offline

    LordNelson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    they had to order it from the factory as it wasnt one they kept in stock.....so had to take full payment to order it.
    just glad i dont have to pay someone to fit it
    #4
  5. wibble111
    Offline

    wibble111 needs to scratch the itch

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem with mine intermittantly, cycle the ignition and it goes for a while, i nearly passed out when i found out how much the sensor is.
    Is your a facelift? If so where was the sensor positioned, behind glove box or under steering column?
    #5

Share This Page