1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Battery securing

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by madmike01uk, Mar 13, 2013.

  1. madmike01uk

    madmike01uk Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    21
    My battery isn't secured properly, what should be securing my battery to the car? Anybody know what the part number is? I need to get this sorted.

    Cheers

    mike
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. quattrojames

    quattrojames Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Audi A6 Audi Avant Owner Group

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    14,043
    Likes Received:
    561
    It's a bolt with a bracket, part numbers here:

    [​IMG]
     
  4. quattrojames

    quattrojames Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Audi A6 Audi Avant Owner Group

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    14,043
    Likes Received:
    561
    3 - 8E2 805 229 A

    Beyond that, you need to take your battery out and see whats missing, it's probably just the bolt.
     
  5. madmike01uk

    madmike01uk Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    21
    Cheers, I will take it out tomorrow and see whats what.
     
  6. benjie

    benjie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,225
    Likes Received:
    292
    If nothing is missing, you need to loosen the bolt, then straighten it up, so it looks like it's standing up/leaning back. You can tighten it up and if it's at the wrong angle/position by 2-3mm, it will not secure the battery.
     
  7. Andie0

    Andie0 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    13
    Had same problem, some non oem batterys are incorrectly sized and simply will not tighten down without a spacer between the clamp and lip on battery i used a 3mm long allen key and slid it between clamp and lip then clamped that down on to battery to get the extra i needed so clamp would engage! Doesnt move at all anymore!
     

Share This Page