1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Battery Loosing Charge.....

Discussion in 'General Technical / How To' started by rickquattro, Jan 7, 2004.

  1. rickquattro
    Offline

    rickquattro Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 7, 2004]
    On behalf of a friend with an A2.....The A2 forum is a little quiet..

    His car didnt start after being left 4 days. I gave him a jump start, and after this he contacted Audi about the problem. Apparently the dealer said that the car will flatten the battery in this time from the alarm whilst it just sits there. So if he goes on holiday for instance, and leaves his car at the airport, after a couple of weeks he cant start his car ! Is this normal ? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif

    Hope someone can help.

    Thanx

    Rick
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 21, 2014]

  3. Mutley
    Offline

    Mutley Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 7, 2004]
    Your friend's dealer is talking out of his arse mate. A typical small car battery has a 50Ah capacity - so somehow the car is drawing about 10Ah a day from it. Audi's breakdown rescue would be working overtime if every Audi died after 4 days - there would be a queue of vans at every airport...

    If it is under warranty tell him to throw it back at them quoting the above. If it's not, let us know and we'll go through some diagnostics.

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #2
  4. rickquattro
    Offline

    rickquattro Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 7, 2004]
    Thanks Mutley,

    I couldnt believe that Edinburgh Audi could possibly be right on this either. Sounded like a complete fob off. In terms of diagnostics where would you suggest he starts ? A good auto electrician ? I asked the questions about interior lights being on, etc etc.
    I also think that the car is under warranty, he got it second hand with 33k on the clock.

    Rick
    #3
  5. Mutley
    Offline

    Mutley Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 7, 2004]
    Hi Rick,

    If possible, connect a multimeter set to 'current' (min 10 amps) in series with the earth return to the battery. Whatever you do, don't crank the engine or the multimeter will have a heart attack. Make sure the radio code is known first also.

    Note the current draw and then start pulling the fuses until it reduces to almost zero. That should soon locate the culprit.

    When re-connecting the battery the throttle pedal must be left alone for a good 10 minutes while the ECU goes through its re-calibration. The electric windows will need to be cycled up and down and the radio code re-entered in the meantime.

    All the best

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #4
  6. rickquattro
    Offline

    rickquattro Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 7, 2004]
    Thanks again. I have a multimeter so I can help him with this. Alternatively he can drop it back to where he got it from.

    Let you know what happens..

    Rick /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #5
  7. rickquattro
    Offline

    rickquattro Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 14, 2004]
    A-ha,

    Turns out that the light in the glove box was permanantly on....bit like the one in the fridge.

    Many thanx, its sorted by replacing the headlight switch which the glovebox light problem is wired into.

    Rick
    #6

Share This Page