1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

bargin Audi B5 A4/S4 Symphony radio from ecs

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by boost-addict, May 21, 2013.

  1. boost-addict
    Offline

    boost-addict Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    979
    Likes Received:
    0
    #1
  2. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,156
    Likes Received:
    5
    i couldnt believe the price when i seen it.
    #2
    Arrkon likes this.
  3. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,156
    Likes Received:
    5
    It works out about £90 delivered to the uk !! If only we had something like 034/ECS in the UK they would probably be my biggest direct debit every month lol and id be forced to buy a caravan to live in lol
    #3
  4. wysiwyg
    Offline

    wysiwyg Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    +vat + import.
    #4
  5. Nessy
    Offline

    Nessy VW + Audi mad

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes, but it would be +VAT and + import duty of the original purchase price ie $37.
    Still looks a good deal IMHO.
    #5
  6. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,156
    Likes Received:
    5
    yeah shouldnt be to bad as when doug sent my replacement manifold he put the value at $20 and there was no charge this end at all !!
    #6
  7. Sulli79
    Offline

    Sulli79 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    2
    That is an amazing price! I've had a symphony in mine for about a year and it is a marked improvement on the concert especially when you find the hidden eq and adjust the settings.
    #7
  8. Oranoco
    Offline

    Oranoco Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,125
    Likes Received:
    4
    Does the US broadcast on the same FM frequencies as us? I know Japan doesn't
    #8
  9. boost-addict
    Offline

    boost-addict Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    979
    Likes Received:
    0
    ive just ordered one, havent got double din, but at that price its going to be!!! even for £90 thats **** hot, s/h units sell for that!


    i belive the usa units receive the same hz frequency as us

    just had to google to be sure

    In the United States, frequency-modulated broadcasting stations operate in a frequency band extending from 87.8 MHz to 108.0 MHz,

    so exactly the same as us,

    did find a baffling page about radio frequncy allocation from 3khz to 300ghz lol
    http://www.ntia.doc.gov/files/ntia/publications/2003-allochrt.pdf
    #9
  10. Sulli79
    Offline

    Sulli79 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    2
    have a mooch at the classifieds on SRS, there are currently two double din setups for sale there
    #10
  11. boost-addict
    Offline

    boost-addict Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    979
    Likes Received:
    0
    yer ill adapt what i have, i got a plastic surround designed for a mk5 golf

    then thatll take a double din stereo
    #11
  12. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,495
    Likes Received:
    12
    You really need the DD console/climate unit/ashtray to give you enough room. The ashtray is smaller and moved further down, and the climate unit is shaped to fit into the now tapering hole.
    #12
  13. boost-addict
    Offline

    boost-addict Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    979
    Likes Received:
    0
    im not keeping the ashtray, i dont smoke and its broke any way
    #13
  14. Tom_B
    Offline

    Tom_B Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ive got a double din mount and symphony radio with ashtray and hvac if you want? No surround trim though.
    #14
  15. HibiscusS4
    Offline

    HibiscusS4 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Check for Vat and Duty, it only counts on purchases over a certain amount (I think its £30 for one and £130 for the other) do you wont have to pay both. Watch out for US radios as they have different steps to us you might find that while it covers the same band it wont allow you to tune perfectly to UK stations.
    #15
    Arrkon likes this.
  16. gmx
    Offline

    gmx Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe the US parts are different and incompatible...

    Different part numbers, plus they notice later units have a region coding but same PNs.
    #16

Share This Page