1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Badger5 Stage 1 Remap to replace AmD

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by atr1g1978, Mar 2, 2012.

  1. atr1g1978
    Offline

    atr1g1978 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 2, 2012]
    Hi,

    Ive currently got an AmD Stage 1 map on my AUM 1.8 T but its only showing 185 bhp on the rolling road, ive had a price from Bill to replace it with his stage 1 which should run at between 200 and 210. The car is running on momentum99 its had all coil packs and plugs replaced, oil service.

    basically should i go ahead and do it?

    im very new to this so any help would be appreciated.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 15, 2014]

  3. superkarl
    Offline

    superkarl MAN OF STEEL

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7,614
    Likes Received:
    1,101
    [Mar 2, 2012]
    you certainly should.

    maybe get a TIP and a 007p DV if you havent already
    #2
  4. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    729
    [Mar 2, 2012]
    Well he has one of the best reps on here for remaps so you are in safe hands for whatever power you end up with....:icon_thumright:
    #3
  5. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,566
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Mar 2, 2012]
    Theres always the possibility that it should be making more but isnt due to a leak or other issue.

    That said i'm sure bill will sort you out!
    #4
  6. atr1g1978
    Offline

    atr1g1978 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 2, 2012]
    The car is having its silicone tip fitted next saturday, and i replace the DV with a forge one before the AmD map.

    Thanks for the reply
    #5
  7. Alais DJA
    Offline

    Alais DJA Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    49
    [Mar 2, 2012]
    Whats bill charging you for the re-map
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 2, 2012
    #6
  8. S3featesV9
    Offline

    S3featesV9 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Mar 2, 2012]
    I don't think bill would 'sting' anyone for a remap or any of his products. The bloke knows these cars inside out and is worth every penny.
    #7
  9. AJC
    Offline

    AJC 3rd Gear

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Mar 2, 2012]

    You couldn't go to a better place, Bill has more knowledge on the 1.8T than most other tuners put together. He spends pretty much all of his time working on them so will know exactly how to get the most from your current set up. Of course if you want it to 'breathe' a bit better and want to invest in a few more mods then he's got the best TIP available for the 1.8T and usually has what you would want in stock.
    I had an AMD map on my S3 and took it to Bill for some tweaking. Turned out I had a boost leak (£15 hose fixed that) and then the original map was tweaked to produce 264bhp (it started out at 210 from the first run and about 240 once the boost leak was fixed).
    I had the Badger TIP fitted at the same time and the results were impressive.

    The very early AMD maps used to replace the Audi chip in the ECU by soldering in a new AMD one. This method is pretty much obsolete now as most tuners flash the new map onto the original chip. If AMD have replaced your original chip (they had with mine) then Bill may have to order you a new chip so he can flash his custom map onto it. However, he'll still be able to get the best from the AMD one and adjust some of it's settings but best bet is to speak to him direct and discuss the options with him. You won't be disappointed or ripped off, I wasn't.
    #8
  10. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    729
    [Mar 2, 2012]
    The b5 tip is for KO4 cars only up to press....
    #9
  11. atr1g1978
    Offline

    atr1g1978 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 2, 2012]
    AmD didnt replace the chip they just mapped the existing one.:arco: looks like i will be going to bill.
    #10

Share This Page