1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B6 Aftermarket headunit essentials?

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by fourcircle, Oct 14, 2010.

  1. fourcircle

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    27
    I've turned my head looking through other threads. Does anyone know if there's a definitive guide for installing an aftermarket headunit in a B6 (specifically mine is a concert with non bose. OEm sub in the O/S rear quarter)

    I looked into it briefly ages ago and CANBUS seems to be the bugger. Am I right in thinking I can run a switched ignition feed from fuse 5 or did I dream that? I'm not sure how the rear sub will react to a new HU with higher speaker output too.

    cheers
    nj
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. Garfie

    Garfie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have gone fully aftermarket in mine and dont use any of the OEM stuff.

    HU changed, all door speakers changed (fronts amped, rears from new HU), centre speaker in dash disconnected, OEM sub and amp ripped out replaced with amp and 12" sub in boot.

    You are right that you need to find an ignition live if you want your HU to come on with the ignition. Mine is wired so that both the live and ignition live for the HU go to the permanent live on the car HU loom so the HU can be on without the ignition. I did however need to find an ignition live from the fuse box for my Parrot hands free kit.

    The other wire I needed was an illumination signal wire to dim the HU when the car lights are on. This was sourced from the back of the headlight switch.

    As for using the standard sub I'm not sure how this would be linked into the new HU as I have a vague feeling you will find the sub (and maybe the rear door speakers) wont come on if you just link into the car loom with your new HU ISO connectors.

    J7USS may be able to help as I think he may have done this.
     
  4. Emmo

    Emmo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    12
    You will need a fascia adaptor, otherwise there will be a gap around the head unit.
    Switched live is easily found from the fusebox on drivers side.

    As for the wiring you can buy an autoleads loom which will plug into the audi non bose system.
    This will enable the aftermarket head unit to switch on the amp and the audi sub will work too.

    Ive replaced my concert with an Alpine head unit with an mp3 changer in the glovebox. Sounds pretty good with plenty of bass.
     
  5. scott b

    scott b Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,254
    Likes Received:
    3
    as above ive fitted a kenwood into mine and at first the rear speakers were very faint, in the end i ran new wires to the standard output feeds on the rear sub amp, thus bypassing the standard amp for the rear speakers, then i fitted 2 10" subs and new amp in the boot, thus removing the standard amp/sub, sounds a lot better but next is the door speakers
     
  6. fourcircle

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    27
    Thanks lads. I definitely can't put new subs in the boot as I use every inch of the space regularly. I have the facia adapter already but never got around to choosing a head unit. I'm thinking if the new head unit has pre outs I could stash a small amp somewhere in the back to run the speakers and leave the existing wiring to power the oem sub, which is much better since I replaced the spaker in it. a plastic sub box will always sound like a plastic sub box but I can look at custom making something different later.
     
  7. iyrix

    iyrix Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    8
  8. scott b

    scott b Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,254
    Likes Received:
    3
    head unit wise, the reason i went for the kenwood is because it lights up red
     
  9. iyrix

    iyrix Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    8
    most decent stereo's have the options to change back ground colour.
     
  10. fourcircle

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    27
  11. jd26

    jd26 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. fourcircle

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    27
    Did you get the kenwood in the end?
     

Share This Page