1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

b6 1.9tdi temp gauge playing up again help

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by b14ryk, May 15, 2013.

  1. b14ryk
    Offline

    b14ryk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 15, 2013]
    have new stat done 1000miles or so should i do cts now and does the car have a viscose fan ia the cts hard to fit
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 26, 2014]

  3. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
    [May 15, 2013]
    Bit more info would help!

    What's happening with the gauge did you use a gen stat?
    #2
  4. b14ryk
    Offline

    b14ryk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 15, 2013]
    going up and down its form local motor factor
    #3
  5. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
    [May 15, 2013]
    Always replace with gen

    Erratic needle is usually a sign of the sensor
    #4
  6. Audi Doodah
    Offline

    Audi Doodah Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    34
    [May 15, 2013]
    Senor is located on the pipe at the back of the engine block on the 1.9, nowhere near the viscous fan. Get an OE one, green, with 4 pins. A simple swap but you will need to top up the coolant after.
    #5
  7. b14ryk
    Offline

    b14ryk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 19, 2013]
    fitted cts today pig of a job but done will see how long it lasts
    #6
  8. Slinepete
    Offline

    Slinepete Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    16
    [May 19, 2013]
    This was happening on my 1.8t cleaned the connector to the top of the sensor and no more erratic needle it's as though it was a dirty connection might not be on yours but worth a shot
    #7

Share This Page