1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

B5 S4 Thermostat change

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by AndyC, Nov 14, 2010.

  1. AndyC
    Offline

    AndyC Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Nov 14, 2010]
    Hey Guys

    got the usual slow warm up and in the cold not getting upto temp etc

    I am assuming the stat, as its got a new duel sensor already.

    is it possible to change without taking the belts off?

    any other tips etc?

    cheers

    Andy
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 24, 2014]

  3. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    315
    [Nov 14, 2010]
    Apparently you can squeeze it out past the timing belt with a bit of wrestling, but i've never done one personally.
    #2
  4. AndyC
    Offline

    AndyC Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Nov 14, 2010]
    was hoping that was the answer..... had to be somewhere awkward didnt it......... BALLS

    will add it to my list of things to do on the car....... its getting longer
    #3
  5. shineydave
    Offline

    shineydave Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Nov 17, 2010]
    My S4 is just in for a Timing belt change, new thermostat, waterpump etc. i nipped down last night to see the progress. i'd be incredibly surprised if you could get to the thermostat without removing the belt, it really is buried in the back of beyond
    #4
  6. Tuffty
    Offline

    Tuffty Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 18, 2010]
    what is it with audi and thermostats, i did one on my old s3 last year and that was a pain in the rear to get to as well.
    #5
  7. AndyC
    Offline

    AndyC Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Nov 21, 2010]
    Dave, I will pretend you didnt say that....... had enough of changing the whole rear bush set.... and suspension and brake lines this week................ grrrrrr
    #6
  8. shineydave
    Offline

    shineydave Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Nov 22, 2010]
    Can i retract my previous comment, i spoke to Charlie at FA Ropers and he said it was possible but it was a pig. you have to loosen the front end so you can move the radiator etc forward and then when you put the new stat in there's hardly any clearance so it's a struggle to get the water gallery back in place
    #7
  9. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    315
    [Nov 22, 2010]
    Yep, someone on here has done it and posted up that it could be done without removing the belt but its a squeeze.

    I'd pull the whole lock carrier though to maximise access though.
    #8
  10. AndyC
    Offline

    AndyC Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Nov 22, 2010]
    agreed, not that much more effort to remove the whole carrier though.... so YEA
    #9
  11. AndyC
    Offline

    AndyC Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Dec 4, 2010]
    WELL!!!!

    Managed it........... changed the stat without removing the cambelt....

    the stat was stuck open, so never warmed up, was terrible especially in this weather... was using fuel etc etc etc

    dropped the carrier into the service position, left bank belt covers off. moved the belt carfully half off the pullies.

    you have to pry out the housing and its not easy..... plenty of room for error and to damage the belt if your not VERY careful.




    HAVING said that it took 3 hrs and now the temp is upto full in 2 miles........... so worth it................



    Andy
    #10
  12. S4twiggy
    Offline

    S4twiggy Fully Certified Detailer!!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,815
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Dec 5, 2010]
    Good to know it can be done andy, having the same problem with mine now so gona be changing in due course.
    #11
  13. AndyC
    Offline

    AndyC Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Dec 5, 2010]
    the main advice is to take care with the belt......... also a good opportunity to flush and replace the coolant.
    #12

Share This Page