1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Aux Input Socket

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by GlasgowRangers, Mar 3, 2008.

  1. GlasgowRangers
    Offline

    GlasgowRangers GlasgowRangersFC

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 3, 2008]
    There is a small socket just under my armrest that reads AUX.

    What the hell is that for? No mention of it in my manual...

    Cheers.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 20, 2014]

  3. cooni
    Offline

    cooni Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 3, 2008]
    you can plug in external audio devices such as ipods and other mp3 players via a 3.5mm jack. press the cd/tv button to switch to it
    #2
  4. richardn
    Offline

    richardn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 3, 2008]
    Yeah my dealer told me that just after i ordered the ipod console...
    #3
  5. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 3, 2008]
    my dealer had no idea about it.... and neither did Audi UK when I mailed them and asked them.

    Ive kept the mails so I can mail them back the pics of the product that they knew nowt about!
    #4
  6. Amchlolor
    Offline

    Amchlolor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5,604
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Mar 3, 2008]
    But, to be fair, the 'aux in' is pish compared with a proper i-pod dock.
    Zero control and no re-charging.
    It's better than nowt, but barely.
    #5
  7. GlasgowRangers
    Offline

    GlasgowRangers GlasgowRangersFC

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 3, 2008]
    Jesus thats useful. So it makes no sense to order the ipod unit does it if one can just as easily hook it up to this socket?
    #6
  8. Amchlolor
    Offline

    Amchlolor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5,604
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Mar 3, 2008]
    Our posts probably crossed, but the 'aux-in' is very basic.
    You can't use the car's display to read track names, or the car's controls to change tracks.
    It won't charge the player either.
    Really, it's barely any better than one of those FM tuner things you can get for your i-pods.
    A proper i-pod dock is infinitely better than the aux-in.
    My D3 only has an aux-in too, unfortunately.
    I'm looking at getting a dension i-pod dock, but they're expensive (£400).
    I don't know if the extra control is worth that much.:faint:
    #7
  9. GlasgowRangers
    Offline

    GlasgowRangers GlasgowRangersFC

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 3, 2008]
    Got it now. Cheers mate. Better than a boot in the balls though eh?
    #8
  10. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,161
    Likes Received:
    688
    [Mar 3, 2008]
    I got 1 too, doubt I'll ever use it though...
    #9
  11. richs2891
    Offline

    richs2891 I cant spell !

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 3, 2008]
    Not even bothered trying mine - might do one day though !

    Richard
    #10
  12. Amchlolor
    Offline

    Amchlolor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5,604
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Mar 3, 2008]
    Why would you, when your sig says you have an i-pod connector?
    #11
  13. steveg9
    Offline

    steveg9 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 3, 2008]
    But the 'aux' is fine for a 16 year old daughter who just wants to sit there and twiddle her iPod: I'd rather have that than blowing her eardrums with the earpieces and the volume up tops!!
    #12
  14. Amchlolor
    Offline

    Amchlolor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5,604
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Mar 3, 2008]
    If her i-pod is an EU sourced one, did you know they have their max volume set at 83%, by law?
    Yet again, the EU protecting us from ourselves.:no:
    So if you want a loud one, get a US one.:rockwoot:
    #13
  15. mattandrew
    Offline

    mattandrew Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Mar 3, 2008]
    #14
  16. steveg9
    Offline

    steveg9 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 3, 2008]
    No I didn't but subjectively if I can hear it from the back seat over the sound from the in-car set it SEEMS too loud!!! But point is the same - for a free feature which I didn't expect it's not a bad deal

    eBay has VAG iPod units from time to time but I don't think the wiring is there by default is it?
    #15
  17. redbutcher
    Offline

    redbutcher Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 3, 2008]
    Not sure what the BMW interface is like if you let the BMW headunit control the iPod. I have read on the Dension website that you can get text to appear on the BMW headunit when used with a Dension Gateway - much better than the Audi rubbish. The Gateway 100 is only £100, so that might do you Bowfer.

    I don't use the Audi interface with my Gateway 100 - I just control it manually. Only thing that's good over the Aux input is it charges as it's being used, plus stops and switches to radio if a traffic report kicks in (don't know if the aux input does the same?). If I had the choice now I'd have stuck with the Aux input and got a car charger for my iPod and saved at least £100 in the process.
    #16
  18. Sand
    Offline

    Sand New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 8, 2008]
    Has anyone got a pic of the Aux input? I can't find it on my car which is a Jan 04 with a Concert II

    Maybe it is a newish spec item?

    S
    #17
  19. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 8, 2008]
    Sorry it's only on 08 cars. There's a pic in another thread somewhere, have a search around.
    #18
  20. Sand
    Offline

    Sand New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 8, 2008]
    Thanks , time to get the cheque book out I fear!!

    S
    #19
  21. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 8, 2008]
    You'll need a concert II+ or an RNSe to make it work. :(
    #20
  22. cjp2k
    Offline

    cjp2k Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 9, 2008]
    Does the aux in work if you have the cd changer too?
    #21
  23. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 9, 2008]
    Yes, you can keep the CD changer.
    #22
  24. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 9, 2008]
    [​IMG]
    #23
  25. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    [Mar 9, 2008]
    It also works with the Symphony II+.

    If you have an RNS-E you also need the software updating to version 0650.

    Oh, and you need to recode the radios with VAG-COM to enable the Aux input.
    #24
  26. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 10, 2008]
    Forgot about the software update. Thanks Dave.
    #25

Share This Page