1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Aux-In on S3 8P with RNS-E

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by cooni, Mar 7, 2008.

  1. cooni

    cooni Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. JohnS3

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    2
    Nice work, and you keep your CD changer too. ;)
     
  4. S3IZZO

    S3IZZO Guest

    That looks very neat and tidy - well done!
     
  5. JohnS3

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just noticed there is no airbag de-activation switch. Is that not a requirement in Auz or do you have bucket seats?
     
  6. maars

    maars Full speed ahead

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    3
    Does the RNS-e have video input too?
     
  7. JohnS3

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes, you can spec a TV tuner from the factory or fit a Dietz converter and plug in DVD players playstations etc....
     
  8. MarcQuinlivan

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    4
    what about the digital\analog tuner mentioned on the navplus.us link above:

     
  9. maars

    maars Full speed ahead

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    3
    Great! Any similar links for how to add a video input as well as audio?
     
  10. JohnS3

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    2
    Have a look at the Kufatec IMA. There is a basic and a plus version.

    The plus version lets you control some external devices via the RNSe. You may also want to unlock VIM or video in motion if you're planning to let your passengers view video whilst driving.
     
  11. maars

    maars Full speed ahead

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    3
    So no simply plug n play like the audio input wiring then? The reason I ask is that I was wondering how simple it would be to hook up an iPod Video....
     
  12. JohnS3

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    2
    I think I know where you're going with this.... If you want just video then it'll work. The ipod video output is just that, video. So if you want to navigate the iPod menus then you'll have to integrate the DLO Homedock Deluxe.

    [ytv]lCfrWP_JR60[/ytv] [ytv]NA-MDYcOYYQ[/ytv]


    You can read about the install on navplus

    Good luck.
     
  13. maars

    maars Full speed ahead

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    3
    OK, OK, I'm sold!
     
  14. cooni

    cooni Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeh i havent seen any cars with it?
     
  15. cooni

    cooni Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    steer clear of "plug and play" VIM (video in motion) boxes
    they mess with the vehicle speed reported to the NAV unit and in turn mess with navigation.
     
  16. maars

    maars Full speed ahead

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    3
    Sounds like a Kufatec IMA plus, DLO HomeDockDeluxe and VIM unlocking are required for this little setup. Very smart though...
     
  17. JohnS3

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    2
    It's impressive, might even get around to it myself one day....
     
  18. maars

    maars Full speed ahead

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    3
    I presume there's only one version of the DLO? So if I bought a US one (half the price) it won't be restricted to NTSC playback? Or do I have to buy a UK spec PAL DLO?
     
  19. JohnS3

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    2
    The user manual says it is switchable between PAL & NTSC. HTH.
     
  20. N8

    N8 Kowalski Details
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,171
    Likes Received:
    709
    How much are we looking at for that setup? PS2 install is going in my car next week....
     
  21. JohnS3

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    2
    Are you using the Kufatec IMA plus?
     
  22. Advert Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. N8

    N8 Kowalski Details
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,171
    Likes Received:
    709
    Not sure, I think so. S8 Craig installed it for me. with the TV in Motion...
     

Share This Page