1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Aux-In on S3 8P with RNS-E

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by cooni, Mar 7, 2008.

  1. cooni
    Offline

    cooni Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 7, 2008]
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 22, 2014]

  3. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 7, 2008]
    Nice work, and you keep your CD changer too. ;)
    #2
  4. S3IZZO
    Online

    S3IZZO Guest

    [Mar 7, 2008]
    That looks very neat and tidy - well done!
    #3
  5. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 7, 2008]
    Just noticed there is no airbag de-activation switch. Is that not a requirement in Auz or do you have bucket seats?
    #4
  6. maars
    Offline

    maars Full speed ahead

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Mar 7, 2008]
    Does the RNS-e have video input too?
    #5
  7. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 7, 2008]
    Yes, you can spec a TV tuner from the factory or fit a Dietz converter and plug in DVD players playstations etc....
    #6
  8. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 7, 2008]
    what about the digital\analog tuner mentioned on the navplus.us link above:

    #7
  9. maars
    Offline

    maars Full speed ahead

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Mar 7, 2008]
    Great! Any similar links for how to add a video input as well as audio?
    #8
  10. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 7, 2008]
    Have a look at the Kufatec IMA. There is a basic and a plus version.

    The plus version lets you control some external devices via the RNSe. You may also want to unlock VIM or video in motion if you're planning to let your passengers view video whilst driving.
    #9
  11. maars
    Offline

    maars Full speed ahead

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Mar 7, 2008]
    So no simply plug n play like the audio input wiring then? The reason I ask is that I was wondering how simple it would be to hook up an iPod Video....
    #10
  12. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 7, 2008]
    I think I know where you're going with this.... If you want just video then it'll work. The ipod video output is just that, video. So if you want to navigate the iPod menus then you'll have to integrate the DLO Homedock Deluxe.

    [ytv]lCfrWP_JR60[/ytv] [ytv]NA-MDYcOYYQ[/ytv]


    You can read about the install on navplus

    Good luck.
    #11
  13. maars
    Offline

    maars Full speed ahead

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Mar 7, 2008]
    OK, OK, I'm sold!
    #12
  14. cooni
    Offline

    cooni Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 7, 2008]
    yeh i havent seen any cars with it?
    #13
  15. cooni
    Offline

    cooni Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 7, 2008]
    steer clear of "plug and play" VIM (video in motion) boxes
    they mess with the vehicle speed reported to the NAV unit and in turn mess with navigation.
    #14
  16. maars
    Offline

    maars Full speed ahead

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Mar 7, 2008]
    Sounds like a Kufatec IMA plus, DLO HomeDockDeluxe and VIM unlocking are required for this little setup. Very smart though...
    #15
  17. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 8, 2008]
    It's impressive, might even get around to it myself one day....
    #16
  18. maars
    Offline

    maars Full speed ahead

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Mar 8, 2008]
    I presume there's only one version of the DLO? So if I bought a US one (half the price) it won't be restricted to NTSC playback? Or do I have to buy a UK spec PAL DLO?
    #17
  19. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 10, 2008]
    The user manual says it is switchable between PAL & NTSC. HTH.
    #18
  20. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,164
    Likes Received:
    692
    [Mar 10, 2008]
    How much are we looking at for that setup? PS2 install is going in my car next week....
    #19
  21. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 10, 2008]
    Are you using the Kufatec IMA plus?
    #20
  22. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,164
    Likes Received:
    692
    [Mar 10, 2008]
    Not sure, I think so. S8 Craig installed it for me. with the TV in Motion...
    #21

Share This Page