1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Aux-In Location on S3??????

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by ScottishS3, May 26, 2011.

  1. ScottishS3

    ScottishS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,601
    Likes Received:
    196
    I have just bought a 2007 S3 with the Symphony Stereo. I pick it up tomorrow. I could not find the Aux-In on it! It was not by handbrake or under arm rest!

    Anybody have any ideas where it could be?

    Are they standard with this stereo on this age?

    Thanks
     
  2. MartayMcFly

    MartayMcFly Booooooost
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,742
    Likes Received:
    324
    Don't think they're standard, but mine's definitely beside the hand-brake. There might be something in the glovebox - an ipod lead or something, or USB?
     
  3. ScottishS3

    ScottishS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,601
    Likes Received:
    196
    I will have to check when i pick the car up. Whats the option if i dont have one?
     
  4. MartayMcFly

    MartayMcFly Booooooost
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,742
    Likes Received:
    324
    Don't plug stuff in? Or speak to Nigel (member NHN) about getting one put in.

    Here's where mine is.
    [​IMG]
     
  5. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,994
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    Aux in flap under armrest/fag lighter area was fitted on facelift onwards cars iirc, if you want I have a mod for that, can make 1 up so you can fit, all oem parts.
     
    matt_hilluk likes this.
  6. matt_hilluk

    matt_hilluk facebook.com/m9tbh

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    16

    i too am after this, i think i pm'd you
     
  7. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,994
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    No worries Matt, still reinstalling 2 laptops that holds all my data, so please bare with me.
     
  8. Boydie

    Boydie Boycie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,990
    Likes Received:
    233
    Nige - what price you talking for this mod? Any point in it if I have the iPod dock?
     
  9. ScottishS3

    ScottishS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,601
    Likes Received:
    196
    Thanka guys. I hope to pick up the car today but Im sure id doesnt have one so I might have to look at fitting one like you mentioned!
    .
     
  10. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,994
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    The auxin is handy as you can then select the tunes on your mp3 player, but with the dock its stuck in the glovebox & only works via the head unit with no actual visuals of whats going to play or whats selected, only you can really decide tbh if its worth it.

    I'll double check costs, which would cover the parts & the time to make it, I make it using a new trim that sits underneath the handbrake & I supply a new retractable double ended jack plug cable, nice & neat imho, a mod I did sometime back, pics on here somewhere, see if I can dig it out.
     
  11. Mutsumi

    Mutsumi Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd be up for one of these too NHN. Gotta be cheaper than the £65 Hazzydays want to fit it, surely :)

    edit: Can you put the port in the glove box instead of next to the handbrake? I'd rather have the port out of view and run the wire out of the glove box as needed.
     
    #11 Mutsumi, May 27, 2011
    Last edited: May 27, 2011
  12. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,994
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    Hazzydayz leaves a stupid jack socket hanging which for me looks tacky as hell & tbh ****, some may like but I think it looks awful, some attention to detail needed for these cars & pride.

    Also he charges £80+ with vat.

    Happy to make a load, just accept its not a pound job & it does take a little while to make each one.
     
  13. ScottishS3

    ScottishS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,601
    Likes Received:
    196
    What works best with the symphony headunit and the sat nav (when I egt one fitted)? Does any of them show up on the displays on the stereo and are they controllable via the S3 multi function steering wheel?

    Thanks
     
  14. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,994
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    Aux-in is only controlled via mp3 player, its just an audio in, but for the cost its a good little addition/mod
     
  15. Gray S

    Gray S New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    10
    Hi

    My May 2008 S3 - pre facelift - had the small socket near the lighter/power point as standard, never used it though

    Regards Gray
     
  16. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,994
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    Urm interesting as yours was on the border of facelift & audi are synonymous for doing half breeds between facelifts.
     
  17. MartayMcFly

    MartayMcFly Booooooost
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,742
    Likes Received:
    324
    Mine's 2008 too, but I bought it second hand so don't know what's standard and what isn't. Also never used it.
     
  18. Gray S

    Gray S New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    10
    Hi

    I read somewhere the Haldex was also changed to the later one around the time mine was built. Not sure how I can tell?

    regards Gray
     
  19. Staz

    Staz is a retronaut
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,213
    Likes Received:
    57
    It was a MY09 change.
     

Share This Page