1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Automatic locking when car is moving

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by banoffee, Sep 11, 2009.

  1. banoffee

    banoffee Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is this a VAGCOM setting?
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. Nilz

    Nilz Defo worth the wait :)
    Team Silver Audi S3 Audi Sport Owner Group

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    11,121
    Likes Received:
    775
    Yes it is.
     
  4. banoffee

    banoffee Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    thought so, cheers
     
  5. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,437
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    On the same subject. I have this enabled on my central locking pump, which was replaced last week and I have noticed the following. My old pump would auto lock at around 12mph and my new pump locks doors at 20mph!!!!!
     
  6. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User quattro Audi A4

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13,153
    Likes Received:
    447
    No pleasing some people..... LMAO

    At least you got it sorted now, i don't recall a specific setting for the actual speed, just the coding to enable/disable
     
  7. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,437
    Likes Received:
    1,069

    My problems is still not sorted mate even after the new pump, it appears to be something else at fault. But I did I need to be going quicker to lock my doors :laugh:
     
  8. Nilz

    Nilz Defo worth the wait :)
    Team Silver Audi S3 Audi Sport Owner Group

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    11,121
    Likes Received:
    775
    Im sure its defaulted to 10mph, but cannot confirm.

    Westle, this just means quicker take off now :)
     
  9. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,437
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    haha yeah I now need to launch to 20mph from stand still so that my doors lock and I dont get hi-jacked.
     
  10. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User quattro Audi A4

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13,153
    Likes Received:
    447
    Launch control FTW,lol

    Now you have a reason to turn the ESP off. he he he
     
  11. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,437
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    ESP is always off in my car anyway. I was going to have a hunt around in VCDS to see if I could revert the ESP button so that it was off as default and you have to push the button to turn it on! :racer:
     
  12. kitpayne

    kitpayne Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    you wouldn't need it to self lock if you pull away like that all the time, hijakers wouldn't have a chance of getting in away. lol :lmfao:
     
  13. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,437
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    There's some pretty fast jackers where I live mate :)
     
  14. ikbenben

    ikbenben Belgium S3 driver

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've searched today in vagcom to get it working but i couldn't find it how to :ermm: I couldn't get into group 46 (cent. conv)
    I thought that every S3 had the possibility to change that?
     
  15. sportquattro

    sportquattro Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    51
    Probably a daft question, but whats the reasoning behind doors locking above 10-20mph? Presumably when this feature is enabled they also unlock below this speed so would be no use against car-jackers - or I am i missing something obvious
     
  16. ikbenben

    ikbenben Belgium S3 driver

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    They don't unlock below that speed. They unlock when you pull out the key or when you have an accident.
     
  17. S3KO4

    S3KO4 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    2
    Could also be some sort of a kid safety thing, so they wont open the door by mistake, above certain speed as it will leave it off in case you have short trip or parking etc. not sure just thinkinh behind the logic.
     
  18. sportquattro

    sportquattro Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    51

    Ahhhh all is clear, many thanks
     
  19. ikbenben

    ikbenben Belgium S3 driver

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    Np ;)

    To open the door from the inside you have to pull the handle twice also.
     
  20. s3dave

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,114
    Likes Received:
    736
    ive got to take the facia off my stereo before the doors unlock :think:
     
  21. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,437
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    Mate you need to use this tool:

    http://www.kevin-st.co.uk/tt/BaseCode/Basecode.zip

    You put in your coding into the box and it will tell you what features you have enabled. You then tick the boxes forthe features you want and it will give you a new code to enter into 35 central locks.
     
  22. Advert Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. ikbenben

    ikbenben Belgium S3 driver

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well, it will get sorted out next week.
    I know somebody with lots of knowledge of vagcom. He will do it for me.

    About that little tool...where do you find your basecode :unsure:
     
  24. Welly

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,696
    Likes Received:
    124
    I second that, where is that data? Most useful....
     
  25. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,437
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    Sorry guys I should have explianed better.

    The base code is under the Central Locks module number 35 in the "coding" field. You can also get it from one of your VCDS logs like the following:

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Address 35: Centr. Locks Labels: 8D0-862-257.lbl
    Part No: 8D0 862 257 E
    Component: CV-Pump, Alarm, RC D17
    Coding: 16234
    Shop #: WSC 01236
    No fault code found.
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  26. ikbenben

    ikbenben Belgium S3 driver

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thx Westle, I used the tool today after i've searched the base code and it works :beerchug:
     
  27. Lemon S3

    Lemon S3 Alex

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,373
    Likes Received:
    28
    Mine's never had this feature since I've owned it, will I be able to enable it? Or will the option not be there?
     
  28. ikbenben

    ikbenben Belgium S3 driver

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    It probably will.
    If you have vag-com or somebody you know try it with the tips Westle gave ;)
     

Share This Page