1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Auto light - dash light issue ?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by tspar, Mar 10, 2010.

  1. tspar
    Offline

    tspar New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can anyone clear this up for me please. When using the "Auto" setting for your lights should the dash lights be lit all the time (day or night) or is there a sensor somewhere that decides whether they are needed or not?. If the former is the case then i have an intermittent problem where by the needles are lit and the dial back lights are off.

    Any info as ever much appreciated folks.
    #1
  2. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    I dont have auto lights but I thought that the setting was only for exterior lights. The interior cluster lights have several different settings that can be coded by VCDS:

    17 - Instruments

    Coding:

    xxxxx?x
    0 = Seatbelt Warning Inactive
    xxxxxx?
    0 = Needles OFF and Scales Off
    1 = Needles ON and Scales Off
    2 = Needles OFF and Scales ON
    3 = Needles ON and Scales ON (Dimming active)
    4 = Needles ON and Scales ON
    #2
  3. h5djr
    Online

    h5djr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,457
    Likes Received:
    557
    I have auto lights on my A3 and I got the dealer to change the coding of the instruments before I took delivery so that I have Needles ON and Scales ON at all times. But as Khufu says the settings can be changed using the dealers VAS system or VCDS.
    #3
  4. tspar
    Offline

    tspar New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the input chaps. My issue is however is that when i start the car the needles and Scales are all illuminated. Just recently when sat in traffic ive noticed that the scales go off leaving the needles illuminated. They have never gone off completely at night which made me think that there may be a sensor somewhere. It's certainly not a major issue but one id like sorted under warranty if it is a fault.

    Cheers
    Tim
    #4
  5. h5djr
    Online

    h5djr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,457
    Likes Received:
    557
    There is definitely a sensor that is used to measure the ambient light level for the instruments, but I think you will find it's part of the actual instrument panel which means you would need to change the whole panel to cure any problems. Actually changing the panel is quite easily with all the connections on the back made with large multi-pin connectors but I don't suppose the panel would be cheap to buy.
    #5

Share This Page