1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Auto Close windows on A3?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Diamond, May 18, 2010.

  1. Diamond
    Offline

    Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 18, 2010]
    Hi,

    On my current Ford Focus if i leave the windows down after getting out of the car and press and hold the locked button on my key fob its not only locks the doors but also send the windows back up. Does the Audi A3 have this?

    Thanks:icon_thumright:
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 23, 2014]

  3. dave_ph
    Offline

    dave_ph Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 18, 2010]
    yup, also same for unlocking - winds down the windows. also if you have a sunroof, it will open and close that
    #2
  4. Brian566
    Offline

    Brian566 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 18, 2010]
    Just remember if it has had the battery disconnected the windows have to be reset as in the manual
    If not the Auto open and close from key will not work
    #3
  5. Gti Jazz Blue
    Offline

    Gti Jazz Blue Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,655
    Likes Received:
    6
    [May 18, 2010]
    You can also enable the auto closing option using VCDS to save you having to hold the key until they close.

    Paul
    #4
  6. qennu
    Offline

    qennu Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 18, 2010]
    any ideas how to do it mate ?
    #5
  7. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,617
    Likes Received:
    106
    [May 18, 2010]
    As GTI Jazz said, to enable full-closure without keeping your finger on the button you need VCDS.
    #6
  8. djlazyp
    Offline

    djlazyp New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 18, 2010]
    anyone know what control mudule setting its under in vcds ?
    #7
  9. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,649
    Likes Received:
    434
    [May 18, 2010]
    If i remember correctly it is under Central Electrics -09.
    you need to go to the long coding helper and look in there. I enabled mine a couple weeks back and it works fine. need to hold button down for about 2 seconds and then once it starts winding up let the button go and it will fully close the windows.
    #8
  10. Brett Butler
    Online

    Brett Butler Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    7
    [May 18, 2010]
    it is annoying that these things cannot be set up but the owner once they have the vehicle
    #9
  11. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,617
    Likes Received:
    106
    [May 18, 2010]
    Its under Central Convinience - 46 on VCDS,

    Click on 'Coding' then 'Long Coding' and flick through the options available and its there somewhere..
    #10
  12. Diamond
    Offline

    Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 19, 2010]
    Sorry for been dumb, but what is VCDS?
    #11
  13. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,617
    Likes Received:
    106
    [May 19, 2010]
    Not being dumb at all mate.

    VCDS (formely known as VAG-COM) is a tool that connects a computer to your VAG car and allows diagnostics and other stuff such as tweaking etc.. really good tool and well worth the investment!
    #12
  14. Diamond
    Offline

    Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 19, 2010]
    Many Thanks!:icon_thumright:
    #13
  15. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,617
    Likes Received:
    106
    [May 19, 2010]
    No problem, check out the VCDS thread, a cool guy on here called NHN sells VCDS, at a good price too so I hear, might be worthwhile checking it out if you're interested!
    #14
  16. bambam
    Offline

    bambam Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 19, 2010]
    I've read it before somewhere but to save searching for it how do you reset the auto windows via the switch?
    #15
  17. jars
    Offline

    jars Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 19, 2010]
    open and shut the particular window several times. I just kept doing it until it worked!
    #16
  18. djlazyp
    Offline

    djlazyp New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 19, 2010]
    NICE ONE WILL ENABLE MINE NOW
    #17
  19. qennu
    Offline

    qennu Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 19, 2010]
    I wonder how that cheap VCDS, VAG COM on ebay and made in china works lol
    #18
  20. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,649
    Likes Received:
    434
    [May 19, 2010]
    to reset it you need to open and close the window once.... hold the switch down all the way till its open and then all the way up again until its closed in one motion. it should then work on the one touch open/close.
    You will need to do it to every window.
    #19
  21. bambam
    Offline

    bambam Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 20, 2010]
    ^^^^^^^
    thanks!
    #20
  22. Gti Jazz Blue
    Offline

    Gti Jazz Blue Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,655
    Likes Received:
    6
    [May 20, 2010]
    Not very well.

    Buy the genuine cable, it is worth it for the support alone.

    Doesn't take many visits to Audi at £40-£50 a go to pay for a genuine cable.

    Paul
    #21
  23. Digzz
    Offline

    Digzz "Started From The Bottom" VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,404
    Likes Received:
    67
    [May 20, 2010]
    I've Looked in Central Electrics -09 & Central Convinience - 46 on VCDS. And it's all blank in the Long Code Help. Can Somebody give me the code so I can Manually put in the code ?
    #22
  24. qennu
    Offline

    qennu Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 21, 2010]
    Yes Pauls I know cheap stuff is never worth the risk,espically on a car.

    Will buy a genuine one when funds allow as buying so much things at the moment
    #23

Share This Page