1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AUM MAF on AGU?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by sekenzo, Dec 19, 2011.

  1. sekenzo
    Offline

    sekenzo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is a Maf from a AUM going to work on my AGU engine?
    #1
  2. superkarl
    Online

    superkarl MAN OF STEEL

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7,566
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    DOH!
    i thought all a3 mafs were the same
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2011
    #2
  3. 16Klappe
    Online

    16Klappe Princess Slayer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,213
    Likes Received:
    874
    No they are different connectors, count the pins.
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2011
    #3
  4. sekenzo
    Offline

    sekenzo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyway to make it work? Swap housing etc?
    #4
  5. superkarl
    Online

    superkarl MAN OF STEEL

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7,566
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    its the plug on the loom themselves that will be different, aswell as the sensor plug. housings are identical.
    #5
  6. Prawn
    Online

    Prawn My other car is a MINI!!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    9,477
    Likes Received:
    1,298
    I feel bad for doing this, but you're wrong again dude :p

    AUM/AGU maf housings are totally different! Haha. The sensor bolts on the agu housing are 90 degrees out compared to the aum/s3 style sensors, so housings are not interchangeable either!

    This is why we need to use a vr6 3" maf housing for bigger turbos rather than an s3 3" housing
    #6
  7. JudderMan
    Offline

    JudderMan Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    112
    Sorry to drag this up, but it does show I've searched. Prawn, you say AUM/AGU then AUM/S3 MAF sensors....I have an AUM and am looking for the right part number but this has thrown me a little.

    Looking around the prices are either £50, £75, £130 or £210 and none of which say it 'definitely' is an AUM one. Feel a bit lost, as you can imagine.
    #7
  8. Paradox1
    Offline

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    Just get the part number off your current maf.

    Basically AUM and all newer 1.8T,s so LCR,S3<TT225 and AQU(MK4 Anniversary engines) have a different style maf to the old school AGU.
    If you took your maf/part number to TPS they would give you the right one...
    Or if you gave them your reg/vin number

    I got a replacement maf from euro car part on exchange basis for 90 quid. otherwise your looking into the 100's from vw/audi
    #8
  9. JudderMan
    Offline

    JudderMan Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    112
    Cheers buddy I never get a chance to stick my head under the bonnet. Trying the lazy way :moa:
    #9
  10. Paradox1
    Offline

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    lol no worries mate
    #10
  11. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 RIP S3dave Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,280
    Likes Received:
    673
    completely different sensors for completely different ecus
    #11
  12. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 RIP S3dave Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,280
    Likes Received:
    673
    go to GSF, give them your reg and they will sell you the correct one.. Its 70mm OD and sensor is 049 inside..
    S3 >2001 are same sensor but live in the 80mm maf housing.
    #12
  13. JudderMan
    Offline

    JudderMan Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    112
    Cheers Badger. I should have some spare time on the weekend but was just going to order one and get next day delivery. I've just been out and cleaned it with carb cleaner which made no difference so it's definitely a new one needed.

    Cheers guys.
    #13

Share This Page