1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi Symphony 2 upgrade

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by NeilC, Apr 9, 2005.

  1. NeilC
    Offline

    NeilC New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 9, 2005]
    Has anyone upgraded an Audi concert stereo with a Symphony 2 unit. I have bought a Symphony 2 unit only to be advised that its not possible. Any suggestions please . I have a 2003 A4 Avant (B6)

    Cheers
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 16, 2014]

  3. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Apr 9, 2005]
    Everything's possible, there's a few members who've done it, but you need to get hold of a double DIN centre console and move the climate control down etc IIRC. A lot of work.
    #2
  4. Pontio
    Offline

    Pontio Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 10, 2005]
    is that the difference between having a double or single din unit? the size of the climate control unit?
    #3
  5. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Apr 10, 2005]
    I've only read about it on here so can't really remember, it just seemed like a pig of a job to me for very little benefit. I think the cc controller unit comes as part of the centre console but I could be wrong.
    #4
  6. jediknight
    Offline

    jediknight Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 11, 2005]
    you need to have a different climate control facia that fits the bottom of the central consol. its not just a case of moving the existing one down.. also you need the cage for the double din HU.

    Its not too much work if you get the correct parts.

    also... do you actually have the correct symphony HU for your car?

    a2/a3/a4/a6 symphonys were all slightly different and wont fit if you have the wrong one
    #5
  7. NeilC
    Offline

    NeilC New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 11, 2005]
    Cheers, I believe I have the correct one it was for a 2001-2004 model A4. Now I know its possible I will price the parts
    #6
  8. a4sline
    Offline

    a4sline Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 15, 2005]
    Bry,
    Live in Hereford so if you want it fitted let me know or send me a PM.
    #7
  9. vf949
    Offline

    vf949 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 14, 2005]
    Has anyone here had any great success with this and willing to give me advice on it? I'd love to get my Chorus Cassette updated to a Symphony 2 but have been told it can't be done too. I had been thinking a Concert 2 would be all I could go for until I read the above comments.

    Thanks.
    #8
  10. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Oct 14, 2005]
    Out of interest can I ask why you want to do this?
    It seems a lot of work for the same result as fitting a relatively cheap CD changer in the boot, or actually performing a proper upgrade and getting much better sound with a DAB radio/MP3 player.
    #9
  11. KneelBee
    Offline

    KneelBee New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 16, 2005]
    Have to agree with Andy, having gone through the hassle of actually trying to fit a single DIN Alpine HU to my S3 that had a Symphony.

    Its easy to get the fascia adapters for a Concert etc. (single DIN) so if I were you I'd go for a better aftermarket HU - you could get so much more for your money/hassle than trying to modify the car to take a Symphony.
    #10
  12. rickquattro
    Offline

    rickquattro Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 19, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Has anyone here had any great success with this and willing to give me advice on it? I'd love to get my Chorus Cassette updated to a Symphony 2 but have been told it can't be done too. I had been thinking a Concert 2 would be all I could go for until I read the above comments.



    [/ QUOTE ]

    If you want to do this I have a Symphony six disc in dash unit collecting dust under my desk. Its from my A3, with codes and OEM manual. Removed from my car by Craigyb to fit a nav system. Works with BOSE also...

    Rick
    #11
  13. stratos
    Offline

    stratos Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 19, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Has anyone upgraded an Audi concert stereo with a Symphony 2 unit. I have bought a Symphony 2 unit only to be advised that its not possible. Any suggestions please . I have a 2003 A4 Avant (B6)

    Cheers

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Try this link. It contains the details to convert from a concert to an RNS SAtNav+ but uses the double din cage etc and has all the instructions and part nos. With a little bit of alteration this might suit you. Very comprehensive!!!

    http://homepage.ntlworld.com/bah.bah1/index.htm
    #12

Share This Page