1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi special edition hard drive

Discussion in 'A6/S6/Allroad forum (C6 Chassis)' started by Gavin0478, Jun 24, 2010.

  1. Gavin0478
    Offline

    Gavin0478 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Jun 24, 2010]
    ok so i got one of these for my 07 lemans as it has the ami etc all there and thought great loads of music. prob is when i plug it in it comes up with an error message, is it something silly like the software in car needs upgrading to work with this? have tried another lead to rule this out
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 18, 2014]

  3. Cockney Boy
    Offline

    Cockney Boy Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Jun 26, 2010]
    can you tell us what version you have on your MMI (setting and version). Also can you tel us what lead you have for connecting the HDD tot he AMI?
    #2
  4. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Jun 27, 2010]
    It's the USB Support for the MMI, unfortutanely your MMI has to be updated to resolve this. There is only one mini USB lead so that is irrelevant and not the issue.
    #3
  5. Gavin0478
    Offline

    Gavin0478 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Jun 27, 2010]
    how do i find version and when i went to my local teesside audi dealer they said there was no updates for the mmi lol..... did try explaining about pagers on internet but got nowhere.
    it came with the lead that is mini usb one end then plug for ami other end part number is 4F0 051 510H
    #4
  6. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Jun 28, 2010]
    Press CAR and then the bottom right soft button for VERSION, read the top line and the version is in there....

    This is an A6, but you can it is version 0770

    SW: D3-HU 6300 07.7.0 0406
    #5
  7. Gavin0478
    Offline

    Gavin0478 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Jun 28, 2010]
    SW: C6-HU 34.5.0 0632
    #6
  8. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Jun 28, 2010]
    So you've got 3450, I would guess you need to get to 5570 to get full support for USB
    #7
  9. Gavin0478
    Offline

    Gavin0478 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Jun 28, 2010]
    anyone know the part number for the discs from audi to upgrade?
    #8
  10. Cockney Boy
    Offline

    Cockney Boy Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Jun 28, 2010]
    #9
  11. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Jun 28, 2010]
    So £19 for something that costs less than £8 from the dealership and can easily be downloaded from the net.
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2010
    #10
  12. Gavin0478
    Offline

    Gavin0478 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Jun 29, 2010]
    for the sake of 8£ id rather have the originals than trust in a downloaded file............ i download a lot so i know what issues there can be.
    #11
  13. mystro
    Offline

    mystro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 30, 2010]
    Can I second that :) Plus, even Audi MMI expert can take several tries before it installs correctly..it certainly isn't pnp.
    #12
  14. Gavin0478
    Offline

    Gavin0478 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Jul 1, 2010]
    well i asked in dealer today while picking paint and its only £4.57
    #13
  15. Cockney Boy
    Offline

    Cockney Boy Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Jul 2, 2010]
    My point Craig was the dealers can be obstructive in selling these disks. It was nothing to do with the cost.
    #14
  16. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Jul 2, 2010]
    And the dealers have every right to be so as they are for internal use only (officially)
    #15
  17. Gavin0478
    Offline

    Gavin0478 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Jul 2, 2010]
    surly if for internal use they would have told me there was an upgrade so they can get labour costs etc off me not just deny it but offer me the cd set lol.
    #16
  18. bigcw
    Offline

    bigcw New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 1, 2010]
    Hi Gavin

    Dragging this one up from the depths, I can tell you I had the same problem with my 57 plate Le Mans running 5570 software. Seems the HDD needs to be formatted FAT32, which my Windows 7 PC wouldn't read. I made the mistake of formatting again, I assume it did it NTFS.

    Either way, re-formatting it again FAT32 got it working. I used my Linux box, but an old PC would do it. I also assume there is a patch somewhere to make Win7 work.

    Good luck with it. BTW, if you want a set of 5570 discs, mine are now surplus to requirements. They're CDR's, but they upgraded my car just fine. Just cover the P&P and they're yours.

    Cheers, Chris
    #17
  19. Gavin0478
    Offline

    Gavin0478 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Sep 2, 2010]
    i mananged to get it going. i got the gen discs then upgraded and too found the drive needed to be reformatted in fat32 as a primary master or boot drive..... i too hav win 7 but if u use western digitals software for disc formatting it allows u to format in the correct format.
    #18
  20. kbamford
    Offline

    kbamford New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 29, 2012]
    Hi Gavin, appears I have the same issue. manaul clearly states that NTFS is the preferred format, but my 57 plate C6 is carrying 4220 not 5570. Think its Mr dealer time. Seems you need to be a PC tech these days to drive an Audi :)
    #19

Share This Page