1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi Sat Nav

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by S3 NIK, Oct 16, 2009.

  1. S3 NIK

    S3 NIK Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've just bought a 2008 A4 Avant Sline with sat nav and i have to say my TomTom is far better.
    I have tried two addresses in the last couple of days and neither are on the map. When i bought the car the salesman was giving me the demo and tried my home post code which didn't come up either so he says my address must be too new....Yeah, the street is 8 years old!!! Surely Audi update their nav data more frequently?
    Rant over!
    Nik.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Wrath

    Wrath Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    41
    I wonder what version of the nav DVD you have.
     
  4. s-line stu

    s-line stu Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought the same when I got mine as I've got a Snooper Syrius sat nav which is better especially with the camera locations.

    With the Audi nav you only able to enter part of the postcode then you have to choose the road. Once you get more used to it it's not that bad and if you have a reasonably current version then the TMC funtion warns of traffic incidents and diverts you to avoid them which can be useful.

    I gather you know about the SD card slots - you can put loads of mp3's onto 2 SD cards then load them in which is miles better than a multichanger.

    I would suggest you spend a bit of time reading through the manual (if you have it) as there are quite a few features that are not initially apparent - it took me a month to realise everything it does and there's probably still a few things I haven't found.

    Also don't buy a phone cradle as it will work via bluetooth.

    You can probably get a copy of a current DVD from someone on the forum if you wanted.

    Hope this helps.

    Stu
     
  5. jwhat

    jwhat Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    1
    Watch out about copied DVD's because the laser in the nav has to work harder and has been know to wear out and need replacement.
     
  6. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,052
    Likes Received:
    1,396
    Or buy a newer set of genuine dvd's, I have an 08 set for east & west europe for sale if interested in the genuine case.
     
  7. S3 NIK

    S3 NIK Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've just checked the dvd and its a 2008 version so i'm guessing that's the most up to date.

    I do know about the SD slots but haven't got around to sorting out some mp3's as of yet.
    Don't you need a blue tooth kit for the phone to connect?

    Only had the car a week so not had chance to fully check out the other features.

    Nik.



     
  8. Addie

    Addie Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can get SD cards of upto 4GB if you buy the non- SDHC cards (Transend make some, try eBay)
     
  9. S3 NIK

    S3 NIK Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    How is the music displayed on screen, one big list or split into albums?
    I suppose my question is how do i put the songs onto the card?
    Nik.


     
  10. Cockney Boy

    Cockney Boy Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    6
    You need to put the mucis folders in the root of the card, then it will display the albums correctly.
     
  11. s-line stu

    s-line stu Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think your TMC should work ok on the 2008 version. When the RNS-E is on is TMC at the bottom crossed out or not? If not it's working ok.

    Have a look at this post for how the tracks are displayed. It gives you the album and track name (provided there are present on the MP3 file). As Cockney Boy said just copy the albums onto the card in folders i.e. each CD as a folder.

    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/showthread.php?t=75458

    As long as your phone has bluetooth on it it should connect as it's already built into the RNS-E. Just read the bit in the manual on setting it up then you'll be good to go. You just press the mode button and you phone book appears on the display between the speedo and rev counted then the left button on the steering wheel scrolls through the list on your phone then just press it to dial or hang up.
     
  12. S3 NIK

    S3 NIK Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please excuse my ignorance as i haven't read the manual yet but what is TMC and RNS-E?

     
  13. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,052
    Likes Received:
    1,396
    1st of all the RNS doesnt have built in bluetooth, it works in conjunction with a seperate module which comes as part of the tel prep system or it can be retrofitted as per oem which then works with the rns via canbus & associated wiring for mic etc.

    You could always start the car, turn on rns & then do a search for any BT devices locally while in car with your handset, if it doesnt find anything named audi then it hasnt been fitted, just incase it was already retrofitted by someone else.

    TMC is a traffic message channel to aid you where to avoid road traffic issues, more prevalent in Europe IIRC, not as great in UK.
     
  14. s-line stu

    s-line stu Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, just gathered they all had bluetooth as I assumed if you had the RNS you would have had the bluetooth but obviously it's an option.

    As NHN said I'd switch on your radio/nav then do a search for it from your phone to see if it finds anything - mine comes up as Audi UHV 9491.

    RNS is just the name for the sat nav/radio system perhaps it stands for Radio Navigation System but I'm not sure.
     
  15. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,052
    Likes Received:
    1,396
    No worries & spot on mate, UHV is the kiddy.
     
  16. PetrolDave

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    83
    It's not - there's been two versions after that, a 2009 with suffix AD and a 2009_1 with suffix AJ - both with base part number 8P0 919 884.
     
  17. ntp

    ntp Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi PetrolDave,

    Do you know if I can use one of these 2009 dvd's only to upgrade the version of my RNS-e but still use the old 2007 dvd's? I was told that the new dvd's apply the latest rom updates.
     
  18. S3 NIK

    S3 NIK Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the advice on the sd cards.
    Card delivered yesterday so i quickly zapped half a dozen albums onto it an hey presto, much bettter than the multichanger!!!
    Nik.
     
  19. PetrolDave

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    83
    Yes a 2007 map will still work fine after you upgrade the SW to 0650 using a 2009 DVD.
     

Share This Page