1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi S6 2001 (51) System Too Lean

Discussion in 'A6/S6/Allroad forum (C5 Chassis)' started by pdpaxm, Sep 22, 2008.

  1. pdpaxm
    Offline

    pdpaxm New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 22, 2008]
    Hi,

    I have just had my S6 serviced and also Cam Belt changed as done nearly 80k.

    After this I keep getting the engine warning light come on, I plug in VAG-COM and it says:

    17538 - Fuel Trim: Bank 2 (Mult): System too Lean
    P1130 - 35-00 - -
    17536 - Fuel Trim: Bank 1 (Mult): System too Lean
    P1128 - 35-10 - - - Intermittent


    I then reset the code, it runs for 2-7 days fine then this pops up again.

    any ideas on what might be causing this?

    Thanks


    Andy
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 19, 2014]

  3. bigdavie
    Offline

    bigdavie please speak slowly so i'll understand !

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 22, 2008]
    timing out ?
    dirty injectors ?
    #2
  4. pdpaxm
    Offline

    pdpaxm New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 23, 2008]
    Hi ok, I thought these cars were all setup etv via ECU is this not the case?

    So the timing could be out if not done correctly when fitted the belt./

    Cheers
    #3
  5. Awesome_Andy
    Offline

    Awesome_Andy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 23, 2008]
    I would expect that to be an issue straight away really.

    What fuel are you using in the car? Random question i know :blink:
    #4
  6. pdpaxm
    Offline

    pdpaxm New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 23, 2008]
    I am using just standard unleaded, Shell sometimes and others just Tesco.
    :)
    #5
  7. Awesome_Andy
    Offline

    Awesome_Andy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 23, 2008]
    Only reason i ask is that we had issue's with a v6 golf a while ago that kept throwing up lambda codes. After changing pretty much every sensor we said he tried to use high octane stuff whenever he could, but his wife just used whatever. It was only when she did this that the light would come back on soon after.

    I would try running it on some higher octane good quality fuel (shell v-power) and see if this has any effect. Its a lot cheaper than throwing new sensors at it left right and centre.

    Just an idea :)
    #6
  8. djcormie
    Offline

    djcormie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 24, 2008]
    Andy

    You should throw this up on rs246.com as well, to see what anyone over there says

    Nice car by the way, any pics?

    Mark
    #7
  9. Flying Spanner
    Offline

    Flying Spanner Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 12, 2008]
    I had the same fault on my 2.7 S4. It was G70 air mass sensor.
    If it was just one bank I would be looking for an air leak, as its both, the sensor would be top of my list. If you have vag com check MVB and drive down the road on full throttle in third. The flow rate will be low if its contaminated.
    #8
  10. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,331
    Likes Received:
    695
    [Jan 10, 2009]
    if like many other vag cars, suspect airflow sensor is under reading, so its only fueling for the airflow its seen come in...

    i dont have figures off hand for airlfow to compare tho... but it should be in the high 200g/s region for 300+bhp

    hopefully re-entering into the V8 side of life again shortly in an S6.
    miss my S8 so badly.. gotta come back to audi v8
    #9

Share This Page