1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi S4 Rear LED

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Nez, Aug 14, 2010.

  1. Nez
    Offline

    Nez Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Aug 14, 2010]
    Hi guys just need abit of help here with my LED rear lights I just fitted them and now I get a faulty light on dash saying my rear break lights is not working and I checked it and its working fine, is this something do with the LED?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 23, 2014]

  3. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,580
    Likes Received:
    314
    [Aug 14, 2010]
    yep. The bulb monitor box calculates the current drawn by the bulbs, and if its too low brings on the warning.

    LED's draw very little current, hence it thinks the bulbs have blown.

    You can get ballast resistors, or alternatively, bypass the bulb monitor for that circuit.
    #2
  4. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,605
    Likes Received:
    276
    [Aug 14, 2010]
    I went for the resistors so if heven forbid the lights went out the warning would still work.

    You will need 2 per side, one for the side light circuit and one for the brake light circuit per side
    #3
  5. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,580
    Likes Received:
    314
    [Aug 14, 2010]
    they wouldnt still work though :p

    Resistors would continue showing a load, and the box would be none-the-wiser!
    #4
  6. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,605
    Likes Received:
    276
    [Aug 14, 2010]
    it does, so ner

    I popped a fuse en route to AITP and the dis had a fit, i spose it could have been due to the front ones going off, now i think about it......

    "runs and hides"
    #5
  7. Jonion
    Offline

    Jonion Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 14, 2010]
    They should still work.
    The resistors show a load similar to a bulb. If a bulb/LED blows it will show no current flow (open circuit) and put the warning light on.
    The reason the warning light comes on with the LEDs is the low load they have so it probably won't detect a shorted bulb, which are rare anyway.
    #6
  8. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,580
    Likes Received:
    314
    [Aug 14, 2010]
    Resistors are in parallel to the LED's though, so when the LED's blow the resistor will continue pretending to be a bulb, and the warning will stay off.

    Fuse comes after the load box, so the system sees signal in and no current draw, and brings on the warning.
    #7
  9. Jonion
    Offline

    Jonion Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 14, 2010]
    Ah, yes running them in parallel will cause a problem then.
    I run mine in series.. not on the Audi though.
    #8
  10. Nez
    Offline

    Nez Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Aug 16, 2010]
    Thanks :) Is there any DIY in the forum to show me how to do this :(
    #9
  11. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,605
    Likes Received:
    276
    [Aug 16, 2010]
    Which bit?
    #10
  12. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,580
    Likes Received:
    314
    [Aug 16, 2010]
    Stick to the ballast resistors, Its a pretty easy DIY compared with ripping your central electrics board apart!
    #11
  13. Nez
    Offline

    Nez Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Aug 17, 2010]
    The resistors bits :)
    #12
  14. Nez
    Offline

    Nez Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Aug 17, 2010]
    Where do I put the resistors I mean where in the light do I need to install the resistors.
    #13
  15. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Aug 17, 2010]
    anywhere in series arent they?
    #14
  16. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,580
    Likes Received:
    314
    [Aug 17, 2010]
    Series will reduce the voltage going to the LED's so not ideal.

    You want to mount the wires between the live and earth for the brake bulbs (ie in parallel), and then mount the resistors somewhere.

    The resistors get quite hot in operation though, so you'll want to mount them on a piece of metal or similar.
    #15
  17. Nez
    Offline

    Nez Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Aug 17, 2010]
    Cool thanks for the reply is this what I need?

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=320304369615&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT
    #16
  18. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,605
    Likes Received:
    276
  19. Nez
    Offline

    Nez Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Aug 17, 2010]
    Cool thanks will order them tonight :) thanks for all replies guys :) by the way Byzan is possible you can send me the picture of your rear LCD lights how you connected you one :)
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2010
    #18
  20. Nez
    Offline

    Nez Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Aug 24, 2010]
    Hi guys again I need help I get the resistors today and I connected like this (+wire --- resistor ---+wire = break light) and I still have the faulty light on dash :( looks like I done something wrong here :(
    #19
  21. 27litres
    Offline

    27litres Love My Quattro

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 24, 2010]
    Sounds like you did it wrong...
    find the +ve & -ve wires for the brake light (on the loom/plug, not in the LED circuit board). tap into both wires and connect the resistor to your wire taps. That will simulate the load across that circuit...

    Edit: Should be the plain green and plain black wires either from the top of the taillight (where the LED circuit board is), or at the plug - provided you have the same style of LED taillights to me!
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2010
    #20
  22. Nez
    Offline

    Nez Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Aug 24, 2010]
    Thanks for the reply I try this and see what happens :)
    #21
  23. 27litres
    Offline

    27litres Love My Quattro

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 29, 2010]
    Nez,
    How'd it go?
    #22

Share This Page