1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi S3 won't start - No communication with VCDS

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Scullies, Jun 22, 2012.

  1. Scullies
    Offline

    Scullies Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    309
    So I decided to finally change tke thermostat and housing. plus temp sensor and housing.

    I took the mani off to make it a bit eaiser, and decided to clean the TB, mani and fuel rail.

    Finished the work and put all the parts back on the car, didnt do the TB alignment. Started the car and realised I didnt connect the vacuum pipe on top of the TB, sounded awful !! Switched off, connected pipe and started again. All was good.
    Then I had a brain fart, and decided to wash the engine with degreaser, sprayed the whole engine with degreaser and gearbox. Used a hose pipe to wash the dirt off the engine and a pressure washer to wash the gearbox.

    Started car, and it was fine for about 2 minutes then just died, as though the key was turned off.
    Now it wont start, just cranks over. I pulled the coil packs out and found each plug was covered with water/degreaser. Surely it shouldnt get in there?
    VCDS wont connect to the engine module and I get these faults from an auto scan.

    Address 17: Instruments Labels: 8L0-920-xxx-17.LBL
    Controller: 8L0 920 932 BX
    Component: AB-KOMBIINSTR. VDO D13
    Coding: 03344
    Shop #: WSC 00020
    VCID: 87614712B623
    WAUWT68L61A015534 AUZ7Z0Y1554696
    2 Faults Found:
    01177 - Engine Control Unit
    49-00 - No Communications
    01314 - Engine Control Module
    49-00 - No Communications



    Any ideas guys?
    #1
  2. brasiliangringo
    Offline

    brasiliangringo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    6
    Check to see if there is water in the ECU black plastic box which could be interfering with it slightly !? If so dab it dry and get a hair dryer on the ECU harness and dry the ECU out incase the water is allowing the current to bridge the connectors..
    #2
  3. Scullies
    Offline

    Scullies Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    309
    Yip, checked that. Also made sure I didnt spray any water in that direction as I didnt want to get the ECU wet.
    I didnt check fuses though, will check that in the morning.
    #3
  4. Scullies
    Offline

    Scullies Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    309
    Problem solved, blown 10amp fuse. Replaced with 15amp as per spec.

    Note to self, always check the basics first before you reach panic mode!!
    #4
  5. voorhees
    Offline

    voorhees Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    15,014
    Likes Received:
    1,143
    Thats a result
    #5
  6. rhubarb4
    Offline

    rhubarb4 Certified Jardo Slayer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,701
    Likes Received:
    107
    Jase are you coming to inters. Sorry to hijack

    Chris.
    #6
  7. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    728
    What fuse was that?
    #7
  8. voorhees
    Offline

    voorhees Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    15,014
    Likes Received:
    1,143
    nope
    #8
  9. Scullies
    Offline

    Scullies Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    309
    Was fuse number 10 - engine timing.
    #9

Share This Page