1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

audi s3 quattro downpipe

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by s3matthewd, Sep 14, 2011.

  1. s3matthewd
    Offline

    s3matthewd Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 14, 2011]
    just wondred if anyone could help me my brothers going to make my downpipe and decat because his day job is as a fabricator,could anyone show me a picture or tell me if i need a 3 bolt flange or a 4 bolt one car is 2001 bam engine code many thanks matt
    #1
  2. Dani_B19
    Offline

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,319
    Likes Received:
    94
    [Sep 14, 2011]
    Sure its 3 bolt mate.
    #2
  3. s3matthewd
    Offline

    s3matthewd Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 14, 2011]
    just wondred if any one had a link for one dont want to order the wrong one also would 3 inch be overkill for turbo back or ok
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2011
    #3
  4. Dani_B19
    Offline

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,319
    Likes Received:
    94
    [Sep 14, 2011]
    #4
  5. s3matthewd
    Offline

    s3matthewd Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 14, 2011]
    thats brilliant cheers
    #5
  6. Dani_B19
    Offline

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,319
    Likes Received:
    94
    [Sep 14, 2011]
    No worries mate.
    #6
  7. moredoor
    Offline

    moredoor Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 14, 2011]
    3" seems the only way to go these days. Made a 3" downpipe for a mk4 which had a BAM k04 turbo and that worked really well.
    #7
  8. s3matthewd
    Offline

    s3matthewd Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 15, 2011]
    ok then do i need a location for the second lamba sensor or can i leave it out i no i can get the light mapped out when i go stage 2 and also will the car go into limp mode with this mod or not thanks matt
    #8
  9. beachbuggy
    Offline

    beachbuggy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,809
    Likes Received:
    149
    [Sep 15, 2011]
    If your getting a custom made downpipe, weld in a O2 sensor bung anyway. Gives you the option to use or loose the 2nd O2 sensor. If it's not required then you just plug it, easily removable if you change your mind or sell the downpipe. Plus the parts just a few £'s!
    #9
  10. s3matthewd
    Offline

    s3matthewd Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 15, 2011]
    also looking at the picture on google images above do you think that i would really need that flexi joint in the pipe work or could i get away with that thanks matt
    #10
  11. IrishDave
    Offline

    IrishDave Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Sep 16, 2011]
    Yes you will need the flex joint.
    #11

Share This Page