1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi S3 (pre-facelift) Sat Nav

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Peachy, Jul 20, 2011.

  1. Peachy
    Offline

    Peachy Bazinga!

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    22
    If someone can help me out that would be great, I've tried searching but no luck.

    I have an '08 Audi S3 with nav, it seems to be pretty basic and only brings up the directions on my dash and not on the actual nav screen, do I need to upgrade the disc or something, or am I just confusing the settings?

    I've seen different discs available for the S3s but don't want to buy something which will be useless. I also saw a picture of an interior of one the same year as mine and it had a full colour nav with a map of the UK, I can't seem to get mine to do this.

    Thanks
    Lauryn
    #1
  2. RedDejavu
    Offline

    RedDejavu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,521
    Likes Received:
    177
    I'm afraid that you need new rns-e unit to be fitted instead of the current one, I assume you've got this OEM nav where you get no colour display and all the extra functions are limited.
    #2
  3. Peachy
    Offline

    Peachy Bazinga!

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    22
    :(

    Thanks though.
    #3
  4. MartayMcFly
    Offline

    MartayMcFly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,639
    Likes Received:
    281
    I'm confused... do you have an RNS-E unit? Or is there another nav setup for S3s - one that doesn't use RNS-E?
    #4
  5. RedDejavu
    Offline

    RedDejavu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,521
    Likes Received:
    177
    she's got this bns unit i thnik
    [​IMG]
    #5
  6. MartayMcFly
    Offline

    MartayMcFly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,639
    Likes Received:
    281
    I didn't know that was even a thing... I guess the "Audi NavigationPlus" makes more sense now that I know there's a non-plus option.
    #6
  7. Peachy
    Offline

    Peachy Bazinga!

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    22
    Honest answer - I don't know. I have this:

    [​IMG]
    #7
  8. Peachy
    Offline

    Peachy Bazinga!

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    22
    Beat me to it. Mine is **** isn't it :laugh: :(
    #8
  9. danA3T
    Offline

    danA3T Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    4
    Quick question (I'm a non sat nav owner) - does it have the SD card slots for handling MP3's? I noticed the CD/MP3 button, 'tis all...
    #9
  10. MartayMcFly
    Offline

    MartayMcFly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,639
    Likes Received:
    281
    In that case, you will have to get an RNS-E unit to get the colour maps... they look very similar, just has a bigger screen (that tilt/slides out to put discs in behind).
    #10
  11. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,159
    Likes Received:
    686
    You need a 2010 RNS :wub:
    #11
  12. MartayMcFly
    Offline

    MartayMcFly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,639
    Likes Received:
    281
    I think it'll be for using ipod connection/AMI or the AUX plug, not SD cards.
    #12
  13. Kelza
    Online

    Kelza MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,613
    Likes Received:
    367
  14. Kelza
    Online

    Kelza MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,613
    Likes Received:
    367
  15. Kelza
    Online

    Kelza MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,613
    Likes Received:
    367
    its the same model as this ,,non colour screen ,must have been one of the first units made for the s3,good knows why there still making it ,, come on audi get your finger out,lol
    #15
  16. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Peachy if you need a supplier/installer for an rns-e, give me a shout :)
    #16
    A13x likes this.
  17. MartayMcFly
    Offline

    MartayMcFly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,639
    Likes Received:
    281
    There's a couple in the ebay sticky thread, Lauryn. Or get Nigel (NHN) to source and install a proper RNS-e unit.
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2011
    #17

Share This Page