1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi s3 oil light flashing red, replaced sensor, pickup, breather and pump 3 times!

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by tiki2402, Oct 31, 2013.

  1. tiki2402

    tiki2402 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    So monday I purchased a mark 1 s3 with 95000 on the clock, after driving it home with the oil light flashing intermittently I began asking the previous owner for any advice, he then proceeded to tell me that he had the oil pump changed 3 times, the breather once, sensor once and pickup once and yet it still persisted. He then told me that a friend of his had said that the sump plug thread was knackered and that it needs to be helicoiled, could this really be the reason for the red oil light to keep coming on?
    Any help much appreciated, thinking about replacing the sump and plug to see if it solves it!
     
  2. voorhees

    voorhees Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    15,602
    Likes Received:
    1,469
  3. s3dave

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    732
    So if the sump plug is bad, the light could be no oil??
    Stop driving it until you source the problem, or the red light will be the least of your worries...
     
  4. voorhees

    voorhees Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    15,602
    Likes Received:
    1,469
    Sad to see an S treated this way :crying:
     
  5. kwistof

    kwistof South East Events Moderator
    Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,392
    Likes Received:
    509
    Did you pull over and even check the oil level once the light was flashing?
     
  6. tiki2402

    tiki2402 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    The oil level is near on perfect, any ideas? Thanks
     
  7. s3dave

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    732
    I would get the sump off, what people say they have done and what as been done maybe different?
     
  8. tiki2402

    tiki2402 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Good point, I thought that too, but there are receipts to prove it, it had a bottom end rebuild a couple thousand miles ago, could the sump plug have been put back shabbily? Should also say that 2000 miles ago was 2 years ago.
     
  9. tiki2402

    tiki2402 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Also its just been in for a recent service, maybe that could've damaged the plug. Can anyone recommend a place to get a sump and plug kit from? Thanks for the help
     
  10. kwistof

    kwistof South East Events Moderator
    Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,392
    Likes Received:
    509
    :faint: Bloody hell....

    I did 2000 miles just in August of this year! lol

    In terms of a sump, plug and kit from- 3 options I've found.

    1. TPS - OEM genuine parts cheaper than dealer.
    2. GFS/ Euro Car Parts/ Car parts 4 less - doubt they will be OEM genuine but will be the cheapest option - check between the 3 sites for the cheapest option.
    3. Forge baffled sump - if you want to upgrade the sump from OEM - it's about twice the price of an OEM one....you will also need to buy a sump plug and ring. I've got an ECS tuning one...these both can be purchased from Awesome GTI or DPM who are a site sponsors
     
  11. tiki2402

    tiki2402 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2


    Well the last owner before me had done 2000 miles in 2 years as he had a van for work, awesome dude thats some great info, will have a look at all of those options, baffled sump sounds very tempting though!
     
  12. vfr800

    vfr800 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    48
    I'd get a third party oil pressure sensor and plumb it in so you can see what the oil pressure really is.

    Maybe it's a dodgy earth somewhere - just an electrical gremlin?

    Liam
     
  13. tiki2402

    tiki2402 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks liam

    Would a local garage be able to do that? Cheers
     
  14. vfr800

    vfr800 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    48
    I'd hope so, but it's the sort of thing I'd do myself.

    I had a look on eBay earlier and there were quite a few sensors and display bundles for not too much £. You need to make sure you know where to plumb it in and stuff etc.

    Liam
     
  15. kwistof

    kwistof South East Events Moderator
    Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,392
    Likes Received:
    509
    If you're not carrying out the work yourself, then what's your location?

    You could be round the corner from a reputable VAG tuner for all you know
     
  16. Andrew@A.L.D

    Andrew@A.L.D May add NOS to 600+bhp?

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,660
    Likes Received:
    433
  17. tiki2402

    tiki2402 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Im running 5w30 and im located in norwich, norfolk. I wouldn't know where to plumb in the new sensor so would leave that to a professional.
    Thanks for the help.
     
  18. kwistof

    kwistof South East Events Moderator
    Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,392
    Likes Received:
    509
    I'm from the SE - so can't be of much help concerning garages in your area- but maybe someone else could recommend one in your area mate.

    Get off the 5w30 and chuck some Quantum Platinum 5w40 in her (available from TPS)
     
  19. tiki2402

    tiki2402 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    much obliged kwistof!
     
  20. tiki2402

    tiki2402 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Replacing the oil sump and oil pressure switch on Tuesday along with some decent 5w40 oil and filter, will let you know the outcome! Thanks
     
  21. Gops

    Gops 6th gear @7000rpm

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,732
    Likes Received:
    321
    How about testing the oil level sensor plug to see if it's seeing any voltage? Might have a dodgy wire?
     
  22. tiki2402

    tiki2402 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    The sump plug recieves a voltage? Thats new to me, tell me more....
     
  23. Gops

    Gops 6th gear @7000rpm

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,732
    Likes Received:
    321
    Edited!^
     
  24. tiki2402

    tiki2402 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ah I see, will do, thanks for the advice, although it's not the oil level sensor light coming on ita the oil pressure light.
     
  25. tiki2402

    tiki2402 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Update: Replaced the sump, oil and filter today, found the cause of the problem, looks like the last person to have the sump off put a bit too much sealant around the pickup pipe gasket, causing it to partially block of some oil flow, all sorted now, no more annoying oil light! Yipee!
     

    Attached Files:

    s3dave likes this.
  26. s3dave

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    732
    Great news but sealant should not be on the pickup, it should have an O ring to seal..
     
  27. tiki2402

    tiki2402 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    I think thats what it was, it may be the oil return pipe for the turbo actually.
     
  28. tiki2402

    tiki2402 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ok update again:

    So last monday I replaced the sump, oil and filter and the light stayed a way for a day or so and came back on, gutted!

    So today I replaced the gasket for the oil feed pipe for the turbo at the sump end and replaced the oil pressure sensor with an aftermarket one, now the light seems to come on more regularly than before!

    Any help people?

    So ive devided to replace the oil pressure switch with a genuine audi part tomorrow to see if it cures the problem.

    Also ive heard using a genuine audi oil filter may make a difference, can anyone shed anu light on this?

    Much Love
     
  29. tiki2402

    tiki2402 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Update!

    Replaced the oil pressure sensor with a genuine article and all is good! Bout time!
     
    s3dave likes this.
  30. tiki2402

    tiki2402 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Update again:

    Oil light back on but not as much, only happens when the car is warm and below 2k revs, really running out of ideas now, any advice peeps?

    Thanks
     
  31. ManuGD

    ManuGD New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Could it be low oil pressure?
    IMHO it would be great to install a gauge to check the oil pressure under different use conditions. Maybe then you can make some conclusions.
    A friend with a BMW had similar issues and it was all about oil pressure.
     
  32. tiki2402

    tiki2402 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah I think thats the next step tbh, other than getting an oil pressure test done, thanks.
     

Share This Page