1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi S3 MAF

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by goodbuzzman1, Apr 22, 2014.

  1. goodbuzzman1

    goodbuzzman1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    16
    Sowhile trying to sort some running issues, i discovered that when i unplug my MAF the car runs waaaaaay better. I ordered a new one and plugged it in and it runs worse than ever!!

    Is there something i need to do after i plug the new one in? do i need to do a throttle body reset? and if so, how do i go about it
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18,046
    Likes Received:
    2,311
  4. epox

    epox Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    50
    Did you get a Bosch Maf from tps? As this is a must don't use eBay or eurocarparts as they are ****.

    Mark
     
  5. goodbuzzman1

    goodbuzzman1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    16
    hmmm maybe thats where i went wrong as it isnt a bosch one..
     
  6. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18,046
    Likes Received:
    2,311
    As long as its a Bosch one then you should be fine... I have used Bosch sensors from GSF and ECP as well as TPS and all run fine... non Bosch ones as already said are actual rubbish...

    <tuffty/>
     
  7. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18,046
    Likes Received:
    2,311
    ...but scan for fault codes all the same.. preferably using VCDS

    <tuffty/>
     
  8. Freeman_1986

    Freeman_1986 Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    17
    I've had 2 Bosch ones from ECP. Both were ****, so I just have it unplugged now. It may use a bit more fuel that way, but runs better and CBA with the hassle....
     
  9. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18,046
    Likes Received:
    2,311
    Have heard of rouge ones from ECP... generally get mine from GSF to be fair as ECP never seem to have stock... my current MAF sensor is from GSF..

    <tuffty/>
     
  10. LynxE

    LynxE Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    14
    While you're on the subject...

    How do I get the MAF out the holder? I thought the 2 screws were security torx but I've tried a few from T20 to T30 I think but they won't quite fit in. Are they Torx?
     
  11. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18,046
    Likes Received:
    2,311
    5 point security torx...

    <tuffty/>
     
  12. goodbuzzman1

    goodbuzzman1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    16
    i tend to just dremel a slot in to them and use a flat head screwdriver to remove
     
  13. LynxE

    LynxE Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    14
    hmm sounds like Torx bits come in differing point counts then
     
  14. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18,046
    Likes Received:
    2,311
  15. LynxE

    LynxE Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    14
    Thanks. Can go back to cleaning my MAF this weekend
     

Share This Page