Audi S3 Gearbox oil and rear diff ?

Daniel Thomson

Reaction score
Hi guys and girls,
Im new to this and own a Audi s3 I need to do know
what oil does the geabox use ?, any links to what best oil to buy and how much would i need ?
And does the front diff use the shares the same oil with the gearbox ?

Allso what oil does the rear diff use aswell and how much does it use ?

All help would be great and any links to where to buy the oil from good oil,

Thanks

i used some redline mt90 for mine

rear diff will take about a litre, gearbox and front diff about 2.8 litres............ an easy job if the car is in the air.

Last edited:
Ok thanks Guys whats other tools would i need to gearbox oil change and the rear diff oil change I have a very good jack and 2 stands can this still be done ?.

All help would be great as im new to the Audi s3

Kind regards

Last edited:
sorry - mistake - rear diff takes about 1.6 as above

basically 5 litres did the lot with some spare, make sure you get gl4 for the gearbox as gl5 can damage the brass bits on the gearbox, you can use gl5 in the rear diff but i did not bother.

i'd also recommend you get a syringe and tube as it's virtually impossible to do it without one!

when i did it i jacked the car up on 2 jacks and then undid the filler plug first (to make sure i could as didnt want to empty it out and not be able to fill it up) i then undid the bottom plug and let it drain. as it was draining i let the car down so it was level to try and get as much of the old stuff out as possible.

When filling i did it with the car on the ground my dad helped as i guided a long pipe in the filler hole he had the oil attached at the other end of the pipe. I got about 2 litres in and then went for a 5 min drive and then got another 500ml in as this is when it started to come out of the filler hole.

Thanks guys for the replys, Im a bit confused opie oils said
75w-90w rear diff - 1 Liters ?
75w-80w gearbox oil inch the front diff - 3 Liters?