1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi s3 brake fluid capacity

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by simch, Aug 13, 2007.

  1. simch
    Offline

    simch Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 13, 2007]
    Ok, so following the boiling of my brake fluid on the s3, I am going change it for some race stuff...

    Can be quite expensive, so how many litres will I need for a 100% guaranteed change, I dont want any of the old **** left in there at all!

    1l, 2l maybe.........or more.....not sure how much the abs pump etc holds.

    I run brembos but not sure it makes a significant difference!
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 19, 2014]

  3. Dave_Bayern
    Offline

    Dave_Bayern Slipping at 3.5Krpm

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,914
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Aug 13, 2007]
    1.5L normally but buy two.

    Motul RBF600 is a proven fluid and most people I know run it, its the second best readily available fluid but so, so much cheaper than Castrol SRF.

    It's also only a DOT4, but look at the specs and you'll see chemically its better than most DOT5.1 fluids.
    #2
  4. Aky
    Offline

    Aky Aky

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 13, 2007]
    I got told I had to buy 3 x 500ml RBF Motuls to do a full change but the mechanic only used 2 bottles. I'm hoping he changed the fluid but I have my suspicions!
    #3
  5. simch
    Offline

    simch Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 13, 2007]
    What colour is the SRF? I know you have to pressure it through from the top so as not to lose the priming on the ABS pump, but at least if its a different colour to stock, you can see when it comes through the nipples!

    Looked at the morul stuff, but to be fair if its only 2L I need, and the labour is the same, £40 in the price of the fluid is not worth worrying about. I want to make sure I dont get any of the pedal to floor moments I had on the weekend and an extra 40 sovs to stop that is not an issue!
    #4
  6. Aky
    Offline

    Aky Aky

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 13, 2007]
    Simch - let me know how much was used please buddy - I don't want to cook my brakes on the track thinking that the mechanic has changed the fluid when in fact he has tipped it down the drain.
    #5
  7. Dave_Bayern
    Offline

    Dave_Bayern Slipping at 3.5Krpm

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,914
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Aug 13, 2007]
    Actually, thinking about it, I only gave my mechanic two bottles last time, as he gave me one back....

    So maybe its 1 litre and buy 1.5l just in case?

    That would then tie up with Aky's mechanic only having used two bottles.....
    #6
  8. simch
    Offline

    simch Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 13, 2007]
    I reckon 2l should be enough..!?!?!We'll see
    #7
  9. claudefrog
    Offline

    claudefrog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 13, 2007]
    I used about 1.5 litres changing my recently.. about 500ml was spent when using vagcom to flush the abs pump.. without vagcom i would not have been driving home that evening as i had no pedal at all
    #8
  10. simch
    Offline

    simch Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 13, 2007]
    Yes, vagcom and a pressure bleeder are pretty essential!
    #9
  11. claudefrog
    Offline

    claudefrog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 13, 2007]
    i was using a pressure bleeder, didnt realise I needed vagcom until i done a search on the forum
    :readit::readit::readit:
    #10
  12. Aky
    Offline

    Aky Aky

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 13, 2007]
    I'm 99% sure the mechanic I used wouldn't have had access to Vagcom. I didn't know he'd need it. What do I need to do? flush the system using Vagcom?
    #11
  13. madvw
    Offline

    madvw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 13, 2007]
    #12

Share This Page