1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AUDI S3 8L SAT NAV !!!WANTED!!!

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by S3LOV, Dec 3, 2009.

  1. S3LOV
    Offline

    S3LOV New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello, finally got a s3 on sunday and now have a reason to join the site. Very happy with the car, very very happy in fact :yes:. Its completely standard, just the way i wanted it so i can start the long road for this project, and first thing first is the sat nav...
    Does anyone have one up for sale / know of anyone who has one for sale.....Am willing to pay good money.....Thanks guys will post pics soon so get your suggestions ready!

    :greyrs4:
    #1
  2. 02audis3
    Offline

    02audis3 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    #2
  3. 1wheelonly
    Offline

    1wheelonly cabriolet

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,060
    Likes Received:
    4
    my advise would be to go the whole hog and get an rns-e, rather than the older unit.
    #3
  4. S3LOV
    Offline

    S3LOV New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    cheers for that listing buddy, im not sure about it though, guy doesnt look to have much feedback and iv bidded and won things which iv never recieved so i am bit cautious.

    i would love to fit a new one in but heard they are alot of headache with CAN bus adaptors etc, but isnt that just for dash display, can i not just simply plug in and play or something to that effect?
    #4
  5. henners
    Offline

    henners Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not cheap, but I've heard good things about these guys in the past - although they don't explicitly mention an 8L as far as I can see...
    http://www.vwcruise.com/9.html
    #5
  6. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    31
    i wouldnt bother to be fair. i wanted this option for the hell of it cos it looks really good...simple fact is the factory sat navs for these are completely s**te in comparison to your tomtoms, technology has moved so quickly with these in the past 2 years
    #6
  7. S3LOV
    Offline

    S3LOV New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers mate i checked them out, they did say they could do it but i want to try and do it myself, they are looking to charge 300£ just for fitting!!!!! (including CAN bus adaptor), is that really neccesary / is it possible to just connect the unit and connect the antenna?
    #7
  8. S3LOV
    Offline

    S3LOV New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know it probably isnt worth it, but it looks good, dash looks abit plain, want to add some colour, if i do get one i will still prob keep a tommy in the glove box:wacko:
    #8
  9. fran-s3
    Offline

    fran-s3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    I took mine out and sold it, it was that bad! The old one doesn't even support full postcode search or speed cameras. Although for a 8year old sat nav you can't complain! Tom tom all the way.. or RNS-E. (although no speed camera alerts using this)
    #9
  10. S3LOV
    Offline

    S3LOV New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do u know if the RNS - E are hard to install?
    #10
  11. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    31
    it will be the quadlock adaptors so yes...you'll need to convert the loom
    #11
  12. S3LOV
    Offline

    S3LOV New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    cant b bothered then, just want a nice and quick install, so ill keep on the look out for rns d, but most of them dont come with wiring loom to connect to my existing wires or an antenna , are these parts available from audi? or somewhere else?
    Cheers guys
    #12
  13. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    31
    IIRC peopole have sourced these from ebay too in fitment kits as Audi's kit isnt as straight forward to fit and costs a forutne as you'd expect......
    #13
  14. Whorpheus
    Offline

    Whorpheus Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    #14
  15. S3LOV
    Offline

    S3LOV New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you have to use a CAN bus adaptor? Did the unit work even before you had to code it in for the DIS?
    #15
  16. Whorpheus
    Offline

    Whorpheus Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just pulled out the Symphony II, attached that adapter in the link to the plugs that were there. The unit booted and worked without any coding. However i wanted the full functionality (i.e Using the DIS too), so coded that at a later date.
    #16
  17. S3LOV
    Offline

    S3LOV New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    what car unit was the rns e taken from ? did you have to trim the edging ?
    #17
  18. Whorpheus
    Offline

    Whorpheus Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine was out of a 2004 A4 Cab i believe, Just had to trim the bottom of the face of the unit, so it sits flush in the dash. I think the A4 unit's are best fit due to the square corner's. Ones out of later A3's (8P Chasis) wont fit due to the rounded corners....
    #18
  19. S3LOV
    Offline

    S3LOV New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats great i think im going to go for a rns d for now, and then maybe in the new year go for a rns e.....im going to post pictures soon so let me know what you think....cheers everyone great help:salute:
    #19
  20. steve1975l
    Offline

    steve1975l Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    1
  21. ben_turbo1
    Offline

    ben_turbo1 Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm currently thinking of selling some of the nice bits from my car to get some money in the bank and allow me to keep the car.
    I've got OE sat nav with a freeview box etc that I may want to sell but no clue what its worth its also got some box that allows the tv screen to work all the time.
    What year is your S3 and what stereo is in your car at the mo as I would want your original one as PX. Below is a pic of mine:
    [​IMG]
    #21
  22. S3LOV
    Offline

    S3LOV New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi ben_turbo1, that sounds like something im interested in get back to me and we can go from there?
    #22
  23. dragonstyle
    Offline

    dragonstyle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    is there still a sat nav unit for sale?
    #23

Share This Page