1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi Radios with Ipod Connectivity

Discussion in 'General Technical / How To' started by joe.c, Mar 8, 2009.

  1. joe.c
    Offline

    joe.c New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 8, 2009]
    Hey,

    I know there's a ton of topics about connecting ipods to Audi radios but what I was hoping to find out is whether any of the newer Audi radios have full ipod connectivity, as in show the track details and would allow me to browse playlists.

    Also would any radio with this connectivity fit into me Audi A3 05?

    Cheers
    Joe
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 18, 2014]

  3. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 8, 2009]
    You can get some track details on the DIS display using a dension Ipod adapter, nothing on the head unit though. No Audi headunit will display details from an Ipod on its screen (in an A3)

    Its only possible in the new A4, A5, A6, A8 etc

    Audi didn't bother with the A3 and TT which is a real shame!

    If want track details, you might be better of fitting an RNS-E sat nav unit and using SD cards for your music.

    You could get track names with a Kufatec IMA+ and a HDD with MP3's on it but thats not offical Audi kit. I did it that way though and it was pretty good.
    #2
  4. joe.c
    Offline

    joe.c New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 8, 2009]
    Ok cheers.

    Its weird that they don't do anything proper for the A3.

    The only problem is that I only really use itunes :(, its not the best choice when it comes down to compatibility, with apple its either ipod or nothing :(.

    Don't suppose there is any way of fitting an a4 etc radio into an A3 is there.

    Cheers
    Joe
    #3
  5. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 8, 2009]
    Not a chance I'm afraid! The new A4 uses a seperate screen and control unit. It'll never fit nor work in an A3.
    #4
  6. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,802
    Likes Received:
    470
    [Mar 17, 2009]
    what about this guys?
    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Audi-RNS-E-Alpine-KCE-425i-Video-iPod-Kit-A3-A4-A6-TT_W0QQitemZ250390016124QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_CarsParts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM?hash=item250390016124&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1683|66%3A2|65%3A12|39%3A1|240%3A1318
    #5

Share This Page