1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi Radio Symphony 2 HELP PLEASE

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by jacks3, Oct 7, 2012.

  1. jacks3
    Offline

    jacks3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    My car is a 2001 Audi S3 8L running a bam engine.

    I have the genuine Audi symphony 2 radio, i seem to have a problem where only the screen lights up non of the buttons, also the radio dose not turn on or off with the ignition switch like it should, this weekend I had chance to try another radio that works fine in another S3 8L plugged it and it was still the same i tryed my radio in the other car and everything worked fine and all the light worked fine and turned on and off with the key

    So my radio seems to work fine so i dont really know what to do or try next i have checked the radio fuse and the fuse on the back of the radio and they are fine and was not sure if anyone else has ever come across this problem or if anyone had any advice on things to try.

    Also I am pretty sure on speedo screen it should show what radio station is on or what cd etc is this right?

    please help me it drives me insane.

    Thanks Jack S3
    #1
  2. Stutibs
    Offline

    Stutibs Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    im having this problem, did this ever get solved?
    #2
  3. jacks3
    Offline

    jacks3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello no i have had no reply or help on this one someone at a local audio specialist said it might be wire that controls the lights.

    i am very confused as i am not good with wiring.

    Jacks3
    #3
  4. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    Sounds like the CANBUS interface is not working properly. The CANBUS is a data bus that controls the ignition on/off and the DIS info, so if both aren't working then it is either not plugged in or not working. The CANBUS is the middle section of the top connector on the back of the HU.
    Might be worth getting the car scanned with VCDS to see if there are any CANBUS errors.
    #4
  5. Stutibs
    Offline

    Stutibs Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have tried connecting vagcom and have a comm fault with radio and instrument cluster. So im none the wiser as to where the issue lies. Sorry to bring an old thread to life but this is driving me slowly mad
    #5
  6. jacks3
    Offline

    jacks3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your telling me I haven't managed to find anyone that is around my arena to scan my car all I know if that its about drove me insane.

    Please help us Audi fans

    thaks
    #6
  7. Stutibs
    Offline

    Stutibs Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Quick update for you lovely people. I have fixed my radio/dis problem stripped the radio down not faults found in there traced the wiring back and found a small break in the wire. Repaired and heatshrinked it. Now works a treat!! Illumination, dis and turns on and off with ignition. Couldn't be happier.
    #7
  8. jacks3
    Offline

    jacks3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Grate news mate how far back was the split and how easy was it find it? I might try and strip mine down Saturday.

    Im about at my whits end with mine now.

    Hope I can sort mine.

    Jack S3
    #8
  9. Stutibs
    Offline

    Stutibs Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    It was about 15cm from the connector. Good luck mate hope you can get it sorted
    #9
  10. jacks3
    Offline

    jacks3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just before I start looking though everything what colour wire was broken as we must have the same colour broken to have the same fault I cannot wait to try and sort this is has been bugging me.

    Thanks


    JackS3
    #10
  11. Stutibs
    Offline

    Stutibs Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Cant help with colour im afraid as I am colour blind. It was the can -h wire traced out the back of the stereo
    #11

Share This Page