1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi Phatnoise

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by Anito, Sep 28, 2005.

  1. Anito

    Anito Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hello All,

    It's been a while since my last post, but as i'm thinking about changing my car I though I'd ask the experts.

    I'm thinking about ordering a new B7 A4 with Phatnoise. Simple question, is it worth it in terms of quality, performace, etc? Or should I save my money and buy something aftermarket?
    cheers.
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. Roswell

    Roswell Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    1
    If your gonna get a Phatnoise, don't get it from Audi.....they want £700 for the thing.

    I just bought mine on Ebay for £200 and am fitting it myself (with a little help from Craigyb /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif

    As for the quality and performance.....I don't know yet as my car isn't due until the end of October /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif

    Look at some of Craigyb's posts or even PM him. He does Phatnoise installs and he's only about an hour away from you!
     
  4. scoTTy

    scoTTy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,962
    Likes Received:
    11
    I love mine (has it about 6 weeks or so). I bought the VW one from ebay for £169. All works perfectly and is virtually plug and play.
     
  5. rasA4

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist
    Team V6 Audi A4 saloon

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,273
    Likes Received:
    110
    boughtone from the states one of the best things i have bought!! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/dancing.gif
     
  6. jdp1962

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Team V6 TFSI Owners Group Gold Supporter Team Tornado quattro Black Edition Audi S4 s tronic

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    7,895
    Likes Received:
    2,305
    Does it only work with VAG OEM head units, or can it be set up to play with aftermarket HUs, like Alpine?
     
  7. Anito

    Anito Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    6
    Cheers guys, i'll take it from the list of options then.
     
  8. I have 3 phatnoises in stock currently.

    Craig
     
  9. jdp1962

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Team V6 TFSI Owners Group Gold Supporter Team Tornado quattro Black Edition Audi S4 s tronic

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    7,895
    Likes Received:
    2,305
    [ QUOTE ]
    Does it only work with VAG OEM head units, or can it be set up to play with aftermarket HUs, like Alpine?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    BUMP!
     
  10. madvw

    madvw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    3
    [ QUOTE ]
    I have 3 phatnoises in stock currently.

    Craig

    [/ QUOTE ]

    how much are you after for an audi phatbox Craig?
     
  11. scoTTy

    scoTTy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,962
    Likes Received:
    11
  12. jdp1962

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Team V6 TFSI Owners Group Gold Supporter Team Tornado quattro Black Edition Audi S4 s tronic

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    7,895
    Likes Received:
    2,305
    Thanks, ScoTTY. Have looked & it doesn't look like i can hook it up to my Alpine HU. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/thumbsdown.gif
     
  13. madvw

    madvw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    3
    take a look here:

    http://www.phatnoiseuk.co.uk/phatnoise_buy.php

    they seem to be offering an alpine phatbox solution (granted, it uses a certain head unit, and they dont have it in stock) - but you could ask them how it's possible.

    I have doubts whether this site is affiliated with phatbox though..
     
  14. jdp1962

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Team V6 TFSI Owners Group Gold Supporter Team Tornado quattro Black Edition Audi S4 s tronic

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    7,895
    Likes Received:
    2,305
    [ QUOTE ]
    take a look here:

    http://www.phatnoiseuk.co.uk/phatnoise_buy.php

    they seem to be offering an alpine phatbox solution (granted, it uses a certain head unit, and they dont have it in stock) - but you could ask them how it's possible.

    I have doubts whether this site is affiliated with phatbox though..

    [/ QUOTE ]

    You're a diamond, Madvw. That Alpine HU is exactly the one I've got. I've sent off an enquiry email asking if they can supply the Phatbox only to hook up to it.
    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
     
  15. petersargeant

    petersargeant New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Craig - I am very interested in a phatnoise but for some reason I can't PM you. Can you please let me have a price for supply and fitting. Thanks.
     
  16. Roswell

    Roswell Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think Craig is offline for a week or so....maybe try him again in the middle of October!
     

Share This Page