1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi Phatnoise 20Gb for £189 Group Buy

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by IanL-S3, Oct 10, 2005.

  1. IanL-S3
    Offline

    IanL-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 10, 2005]
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 17, 2014]

  3. Kevint
    Offline

    Kevint Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 10, 2005]
    Do you need a minimum number of purchases for this Ian?

    Anyway, good work fella /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif

    Kev.
    #2
  4. IanL-S3
    Offline

    IanL-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 10, 2005]
    i estimated 10-20 sales as its comparable to ebay prices with guarantee etc.
    but jason has offered the price on an individual basis, so feel free to start buying /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif i have my order in already. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif
    #3
  5. IanL-S3
    Offline

    IanL-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 10, 2005]
    i am paying by paypal. mine will arrive wednesday so will try to install on wed but if not thursday and let you know how i get on.
    #4
  6. Roswell
    Offline

    Roswell Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 11, 2005]
    Guys,

    Just so you are aware the cable that comes with the Audi Phatnoise assumes that you already have the CD changer cable pre-installed in your car. (So I am led to believe)
    #5
  7. jdp1962
    Online

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,897
    Likes Received:
    860
    [Oct 11, 2005]
    Any chance he could match that price for a Phatnoise compatible with the Alpine CDM9823 HU?
    #6
  8. IanL-S3
    Offline

    IanL-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 11, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Any chance he could match that price for a Phatnoise compatible with the Alpine CDM9823 HU?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    you could email him and see...he was pretty helpful to be honest.
    #7
  9. ginner
    Offline

    ginner Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 11, 2005]
    I am not entirely sure how the Phatnoise works. Can I drag and drop songs from my ipod into it as this would save me having to download all my music again?
    #8
  10. IanL-S3
    Offline

    IanL-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 11, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    I am not entirely sure how the Phatnoise works. Can I drag and drop songs from my ipod into it as this would save me having to download all my music again?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    i am guessing no.

    I dont have an ipod because it uses .m4u extension on files, from what i have seen - i.e not mp3's which is what the phatnoise and the rest of the world except sony (although sony have seen the light too) use.

    Not sure if Itunes can export to mp3 (and the ipod play mp3's) or if it was just the one i saw that was set up as default to use .m4u (ala windows media player and .wma files)

    But you dont have to download your music all over again either way. You only need to convert your Itunes files to mp3 which can be done as a batch (albeit space and time hungry).

    Hopefully somebody will come along and correct me if i am wrong /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif
    #9
  11. Kevint
    Offline

    Kevint Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 11, 2005]
    Some one please do... I've got all my music on an apple in iTunes. What is the easiest way to get it onto the phatnoise?

    I have a windows laptop too...

    Kev.
    #10
  12. scoTTy
    Offline

    scoTTy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,959
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Oct 11, 2005]
    I've been speaking to them for about two months about a group buy. I have about 20 guys on the TT forum all looking to buy as it looked like I was heading towards a group buy at around £150 although this was for the VW unit.

    I bought a VW unit from them and it works perfectly in my Audi but I did have the 6cd so I just plugged that cable in to the phatbox cable.

    I'm gonna contact Jason and see if he's more use than James who I've been dealing with. They still owe me a fixing kit since July/August despite my promise of 25 people buying. They told me they couldn't cope with that size of order so I wonder how they'll handle this group buy. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/crazy.gif
    #11
  13. C_Audiboy
    Offline

    C_Audiboy Vroom Vroom

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    822
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 11, 2005]
    Good find Ian!

    I think I'll be investing in one of these, but next month after I pay for new tyres /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif

    I was actually gonna post and see if anyone knew of a software flash that exists for the Symphony II that will let it play MP3 CDs?
    #12
  14. ginner
    Offline

    ginner Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 11, 2005]
    Ive just been on the site and it states they are not taking any new sales at present?
    #13
  15. IanL-S3
    Offline

    IanL-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 12, 2005]
    oh yeh - that notice wasnt there when i ordered mine. i will let you know if mine arrives tomorrow as jason stated it would. i will also try to have a look at install asap but footie on tomorrow and weather not best for standing out in.
    I will let you know whether the audi cable is required or not asap. that way you could save 40quid on scotty's tt group buy.

    Try emailing him if you want to order. the notice maybe (i am only guessing) in anticipation of groupbuy!! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

    Either way - if you dont feel 100% sure about it leave it. I have no affiliation at all with phatnoise, so dont want to lead anybody into anything that i am stupid enough to embark on /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

    Cheers

    Ian
    #14
  16. scoTTy
    Offline

    scoTTy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,959
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Oct 12, 2005]
    I got an email back from Jason. It seems the company is going through a reorganisation and James and Jason no longer work together.

    I'm now seeing if Jason will pick up from James on the group buy at around £150. I'll keep you advised.
    #15
  17. jbw
    Offline

    jbw Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 12, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Some one please do... I've got all my music on an apple in iTunes. What is the easiest way to get it onto the phatnoise?

    I have a windows laptop too...

    Kev.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I've an iPod that has only mp3 files on it. It all works fine though I'm windows based.
    You can convert between formats in iTunes (in preferences change the rip settings to mp3 now when you right click on a song you should have an option to convert to mp3).
    If I was you I'd email them and see if the phatbox is compatible with a mac. You might be able to bypass the phatbox software (which I think is pc only) and just copy songs onto the unit to play them. Again I'd don't own a phatbox so don't quote me.

    The best way to do it though is to use your windows laptop... convert your entire library to mp3 on your mac then burn to dual format cd or dvd (depending on how big your music library is). Now copy all your music library onto your windows laptop and then to your phatbox. A bit long winded but you'll also have a backup of your ripped music? (If you ever need to move it again?) /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif

    I'm tempted by this but the site states I need a 2001 a3 or later even though the user manual has a picture of my 1999 concert 1 stereo? Any ideas?

    ta,
    jbw
    #16
  18. Kevint
    Offline

    Kevint Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 12, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Some one please do... I've got all my music on an apple in iTunes. What is the easiest way to get it onto the phatnoise?

    I have a windows laptop too...

    Kev.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I've an iPod that has only mp3 files on it. It all works fine though I'm windows based.
    You can convert between formats in iTunes (in preferences change the rip settings to mp3 now when you right click on a song you should have an option to convert to mp3).
    If I was you I'd email them and see if the phatbox is compatible with a mac. You might be able to bypass the phatbox software (which I think is pc only) and just copy songs onto the unit to play them. Again I'd don't own a phatbox so don't quote me.

    The best way to do it though is to use your windows laptop... convert your entire library to mp3 on your mac then burn to dual format cd or dvd (depending on how big your music library is). Now copy all your music library onto your windows laptop and then to your phatbox. A bit long winded but you'll also have a backup of your ripped music? (If you ever need to move it again?) /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif

    I'm tempted by this but the site states I need a 2001 a3 or later even though the user manual has a picture of my 1999 concert 1 stereo? Any ideas?

    ta,
    jbw

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Thanks for the advice mate, it's not as bad as I thought it could have been, atleast I have options.

    I too have the Concert 1 stereo and I assume I'll have no problems *hopes*.

    Kev.
    #17
  19. The911SC
    Offline

    The911SC Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 13, 2005]
    A few on ebay now for 179 +14 postage
    #18
  20. scoTTy
    Offline

    scoTTy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,959
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Oct 14, 2005]
    He called me from the US today and after a chat he'll do either the VW or the Audi unit for £164inc VAT and P&P.
    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cool.gif
    #19
  21. scoTTy
    Offline

    scoTTy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,959
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Oct 14, 2005]
    I don't believe how quick things change!!

    This is now off!!

    Jason will have a new site up on Sunday where anyone can buy an Audi unit at a new price. It will be the same price as he sells for on Ebay. He will not be doing any group buys.
    #20
  22. jasontlr
    Offline

    jasontlr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 20, 2005]
    The new web page will be up and running come October 28, 2005. If you wish to purchase an Audi unit, feel free to send me an email to jasontlr@gmail.com
    #21
  23. The Slug
    Offline

    The Slug Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 23, 2005]
    What webpage??
    #22
  24. madvw
    Offline

    madvw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    2
  25. The911SC
    Offline

    The911SC Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 25, 2005]
    I bought one through ebay from him; should arrive tomorrow..
    #24

Share This Page