1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

audi navigation system plus (RNS-E)

Discussion in 'TT/TT-S/TT-RS Forum' started by tomos8304, Feb 10, 2013.

  1. tomos8304
    Offline

    tomos8304 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    ive got this system in my car can i just take my iphone 5 with me and play the songs from the phone and make them come out of the speakers? im a bit dull really not used too all this technology.
    #1
  2. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,220
    Likes Received:
    1,218
    No, not unless you have the mk2 rns-e with ami/adapter or auxin.

    If you have mk2 rns but no ami, then I can fit it for you.
    #2
  3. tomos8304
    Offline

    tomos8304 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    thats all weve got is a head unit witch looks like a small tv its got sat nav and there is a multi change cd in the glove box but no ipod connection its a 2007 3.2 v6 convertable tne new shape one thanks
    #3
  4. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,220
    Likes Received:
    1,218
    Has it got a cd/tv button or media button?

    Probably a mk1 rns tbh if original unit from factory of that year.
    #4
  5. tomos8304
    Offline

    tomos8304 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    its got a cd/tv button on it it also opens up and there is two slots for sd cards behind it. btw ive got a iphone 5 i dont know if that makes any difference
    #5
  6. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,220
    Likes Received:
    1,218
    Thats the older version, you would need a mk2 rns with ami for iphone 5 plugin if you want track/artist/album info on screen with control via head unit.
    #6
  7. tomos8304
    Offline

    tomos8304 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry too sound thick but does that mean i need a new stereo in the car for it all too work properly?
    #7
  8. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,220
    Likes Received:
    1,218
    Yes.
    #8
  9. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    You can fit a Dension GW100 for a fraction of the cost, it will work with your current HU and although you lose the 6CD changer you probably don't need that with an Iphone. The GW100 also works with the Iphone 5 and lightning adaptor. You won't get track names on the nav unit, but you will get them on the DIS and allow you to fully browse your Ipod/Iphone from the steering wheel and stereo controls.
    #9

Share This Page