1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi Navigation - Can I retro fit to an S3?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Parf7, Oct 7, 2003.

  1. Parf7
    Offline

    Parf7 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 7, 2003]
    Can I retro fit Audi'd Navigation/Navigation Plus to my S3?
    Will my dash except the unit? What do I have to move/remove? All help/pictures greatly appreciated!!

    Thanks
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 21, 2014]

  3. DaveCav
    Offline

    DaveCav Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 7, 2003]
    Do think you can but would be very intrested if you could
    #2
  4. AlexStanley
    Offline

    AlexStanley Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 7, 2003]
    I wanted to do this too. From what I understand it can be done, but there is a *lot* of work involved, as it's not just a case of fitting the unit into the dashboard, but there is a fair amount of wiring involved to do this too.

    The radio aerial needs to be replaced with the one that has the gps sensor in it, and a few boxes need to be added to the boot to do all the processing etc.

    In the end I opted to buy a Navman iCN 630 (got it delivered today - woo!) which just suckers onto the windscreen. I've only made 2 journeys so far but early indications show it's going to do the trick until I can afford sat nav in an RS3 or an S4 /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/lol.gif
    #3
  5. Gambba
    Offline

    Gambba Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 7, 2003]
    Aftermarket navigation systems appear to be far better than the Audi units, so why not get one of the many that are available easily. The Audi system is too complicated to use in my opinion and would p1ss me off something chronic.
    #4
  6. AlexStanley
    Offline

    AlexStanley Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 7, 2003]
    Gambba,

    The only problem with that is that it disrupts the dashboard and it doesn't keep the consistent 'audi' look - I'm sure you know what I mean
    #5
  7. AndybS3
    Offline

    AndybS3 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. Gambba
    Offline

    Gambba Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 8, 2003]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Alex Stanley said:
    Gambba,

    The only problem with that is that it disrupts the dashboard and it doesn't keep the consistent 'audi' look - I'm sure you know what I mean

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Agreed but get one that's got red lighting and you're sorted /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif For me the only option is Tom Tom for the PDA with the Tom Tom bluetooth GPS reciever, better than most Navigation systems on the market, with so many more features, easily updated and so adaptable in the fact you can take it with you.

    Saw an advert here that if you buy any Opel Corsa you get the option of a VDO navigation system for 99 Euros...not bad me thinks......but still doesn't make me want to buy a Corsa!!!
    #7
  9. Parf7
    Offline

    Parf7 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 8, 2003]
    Does anyone on here have Audi Navigation in an S/A3? If so would they post a picture of the dash with it fitted? - Cheers
    #8
  10. Gambba
    Offline

    Gambba Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 8, 2003]
    JaybeeS3 has it fitted in his S3, drop him a PM, I don't know if the system changed over the years, but his is a pre-facelift version....I'm not sure if he can get you pictures.
    #9
  11. PaulRS3
    Offline

    PaulRS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,016
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Oct 8, 2003]
    heres mine.

    Im interested if you find anywhere to retro fit it, as i would like to get the tv tuner retro fitted to mine.

    #10
  12. JayBeeS3
    Offline

    JayBeeS3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 8, 2003]
    I've got the Audi navi system fitted from factory in my S3 but its not the navi+ but the normal one. A picture doesnt really make sense because you dont see anything in the dash except a couple of buttons near the handbrake. The info gets displayed on the DIS and a nice lady talks to me.... /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #11
  13. batty
    Offline

    batty Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 8, 2003]
    Partf7

    I've found a site you may find interesting: -

    http://www.tvwiz.net/navigation/

    this is US based & details the A4 fitting - I guess the S3 will be similar-ish.
    #12
  14. Parf7
    Offline

    Parf7 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 8, 2003]
    Batty,

    Cheers, I've mailed the guy to ask him how straight forward the S/A3 installation is. Provided its not rocket science and (most importantly) I dont have to cut up my dash. I'm strongly considering doing it as a Winter project
    #13
  15. batty
    Offline

    batty Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 8, 2003]
    Parf7

    - here's a pic of the install in my '02 S3 /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

    I'm thinking of adding the tv option, although the previous owner looked into it & said it was quite expensive. A company called Kingston or something (or possibly a company in Kingston on Thames) had quoted him big bucks.

    Let me know if you find any good suppliers of genuine SatNav equipment in the UK.

    - cheers
    #14
  16. Gambba
    Offline

    Gambba Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 9, 2003]
    Ah I see the Navi plus is definately far different from the unit Jaybee has in his...much prettier.
    #15
  17. marctwo
    Offline

    marctwo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 6, 2004]
    I don't have an S3 yet but I plan to buy one. I really need a navigation unit so I was wondering what the best option was. Obviously the factory fitted one is the least hassle but it seems hard to find UK S3's with these fitted. Is the best option therefore a PDA/GPS combo or would something like the Pioneer AVIC-X1 (http://www.pioneer.co.uk/uk/product_detail.jsp?product_id=7308&taxonomy_id=25-112) be a good solution?

    Does anyone have any photos of aftermarket navigation systems fitted to their S3?

    Thanks,

    Marc
    #16
  18. garethj
    Offline

    garethj Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 6, 2004]
    If you can get an S3 with Audi Navi then it may be cheaper / easier, although it will only be a CD based system and will not have TMC.

    The Pioneer system you point to is pretty good and at approx £1500 is good value, one downside of that system is that you have to swap the navi DVD in and out when planning new journeys. If you are prepared to spend more the Pioneer touch screen unit is the best on the market at present.
    #17
  19. marctwo
    Offline

    marctwo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 6, 2004]
    Gareth,

    Thanks alot for your reply. I can't really justify spending much more at the moment. However, if I get a car with a multi-changer, will the pioneer work with this? That way I would not have to remove the navigation CD.

    Also, if I did buy the pioneer, how easy is it to fit into the S3? Would I need some kind of dashboard blanking plate? Would it also connect the subwoofer if the car has one?

    Would something like an iPaq and Tom Tom be a better option? I would consider this but I don't like the idea of having to remove the system from the car every time I park!

    Thanks again,

    Marc

    PS What is TMC?
    #18
  20. cybrey
    Offline

    cybrey Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 6, 2004]
    For that sort of money your better of getting the ipaq and software. You can get an ipaq + gps for 300 quid easily.
    #19
  21. S3MUD
    Offline

    S3MUD New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 6, 2004]
    Marc,

    The Dell Axim PDA's also have the option of having Tom Tom navigation software.

    You wont get a better PDA for the money!

    Brendon.
    #20
  22. Woodster
    Offline

    Woodster Welcome to my world...

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 7, 2004]
    Also if you go the Pocket PC & TomTom route you can get a handy piece of add-on software called CheckPOInt. This warns you when Points Of Interest are coming up like speed cameras, Shell Optimax garages, racing circuits.
    You just download the different components you need from the internet...very handy /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh.gif

    It looks like the web site is down at the moment but the URL is http://oabsoftware.nl/

    Rich
    #21
  23. marctwo
    Offline

    marctwo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 7, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    garethj said:
    Pocket PC and Bluetooth GPS would be cheaper option and is obviously easy to move from car to car.

    If you got a multichanger for the the Pioneer it would be £150 (or less) extra.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Would a Pioneer head unit work with the BOSE changer?
    #22
  24. marctwo
    Offline

    marctwo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 7, 2004]
    Sounds like most of you guys think that a PPC/TomTom setup is the way to go. I can certainly see the benefit of a cheaper system and having things like CheckPOInt (sounds essential!). However, I would still be somewhat hesitant to install dodgy-looking 3rd party mounting kit into nice new S3.

    Does anyone have any photos of their setup? Do you take it with you every time you leave the car? Doesn't it ruin the look of the dashboard at all? Do you have to keep charging it or do you have wires trailing all over the place?

    Thanks guys.

    Marc
    #23
  25. Woodster
    Offline

    Woodster Welcome to my world...

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 7, 2004]
    Marc

    I don't take it out everytime I'm in the car, only when I don't know where I'm going /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif

    I went for a bluetooth GPS reciever because there's no wires between the PDA and reciever. But then you have to keep the reciever charged, the battery lasts around 4 hours which is good enough for any journey. I can always recharge/power it in the car if needed.

    The holder is bit of a pain, I have to run the power cable for the holder (powered speaker) under the steering column into the fag lighter. You could always wire it into the dashboard if you don't want the wires trailing everywhere. Or run the PDA and reciever just on the batteries, therefore no wires. Just remember to charge them when you get home.

    If I get time, I'll take some photos tonight...
    #24
  26. cybrey
    Offline

    cybrey Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 7, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    marctwo said:
    Does anyone have any photos of their setup?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    [​IMG]

    That isn't my car or my setup .. and I don't doubt it could be done a lot neater than that. But it should give you an idea of how it may look. It depends on how often your going to be using the system. Obviously the more often would push more towards an integrated setup. On the flip side though a PDA is a pretty useful device and would be a more upgradeable approach.
    #25
  27. marctwo
    Offline

    marctwo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 7, 2004]
    Thanks!!

    I am still leaning towards a fully fitted system as my sense of direction is terrible /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/crazy.gif so I would want it in the car at all times.

    If this is the case then would you recommend holding out for a car with the Audi Navigation (is it any good??) or am I better off going for the Pioneer system?

    Marc
    #26
  28. garethj
    Offline

    garethj Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 7, 2004]
    No such thing as a Bose changer, Bose is the speaker system, the headunit and changer are standard Audi (matsushita ****).
    #27
  29. Mo-S3
    Offline

    Mo-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 7, 2004]
    Have a look at my install in my S3, doesnt look out of place at all. Might be selling it too if the right cards fall into place. PICS

    Any questions please ask
    #28
  30. ha3t
    Offline

    ha3t New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 7, 2004]
    I'd like a simple system for occasional use but it needs to be CHEAP.
    How much am I looking at? Any suggestions?
    #29
  31. garethj
    Offline

    garethj Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 7, 2004]
    A compass should be about £15 from you nearest outdoor shop.
    #30
  32. marctwo
    Offline

    marctwo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 8, 2004]
    Anyone looked at the Garmin iQue3600?
    #31
  33. ha3t
    Offline

    ha3t New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 8, 2004]
    how much for the tosh Dunk?
    #32
  34. eddyg
    Offline

    eddyg Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 9, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    marctwo said:
    Does anyone have any photos of their setup?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Here is a picture of my Philips Carin (now VDO/Dayton) satnav in my S3, I find it quite usable, the satellite receiver sits in the corner of the front windscreen and the controller sits next to the handbrake.

    Cheers, Edward
    #33
  35. dunk
    Offline

    dunk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 9, 2004]
    sorry the tosh has gone now.

    #34
  36. clcollins
    Offline

    clcollins Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 9, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Parf7 said:
    Can I retro fit Audi'd Navigation/Navigation Plus to my S3?
    Will my dash except the unit? What do I have to move/remove? All help/pictures greatly appreciated!!

    Thanks

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Well I would have said no but take a look at this: eBay

    Cut and paste the text into a word document, then click tools, down to language, side bar pops out, click on translate, you may have to click on the 'translate via the web' button. The translation is not great but it does give you a good idea of whats going on, and what is going on?

    Well it appears that with the right parts it is possible to retro fir AUDI navigation that displays on the DIS. Warning, don't get to excited, it may be a Germany only part/software.

    If you get anymore info through this, post it, I think we would all be very interested.
    #35
  37. Spacekid
    Offline

    Spacekid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 8, 2006]
    I just had Retro fitted to my Brand New RS4 Sat/Nav System from www.satnavsystems.com.
    These guys are very quick and professional. I just had new system fitted within 48 hours for £1199 plus VAT. A qualified Audi engineer come to my house installed, programmed and coded everything to factory spec. with latest VAS-5053 Original Audi Diagnostic Tool.
    This guys are not the cheapest, but they are the only in the UK who offer a full 12 months warranty on parts and labor with qualified Audi engineer. I have done a research for almost a month before I found SatNav System.com -in the end my local Audi Dealer has recommended me to them.
    I have spent almost £60k on my car and did not want some cowboy’s to damage my beauty!!
    My full recommendation to all of you!!!
    RS4 - Sapcekid
    #36
  38. shuzzy
    Offline

    shuzzy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 9, 2006]
    :think: Are you in some way connected to this place ?
    #37
  39. simch
    Offline

    simch Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 9, 2006]
    There si a dedicated site for sat nav systems for VAG cars, its brilliant and explains all the different types fo MFD, the models and how to fit, certainly everything to fit in a MK4 golf which is similar.

    I think its VWnavi.co.uk or something.

    All the tv tuners and dvd players and cables etc seemt o be readily availabel formt eh bay as well as the gps aerials.
    I put one in my mk4 for about 500quid all in. As a bonus the stereo part fo the MFD is far superior to the old VW Gamma units (not bad themselves).

    Have a look its interesting if nothing else!
    #38
  40. larsmate
    Offline

    larsmate Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Dec 11, 2006]
    #39

Share This Page