1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi LED number plate lights now available

Discussion in 'RS3 Forum' started by jerseypaul, May 5, 2012.

  1. jerseypaul
    Offline

    jerseypaul Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    28
    [May 5, 2012]
    Pics and part number for these bad boys.
    Just available to order from dealers - officially for A5 convertibles:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 20, 2014]

  3. Moschops
    Offline

    Moschops Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    89
    [May 5, 2012]
    Paul, are these just a straight swap? Price?

    Thanks

    Wayne :beerchug:
    #2
  4. jerseypaul
    Offline

    jerseypaul Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    28
    [May 5, 2012]
    Straight swap, 5 mins, £18.
    [​IMG]
    #3
  5. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    [May 5, 2012]
    Later when it's dark could you take a few more?

    Gonna buy some depending on the brightness
    #4
  6. jerseypaul
    Offline

    jerseypaul Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    28
    [May 5, 2012]
    Will do.
    #5
  7. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
  8. Moschops
    Offline

    Moschops Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    89
    [May 5, 2012]
    Thanks Paul.
    #7
  9. HSP
    Offline

    HSP 3rd Gear

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    9
    [May 5, 2012]
    Hi Paul, does this flag any errors?
    #8
  10. Shadowman
    Offline

    Shadowman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    43
    [May 5, 2012]
    As well as the errors issue, are these also a straight swap for all A3's do you know ?
    #9
  11. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [May 5, 2012]
    Considering the RS3 is an 8P, then I suspect they will fit all 8P versions fine.
    #10
  12. jerseypaul
    Offline

    jerseypaul Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    28
    [May 5, 2012]
    Hi guys.
    fired them up with the engine running and got the bulb out warning on the DIS.
    however the light level is perfect - ie not too bright with even dispersion.
    I'm sure there is a fix with a power resistor so will investigate further.
    be good if it were possible to disable to bulb check function though.
    any ideas VCDS / Vagcom users?
    cheers.
    heres a pic not quite dark enough really:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    #11
  13. t8ups
    Online

    t8ups Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    292
    [May 5, 2012]
    oh no :(

    there are no options to disabled the bulb check for plate lamps, the new 8p3's are very sensitive and even changing the reverse lights to LED give off an error.

    Thanks
    Trups
    #12
  14. jerseypaul
    Offline

    jerseypaul Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    28
    [May 5, 2012]
    Cheers t8.
    aparentley the A1 owners club have a fix.
    will report back when I get a chance.
    #13
  15. jerseypaul
    Offline

    jerseypaul Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    28
    [May 5, 2012]
    Night pic
    [​IMG]
    #14
  16. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [May 5, 2012]
    You see, thats the best led plate light pic I've seen to date.
    #15
  17. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    [May 5, 2012]
    Thanks Paul, they're so nice I'm gonna get some this week when I'm complaining about my DPF

    Nigel, I know these will go in my A3 but will they produce the error Paul got?

    Any clue if they'll fit my A6?
    #16
  18. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [May 5, 2012]
    You'd need to check mate, as different years have different tolerances as trups has noted.
    #17
  19. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    [May 5, 2012]
    I know mine is an 8P, but what version of 8P is it?

    VIN starts wuazzz8px
    #18
  20. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [May 5, 2012]
    I dont see your point tbh chris, as these are new to the scene, so needs testing on various version 8p's, so you would need to buy & test, count yourself lucky as its pennies compared to some modules I've had to buy for testing purposes lol.
    #19
  21. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    [May 5, 2012]
    Yeah I see where you're coming from, will maybe leave them a while then .. The car doesn't deserve anything after the continuing trouble its giving me :banghead: .. The list is getting longer by the day

    just found this on one of the other led threads -

    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/new-a3...di-number-plate-leds-fit-a3-8p-plug-play.html

    might just take a punt at them anyway and just see!
    Last edited: May 5, 2012
    #20
  22. Sticks
    Offline

    Sticks Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    14
    [May 6, 2012]
    Looks good, IMO Audi should have put these on my 2012 car to start with ,tight f*^*ers
    #21
  23. djsherif
    Offline

    djsherif New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 6, 2012]
    I have a 2010 and these caused a bulb out light in the DIS.
    #22
  24. t8ups
    Online

    t8ups Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    292
    [May 6, 2012]
    Whats there fix paul, do you have a link, i got an adaptor loom for the A1 to stop the error, in the loom it will have a halogen bulb connected to the loom to "trick" the computer so it still thinks a halogen is in there but in fact there is the OEM LED unit.

    i have done this to a few BMW's that didnt come with the factory LED's and they work without errors. i will post a picture of my A1 looms tomo.

    Thanks
    #23
  25. jerseypaul
    Offline

    jerseypaul Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    28
    [May 6, 2012]
    Nice one.
    i did think about a dummy load etc
    be interesting to see /try the A1 idea.
    #24
  26. Dave Hedgehog
    Offline

    Dave Hedgehog Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    61
    [May 7, 2012]
    OK am i missing something here, err why??
    #25
  27. amar06fbr
    Offline

    amar06fbr Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    59
    [May 8, 2012]
    i think this should work :icon_thumright:
    #26
  28. jerseypaul
    Offline

    jerseypaul Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    28
    [May 9, 2012]
    Hi gang.
    i can't find a neat and easy way to accommodate a power resistor or dummy load so.......
    I have modified the original units.
    i have some 12 V DC white led strip lying around so I did this:

    [​IMG]


    It allows the standard 5w filament lamp to sit behind but also blocks the old lamps output.

    Fired everything up looks great and no error codes.
    Will get an " at night" pic up later.
    #27
  29. t8ups
    Online

    t8ups Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    292
    [May 9, 2012]
    i was going to sudjest that paul,

    can you get me a picture of the back of the OEM led Lamp, i want to see how much space is on there, if there is a decent amount for me to work with i will buy some from audi and make up a tester set and test in HSP's RS3.

    or measure how much space there is from the dip in the plastic to the top of the metal clips.?

    Thanks
    Trups
    #28
  30. jerseypaul
    Offline

    jerseypaul Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    28
    [May 10, 2012]
    Will get a pic up later.
    id say there was around 10mm behind the unit when installed.
    #29
  31. jerseypaul
    Offline

    jerseypaul Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    28
    [May 10, 2012]
    Here we go detail pics.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    #30
  32. White Audi RS3
    Offline

    White Audi RS3 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 19, 2012]
    I have also Audi RS3 and those same LED-lights(A5 cab) and they give an error. What is the easiest way to avoid this?
    #31
  33. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    [May 19, 2012]
    Last edited: May 19, 2012
    #32
  34. jerseypaul
    Offline

    jerseypaul Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    28
    [May 22, 2012]
    Aparently there is a coding fix to this.
    will wait and see what happens.
    #33
  35. quattro81
    Offline

    quattro81 All the gear.. No idea

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    88
    [May 31, 2012]
    paul.. check out the thread in the 8p section, there's a guy called lala30 who has just shown everyone how to code the led's with no errors via vcds (byte 17, bit 7).. would be interested to see if this works on yours mate?
    #34
  36. amar06fbr
    Offline

    amar06fbr Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    59
    [Jun 2, 2012]
    #35
  37. jerseypaul
    Offline

    jerseypaul Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Jun 2, 2012]
    #36
  38. RYes3
    Offline

    RYes3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    84
    [Feb 6, 2013]
    So when the coding is done does that mean that you will no longer know about any other bulb failures as i guess it just turns the monitoring off? Or is the coding isolated to the number plate bulbs?
    #37
  39. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Feb 6, 2013]
    Isolated
    #38
  40. Djwoody
    Offline

    Djwoody Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Mar 26, 2013]
    I installed some of these in November last year to my 2008 A3 and they have been working well since.

    However, last night I started the car up and I'm getting the Number plate light out on the DIS and both of the units aren't lit up.
    Could it be a fuse?
    Can anyone help?

    Strange how they have just switched off after 4 months!

    Chris
    #39
  41. S.
    Offline

    S. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    217
    [Mar 26, 2013]
    did you try today again?

    as mine sometimes throws number plate light error, and the lights don't work. but usually after opening and closing the boot they work again. don't know if contact plates are short or it has to do something with cold weather.
    #40

Share This Page