1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi GSM Prep - Bluetooth compatibility?

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by col6821, Nov 20, 2007.

  1. col6821
    Offline

    col6821 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 20, 2007]
    Hi all,

    I've just purchased a 2005 TT with pre-wired GSM cradle.
    Rather than purchase a specific cradle for my phone, I'd like to buy a bluetooth cradle and card, does anyone know if this is possible?

    I believe that the Audi GSM kit is supplied by Cullmann, and they currently offer a bluetooth card compatible with their VC4 mounting.

    Is the GSM kit in my TT VC4 or VC3?

    Has anyone tried this, or is there a better solution?

    Thanks

    Col
    #1
  2. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Nov 20, 2007]
    Your phone prep is already BT enabled.

    Search for the prep from your phone with the ignition on.

    Audi UHVxxxx

    Passcode 1234
    #2
  3. col6821
    Offline

    col6821 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 21, 2007]
    Oh, I tried that but the phone didn't pick up any BT devices. Is that because there's no cradle on the dash mount?
    The salesman advised that it was only GSM and not BT?

    Cheers.
    #3
  4. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 21, 2007]
    Try searching within the first 5 minutes of switching on the ignition?
    #4
  5. col6821
    Offline

    col6821 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 22, 2007]
    Thanks

    I tried the above and have now found the device and connected with the code given above, but when making or receiving calls I don't have any dial tone coming through the car speakers.

    When the devices connect the stereo shows 'phone' but that's about it, no further interaction afterwards.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks.
    #5
  6. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Nov 22, 2007]
    Could be a limitation of your phone, what model is it?
    #6
  7. col6821
    Offline

    col6821 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 22, 2007]
    It's a Sony Erricsson K750i

    I thought that may be the issue, It's been dropping it's BT connection to my headset recently.

    My Wife has a Motorola RAZR, I may try that tomorrow.

    Cheers s8craig.
    #7
  8. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Nov 23, 2007]
    K750i's are pretty rock solid, but you need to make sure you have the latest firmware installed.

    Use the SE website for updates

    From what I understand the SE cannot transfer ringtones, so if you have weird non standard tone it may be the issue.

    Basically you should hear the normal sounds when calling the other person like a normal call and then the ring tone in your phone should sound when a call comes in. But that will also have the AUdi ring tone at the same time.
    #8
  9. marms
    Offline

    marms Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 23, 2007]
    If that doesn't work it is also possible that bluetooth is turned off.

    You will need VAG-COM to check/modify this.

    Select]
    [77 - Telephone]
    [Adaptation - 10]
    Channel 133
    [Read]
    • 0 = Bluetooth OFF
    • 1 = Bluetooth ON
    [Test]
    [Save]
    [Done, Go Back]
    [Close Controller, Go Back - 06]

    Hands Free Function

    [Select]
    [77 - Telephone]
    [Adaptation - 10]
    Channel 134
    [Read]

    • 0 = Hands-free active while Bluetooth connection is active but without cell phone engaged
    • 1 = Hands-free only active with cell phone engaged
    [Test]
    [Save]
    [Done, Go Back]
    [Close Controller, Go Back - 06]
    #9
  10. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Nov 23, 2007]
    I think his BT works, it's just unreliable.
    #10
  11. marms
    Offline

    marms Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 23, 2007]
    Ahh yes, I missed the post were he said it paired.

    So if it pairs then bluetooth is definately turned on. Sorry.

    I suppose a good test would be to find someone with a known compatible phone and see if that works.

    As it is a factory fit phone prep it is unlikely to be coding but I had exactly the same issues when I first retrofitted my bluetooth. It worked fine once I had sorted the coding. So it might be worth getting it checked just incase?
    #11
  12. col6821
    Offline

    col6821 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 24, 2007]
    Thanks Guy's

    I tried it this morning with a Motorla RAZR and it works fine which is good as it's my Wife's phone and she drives the car more!

    We've been in and out of the car all day, and the BT in the car has connected to the phone everytime.

    Unable to buy a bracket for the RAZR though, but at £100.01 I'm not that bothered!

    Thanks everyone for your help.

    Col
    #12

Share This Page