1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi Dash Question....

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by orb, Nov 30, 2009.

  1. orb
    Offline

    orb Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello folks.

    As some of you may have read from one of my previous threads, I have a problem with the Digital Display on the dash of my 1999 A4 SE. (the screen is all pixelated and has lines all over it)

    I want to remedy this, but in as cost effective method I can. A friend of mine works at a breakers of high end cars and has a few A4 clocks on the shelf.

    I know I can fit them, but:

    - Will it work?
    - Can I st it to display the correct miles?

    Any info or help you can offer would be greatfuly received.

    Thanks

    ORB
    #1
  2. shark_90
    Offline

    shark_90 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    1
    You can't just swap them as the immobiliser is inside the cluster. They need reprogramming with specialist tools and the mileage will also need to be corrected
    with similar tools.
    #2
  3. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,529
    Likes Received:
    301
    you can pick up vagtacho from ebay for not much money which will allow you to pull the respective codes from your cluster and allow you to code in the replacement one.

    Its worth ensuring the old and new clusters are from the same generation of immo though.
    #3
  4. twostrokepower
    Offline

    twostrokepower Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    i say leave it to a specialist as i tryed this and it ended up costing me £700 as had to tow car to audi and get new clocks and have them coded to car
    #4
  5. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,529
    Likes Received:
    301
    You obviously did it wrong then :p

    immo3 is more tricky though, which is probably what your car will have had.
    #5
  6. Intense
    Offline

    Intense New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also, from my research, it's a relativly common problem, so test the replacement first!

    Dan
    #6
  7. Kingfisher
    Offline

    Kingfisher Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    1
    A 1999 car could be an original or facelift model and there was a changeover period as the factory used up existing stocks so you ca n find a bit of a mix and match!

    I recently got ours done for £160, while I waited ( less than 1.5 hours) but it was in Great Yarmouth ( was in the area on holiday !! ) .... not exactly the centre of the universe ... however the company is also in north London ( and I believe Norwich).
    They do a number of different car makes.
    They do do mail order, but you would be without the car for a few days if that's likely to be a real problem.

    It was a brilliant job, completely new display, that matches and with new cables and connectors to eliminate part of the original problem.
    I also have a five year guarantee...........

    Cluster repairs UK
    01493 300716
    www.clusterrepairs.co.uk

    0208 986 4100 Edmonton N18 3HT


    no connection other than a satisfied customer.
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2009
    #7
  8. moschino
    Offline

    moschino Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    I remember seeing a post on here a few years ago where someone detailed how to fix the DIS.
    All it was down to was Dry Joints.
    Costs nothing but a few hours of work if you know what you are doing with a soldering iron.
    #8
  9. Kingfisher
    Offline

    Kingfisher Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    1
    depends if it has missing pixels or a damaged LCD, mine had both... (mine ? .... it's hers !! but I get to fix things and fill it up with fuel !!! )

    Info was on a A3, it did look simple enough to do.
    #9
  10. moschino
    Offline

    moschino Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    #10
  11. rasA4
    Offline

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    that link dont look right this is the one http://www.clusterrepairsuk.co.uk/

    looks interesting not a million miles away from me
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2009
    #11
  12. orb
    Offline

    orb Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm, so, is the common thing to fail the LCD or just the connecting ribbon? The guide seems to show that you just put a bit more pressure on the connections and all is well. But others tell me you have to replace the whole LCD display.

    I am a bit confused.

    Oh, I am think that my car is a facelift, it has the later headlights at least. Are there any other give away factors?


    Sorry for all the questions, but I like to learn and do stuff myself if possible.
    #12
  13. rasA4
    Offline

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    loads of differences, do you have any pics of car ad?

    some more info here on facelifts about 2000 differences apparently

    #13
  14. orb
    Offline

    orb Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup, mine is the later one. I dont think it has the ESP though, but it is auto, so it may not??
    #14
  15. Kingfisher
    Offline

    Kingfisher Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    1
    there were 1999 facelift models ( often seem to be refered to as 1999.5 ..... they were manufactured May 1999 onwards --- ours was one of these as it was ordered as soon as the model was announced in April and delivered in July).
    These were not drive by wire, they had a throttle cable.
    Ours most certainly does not have ESP.
    Also has an analogue clock .

    2000 models had dbw, digital clock, and various other bits.
    I have also found out recently that the 180 bhp 2000 models, basically the quattros, got a KO3s turbo.



    as an aside:
    My 2000 model A3 T Sport ( very end of December, curved door handles) should have had dbw but actually had a throttle cable.... but a digital clock...vagaries of production ?
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2009
    #15
  16. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,529
    Likes Received:
    301
    kingfisher: the 180hp DBC cars just got a standard K03.

    Its the 2000> DBW cars that got the K03-029 known as the "K03S"
    #16
  17. orb
    Offline

    orb Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine is a September 1999 A4 and I have never looked to see if it is DBW or not, but it feels like it on the throttle pedal. I have a Digi clock and I cant find an ESP switch.
    #17
  18. Kingfisher
    Offline

    Kingfisher Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    1
    Throttle cable is easy to see under the hood, on top of the intake assembly towards the driver's side ( iirc ).
    Umm, difficult to tell by registration date when it's September as they could be 'old' 99 models or 'new' 2000.....but then see my previous aside about my December 1999 , 2000model, A3 T Sport, digital clock but throttle cable .
    #18
  19. orb
    Offline

    orb Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm, my car is a V6 so i would have to pull off the plastic cover. I cant be bothered!!
    #19
  20. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,529
    Likes Received:
    301
    if its a 30v its DBW
    #20
  21. orb
    Offline

    orb Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup, she is a 30 Valve


    To go back on topic, what does 'Dry Joints' mean in leymans terms?

    I have a man (micro electronics engineer) who said he could replace the screen easy enough if I gave him the new screen and stripped down the cluster.

    If 'dry joints' is what I think it means (dead solder?) then is this something he can do?

    Does that make sense?
    #21
  22. low610
    Offline

    low610 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    My car had this display problem for about 5 years. I would fade badly when it was warm. This year, it's gone completely.

    Has anyone else had this problem.?

    Beginning to miss it now... even though it was barely readable. :)
    #22
  23. Kingfisher
    Offline

    Kingfisher Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    1
    I would say that there are thousands if not tens of thousands of owners with the same problem - not just Audi either!

    Orb, if you have a man like that then you have little to loose , let him have a look.
    #23
  24. rasA4
    Offline

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    you will know if yours has an ESP as its next the fog switches and in place of the blanking in the centre console. IIRC ESP standard on S4 between late 2000 - 2001
    #24
  25. orb
    Offline

    orb Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine is not an S4, and there is NO esp button, but then mine is late 1999. It is a 2.4 V6 30v Tip SE Avant.
    #25
  26. rasA4
    Offline

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    ahh same engine and box as mine
    #26
  27. diffas
    Offline

    diffas Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    17
    Hi! I'm new on this board. So don't shoot me down. ;)

    I was clickin around German ebay so I ordered unintentionally (didn't know what I was clicking) to myself new FIS tachometer "8D0920930".
    So is it even possible to replace my old one "8D0920900" with the new one I ordered. Both are facelifters and from 2.5v6TDi. I think I need atleast
    multifunction wheel or new multifuntion wiperlever. Right? What else I need to know about swaping those?
    #27
  28. calvin
    Offline

    calvin parked up

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Whilst your car may not be an S4, have a squizz through this thread:
    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/showthread.php?85686-Replacing-and-re-coding-dash-clocks-in-S4

    If you are looking to simply replace the DIS screen, then I think you can - I had mine to pieces and its relatively straightforward to replace a like-for-like component (if the replacement already works!).
    Alternatively, I would also highly recommend ClusterRepairs - give em a ring, they repair DIS from £70 all in.

    Or, follow the thread above, and see that you'll need VAGTacho, VAGCOM and a cable to get the codes off and recode the new clocks into your car.
    #28
  29. olds_kool
    Offline

    olds_kool Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    4
    are you trying to replace a cluster without dis screen?
    #29
  30. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,529
    Likes Received:
    301
    #30
  31. diffas
    Offline

    diffas Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    17
    I want to replace the whole thing. I wanna see oil temp and the voltage + consumption.
    #31

Share This Page