1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi Connect SIM card choices.

Discussion in 'New A3/S3 (8V Chassis)' started by Leeber, Nov 5, 2013.

  1. DescendDescend
    Online

    DescendDescend Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Jul 24, 2014]
    [/QUOTE]

    I remain to be convinced that 3 shops know what they are doing. On this link if you click on 'Price Plan Details it is specific about tethering:

    Pay as You Go 321 - Price Plans – Three

    'Pay As You Go plans do not allow tethering. If you would like to tether, you will need to choose a Pay Monthly plan and / or an Add-On that does allow tethering.'

    Then again they did sell me a micro sim when I wanted a mini sim.
    phil1824 likes this.
  2. glospete
    Offline

    glospete Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    122
    [Jul 24, 2014]
    Because I'm collecting my car on 4 August I'm now studying re the best data plan to use. Because so many people recommend the Three packages I phoned them this afternoon and the guy was adamant that I cannot use the 321 scheme - "it's for phones only". He said that the only options available to me (on PAYG) are:

    * Pre-loaded with 1GB and valid up to 30 days. Topped up and ready to go. £10.49 upfront cost.
    * Pre-loaded with 3GB and valid up to 3 months. Topped up and ready to go. £20.49 upfront cost.
    * Pre-loaded with 12GB and valid up to 12 months. Topped up and ready to go. £70.49 upfront cost.

    There is, of course, no problem with tethering. They really are a bunch of ***** as everyone at Three seems to give different story.
    I think I'll go 3GB and then I can see how much I use etc. Does this make sense?
    phil1824 likes this.
  3. Vertigo1
    Offline

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,726
    Likes Received:
    257
    [Jul 24, 2014]
    Providing they work, the EE SIMs I mentioned earlier in the thread are far cheaper.
  4. robo1million
    Offline

    robo1million Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    56
    [Jul 24, 2014]
    See the above... Cheapest out there IMO....

    And cemerson I know signal was **** for you blah blah blah but it's been very good for me, never had a single problem and £20 for 6 months is not to be grumbled at....
  5. phil1824
    Offline

    phil1824 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Jul 24, 2014]
    I agree with you. They do appear to be all over the place. I think they had a problem with people abusing all you can eat data tethering plans and the earlier ok to tether plans which were slowing their network down. It is almost as if they overreacted and are then losing out, and are then rowing back..
    As of now, my 3 2 1 PAYG top up sim works well and I can tether, all could change tomorrow




    I remain to be convinced that 3 shops know what they are doing. On this link if you click on 'Price Plan Details it is specific about tethering:

    Pay as You Go 321 - Price Plans – Three

    'Pay As You Go plans do not allow tethering. If you would like to tether, you will need to choose a Pay Monthly plan and / or an Add-On that does allow tethering.'

    Then again they did sell me a micro sim when I wanted a mini sim.[/QUOTE]
  6. The Challinor
    Offline

    The Challinor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,778
    Likes Received:
    245
    [Jul 25, 2014]
    Yer according to their support teams on twitter the sim will work fine, again conflicting stories. The 321 plan should work in any device that can take a sim ( 3G compatible )
  7. Martinbanshee
    Offline

    Martinbanshee Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Jul 25, 2014]
    As far as I'm aware, any package on Three that's got capped data can be tethered, the new unlimited packages can't be tethered. If you're still on an unlimited package from before March then you can still tether on unlimited until your contract runs out.

    There's 2 different price guides and that make it even more confusing.
    phil1824 likes this.
  8. phil1824
    Offline

    phil1824 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Aug 1, 2014]
    This thread is very useful. I am in Gemany and bought Vodafone sim
    I have three bars on the signal and something is happening but audi connect is not working
    I put in the sim code as requested
    Audi connect initialises
    The list if services is being updated
    But maps or any service does not work
    APN is web.vodafone.de
    That appeared automatically
    Online usage meter says 956 kb sent
    681 kb received
    Connection status is very good
    Any help appreciated
  9. phil1824
    Offline

    phil1824 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Aug 1, 2014]
    The 321 package worked via data roaming in france but contrary to what they stated the cost was mega
    (You don't sent to know!!)
    Similar issue with data going back and forwards as above with 321 sim but no services
    However the sun is shining and the car is marvellous!!
  10. WetFishDB
    Offline

    WetFishDB Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Aug 1, 2014]
    This sounds the same as my earlier post. You'll probably need to call up to check the following:

    - no pre-activation blocks still in place
    - APN settings are correct
    - any other random excuse they may give you is resolved ;)
  11. phil1824
    Offline

    phil1824 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Aug 1, 2014]
    Many thanks. Just got back to phone after wrestling with ikea construction
    Will pop into Vodafone shop in Nuremberg and try out my German!!
  12. phil1824
    Offline

    phil1824 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Aug 1, 2014]
    Thanks for advice. All sorted. This is bleeding edge stuff
    In time all will be easy
    Sim MUST be inserted into web browser capable kit such as dongle plus computer or tablet
    Can then activate. It was more complicated than that
    Vodafone phone numbers on their publicity did not work
    Needed to buy adapter for 4 euro which is free in UK to enable now micro sim to fit into car
    However it is sunny in Nürnberg and I got the IKEA bed to fit together and I have a parking place so all is good with the world
  13. Palacemads3
    Offline

    Palacemads3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    34
    [Sep 18, 2014 at 4:33 PM]
    Quick question, I purchased a pre loaded data card from EE, that has now run out. Is it best to just top it up or go buy another one? Will the connect work with a paid limit rather than a data limit on it?
  14. WetFishDB
    Offline

    WetFishDB Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Sep 18, 2014 at 4:35 PM]
    I understand it's normally cheaper to buy a new one that to get it topped up.

Share This Page