1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi Connect SIM card choices.

Discussion in 'New A3/S3 (8V Chassis)' started by Leeber, Nov 5, 2013.

  1. pat15312
    Offline

    pat15312 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    125
    [Jan 25, 2014]
    Delete
    #81
  2. robo1million
    Offline

    robo1million Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    56
    [Jan 25, 2014]
    ?
    #82
  3. Leeber
    Offline

    Leeber Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    96
    [Jan 26, 2014]
    I've got a phone/data ovivo sim in my iPad at the mo all activated and ready to go for when my car arrives. I've used it a couple of times while at work but out of wifi range. So far I'm pretty impressed by it.
    #83
  4. VeeDubDan
    Offline

    VeeDubDan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    67
    [Jan 28, 2014]
    Has anyone used a EE sim, if so which? Based on coverage maps alone they appear to be the best choice for Aberdeenshire.
    #84
  5. Toadoftoadhall
    Offline

    Toadoftoadhall Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    80
    [Feb 23, 2014]
    With collection of my new car with Connect just a week away :icon_thumright: can anyone update on data usage when they have been using the google earth sat nav etc a lot? I want to get my sim ordered in time to use straight away. I want the 3 network as I feel that will give me the best coverage in my area.
    #85
  6. CraigI
    Offline

    CraigI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    322
    [Feb 23, 2014]
    My wife's Q5 has connect.
    What's the point of it?

    We have Audi Sat Nav that we'll use every now and again if we are away somewhere on a driving holiday.
    She uses Bluetooth for her calls.
    #86
  7. Itguy
    Offline

    Itguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    431
    [Feb 23, 2014]
    I've bought a Three PAYG sim for it on the 3,2,1 plan. It's a penny per mb and because it's PAYG with no expiry on top ups I can monitor how much it's costing. Should be fairly cheap and Three have been starting their 4G switch on too.
    #87
  8. robo1million
    Offline

    robo1million Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    56
    [Feb 23, 2014]
    I've taken a chance with OVIVO. Worst case scenario is it don't work very well and I've only spent £20 and can simply put it in a spare phone/tablet...

    We shall soon see in 6 days....!
    #88
  9. CraigI
    Offline

    CraigI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    322
    [Feb 23, 2014]
    What are you using the SIM to access?
    Do you already have Sat Nav?
    #89
  10. cemerson
    Online

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,432
    Likes Received:
    703
    [Feb 23, 2014]
    I think you are getting sat nav and connect mixed up!
    #90
  11. CraigI
    Offline

    CraigI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    322
    [Feb 23, 2014]
    Why do you think I am mixing them up?
    Just trying to find out what applications people are using connect for.
    Some mention downloading google maps which I can't see I'd need in the wife's car as it has nav.

    What do you use connect for?
    #91
  12. cemerson
    Online

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,432
    Likes Received:
    703
    [Feb 23, 2014]
    All sorts - finding parking, finding fuel, real time traffic display, google earth imagery on the sat nav, dictating text messages are the main ones. You can get a rain radar on the weather bit which is pretty nice too!
    #92
  13. CraigI
    Offline

    CraigI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    322
    [Feb 23, 2014]
    Thanks.
    Don't think we'll need any of that.
    Didn't even know the car had Connect until today when I was copying music to the Jukebox and spotted it.
    #93
  14. Toadoftoadhall
    Offline

    Toadoftoadhall Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    80
    [Feb 23, 2014]
    Interesting and that plan allows tethering?
    #94
  15. Itguy
    Offline

    Itguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    431
    [Feb 23, 2014]
    No, but ......
    #95
  16. Toadoftoadhall
    Offline

    Toadoftoadhall Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    80
    [Feb 23, 2014]
    But.........?

    can you add on the tethering? :)
    #96
  17. royalsteve68
    Offline

    royalsteve68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    136
    [Feb 24, 2014]
    I work freelance in telecoms and have been in telecoms for over 14 years

    I will be getting a three sim as overall they have by far the best value network for data...providing you can get coverage. EEs 4g network is only a little bit quicker than threes 3g network but they charge alot for 4g data and their 3g network is not a patch on three's. Threes 4g network launch is different to the other network operators as they wont charge customers for 4g

    I'm already on three, Vodafone, o2 and vmedia who use the EE network

    The fact that three wont charge for 4g is a big sell. Your car has been setup for 4g as well but I guess depends on data use

    Did some tests

    Three up 20mbps
    O2 up to 6mpbs
    Virginia up to 5mbps
    Vodafone up to 80kbps at home and rarely over 300kbps

    Vodafone is shocking especially as they are part way through building a site share with o2
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2014
    #97
  18. royalsteve68
    Offline

    royalsteve68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    136
    [Feb 24, 2014]
    I hate the editor window on this site..too small for tablets
    #98
  19. royalsteve68
    Offline

    royalsteve68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    136
    [Feb 24, 2014]
    Good way of monitoring lol.
    #99
  20. royalsteve68
    Offline

    royalsteve68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    136
    [Feb 24, 2014]
    Dictating text messages sounds cool.. is it speech to text and send or does it call someone who types it for you
  21. Itguy
    Offline

    Itguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    431
    [Feb 24, 2014]
    While three are sneaking the switch on of their 4g, I found myself with a 4/5 bar signal of it in Leicester the other day, did a speed test and got 55mb!! I have a screenshot of it - never ever seen a mobile speed test that fast before. iPhone 5s btw.
  22. cemerson
    Online

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,432
    Likes Received:
    703
    [Feb 24, 2014]
    All speech to text
  23. Itguy
    Offline

    Itguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    431
    [Feb 24, 2014]
    OK

    Spent a few hours playing with my new car today when I went over to sign the paperwork.

    I can confirm that a Three PAYG sim works perfectly (as we knew) and also gives 4G. Where the garage was in Derby gave a 4/5 signal on 4G and google maps were like lightning - as was street view, petrol prices etc etc. Just for interest, my iPhone 5S gave 32mb speedtest on Three in their carpark.

    I can also confirm that the Ovivo Sim DOES NOT work - it will connect to a data profile (ie you get a 3G signal on the bottom right hand corner) but it won't process data. No error message or anything, just it won't work. I can only assume this is because it doesn't flow data until you've viewed a HTML page with adverts on (as it does when you have a tablet). Pity, could have been a perfect solution.

    Pic of 4G!

    [​IMG]
    Gazzz likes this.
  24. Gazzz
    Offline

    Gazzz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Feb 24, 2014]
    Thanks for trying that out - very useful! Was this a 321 sim? I dont suppose you tried using the on-board WLAN? I'm curious to know whether the tethering side of things work (although that's less important to me than the data itself)
  25. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,516
    Likes Received:
    572
    [Feb 24, 2014]
    Sounds like you've had a great day. Shame you couldn't just it home with you. Still Saturday is no long now :)
  26. Itguy
    Offline

    Itguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    431
    [Feb 24, 2014]
    :)

    Yes I have had a great day - it's always nice going to garages during the week when the obvious sales pressure is off and you can just relax and have a decent conversation with the staff.

    Derby have limited their new car collections to 30 on the 1st March, with loads in the following few days. They are also delivering cars to people at home during this week on trade plates so people can have them in their own garage ready for 12 midnight (hmmm....... there's a thought..)

    I didn't think to try the WLAN but to be honest, I suspect it will work fine, just don't abuse it otherwise Three with probably throttle/cut off the sim. Yes it was a 321 sim that I'd put a tenner on.

    I also saw that it caches the maps too which is cool - I took the sim out and it still continued to show the google maps it had - just gave a warning on the screen saying that they will only be updated when a sim is inserted etc.

    Didn't think to look at the data counter unfortunately - I might see if I can log into my3 later on and see if it has registered any data usage - probably not as I was only playing for 30 mins with connect.

    I also have high hopes for the reception antenna for the connect/sim system in the car as my iphone only showed 2/5 bars when in the car and the had 4/5 as shown. (please let's not let this get into the iphone vs android debate again - I'm sure a galaxy would have been the same).
  27. Itguy
    Offline

    Itguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    431
    [Feb 24, 2014]
    Have now logged in to My3 and it doesn't even show any usage - and it says it's counters are correct up to 17:19 on 24th Feb (ie now) so it must have used less than 1mb of data doing what I was doing.

    How economical!
  28. marshalld
    Offline

    marshalld aka dazzler

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Feb 24, 2014]
    Interestingly enough - I don't think 4G on the display means you're getting 4G.

    I've got a three SIM (3GB pre-loaded one) in my car and noticed yesterday that my signal display was showing 'LTE'.
    Never noticed that before so broke out the MMI handbook.

    It says this for the connect signal display (page 12, symbol 15):
    Network Coverage of the active data connection => page 51
    2G: GSM network
    3G: UMTS network
    4G: HSPA+ network
    LTE: LTE network

    The 4G on the display has had me fooled before - looks like you need to have 'LTE' displayed for true 4G!
  29. Gazzz
    Offline

    Gazzz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Feb 24, 2014]
    Oh, so they've gone for the american definition of 4G - that's disappointing!!
  30. Gazzz
    Offline

    Gazzz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Feb 24, 2014]
    Just trying to think whether there's a way of finding out which type of network it's connected to, beyond a tethered speedtest. I wonder if there's an enginerering type mode that will tell how it's connected to the mobile network? Or something VCDS can read?
  31. Itguy
    Offline

    Itguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    431
    [Feb 24, 2014]
    Ha! Brilliant - well that was me fooled then!!

    HSPA+ is really quite rapid anyway so that's not too bad, however LTE was available where I was so will just have to watch out for "LTE" to come up on the screen then as I drive out next weekend - if it does.

    Thanks for the info
  32. Itguy
    Offline

    Itguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    431
    [Feb 24, 2014]
    Ref speed testing - do we know what type of WLAN it propagates? I'm assuming it will be an "N" network, because if it's a "B" then we won't be seeing any more than 11mb!!
  33. Itguy
    Offline

    Itguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    431
    [Feb 24, 2014]
  34. Gazzz
    Offline

    Gazzz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Feb 24, 2014]
    It might be that your PAYG sim hasn't been enabled for 4G yet - I believe it's a process that they're currently working through, finishing around mid-march.

    Alternatively, this may bring us back to the question of which frequencies are supported. Maybe 1800MHz (which is what 3 are currently using for 4G) isn't supported.

    So many unknowns!!
  35. Gazzz
    Offline

    Gazzz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Feb 24, 2014]
    11Mbs is a theoretical maximum... 2Mbs is more likely on 802.11B. I would imagine these days it's at least 802.11G (54Mbs theoretical), but quite possibly 802.11N
  36. royalsteve68
    Offline

    royalsteve68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    136
    [Feb 24, 2014]
    I was offered that with delivery on Friday but I preferred collecting on Saturday. I was a bit worried in case something happened on the Friday when its not insured whilst it sits on my driveway. Mines first on Saturday.
  37. cemerson
    Online

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,432
    Likes Received:
    703
    [Feb 24, 2014]
    I use very little on mine, it's quite efficient. Probably less than 1GB in 6 months. Though I normally have traffic view on the maps rather than google earth, I haven't yet seen any traffic info show on the google earth view so I'm not sure if it does show in that view or not - does anyone know for sure? The traffic info is more useful to me!
  38. robo1million
    Offline

    robo1million Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    56
    [Feb 24, 2014]
    Had you registered the OVIVO sim on another device first?

    Just a thought.... but what a bugger otherwise!!!
  39. robo1million
    Offline

    robo1million Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    56
    [Feb 24, 2014]
    Just registered the sim now on my phone and it is working fine on that..... And that is without having gone through any ad pages first....?? Although did have to manually create the APN... I guess you have to be able to do this in the car surely...? If so I think it will work?? Fingers crossed hey ;-)
  40. Itguy
    Offline

    Itguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    431
    [Feb 24, 2014]
    Yes I'd previously used it on an iPad and if you keep using it on the iPad it will periodically redirect you to an advert page and won't allow you to do anything else until you click something on it if I remember rightly.

    Yes you can edit the APN and connection details on the MMI, I didn't check these with the ovivo sim but did notice it had set the three ones automatically and when I put the ovivo sim in my iPad i didn't enter any APN details and it worked fine.

Share This Page