1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi Connect SIM card choices.

Discussion in 'New A3/S3 (8V Chassis)' started by Leeber, Nov 5, 2013.

  1. Leeber

    Leeber Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    97
    that was indeed my plan unless someone else beats me to it.
     
  2. Itguy

    Itguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    447
    Sim ordered, we'll see how it works
     
  3. PilotAudi

    PilotAudi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,352
    Likes Received:
    478
    Thought about going for this when we upgraded to the Tech Pack BUT as we travel to Europe a lot understand dear old Vodafone would charge an arm and a leg for this service. The option being buy local Sims which I cannot be bothered with. Anyone found a cheep solution for Euro travellers?.
     
  4. Toadoftoadhall

    Toadoftoadhall Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    80
    Don't forget that the sim card used can still be used for phone calls. Pg 61 of the October brochure makes this clear. So if you didnt connect your "normal phone" via bluetooth you could make calls and receive calls via the car sim. I know this would be a different phone number but surely if the sim was used for some calls - even just occasionally - they could not say you are tethering (if thats the correct term).

    Also the same page gives clear warnings about data usage and recommends unlimited/high usage bundles. Surely if you have the google earth/google streetview satnav on while while driving around it must be constantly downloading the imagery.
     
  5. cuke2u

    cuke2u Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    2,633
    Likes Received:
    556
    The sims might work for a while but I think they will know though what device the card is being used in. I suspect then the card will be cancelled for abuse of its terms and conditions...
     
  6. Itguy

    Itguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    447
    Three is best for euro data if you are going to countries with their own local 3 network as it's included in your standard bundle!
     
  7. royalsteve68

    royalsteve68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    158
    Vodafone has a euro traveller add on for £3/ day extra and that allows you to use your tariff abroad - check their site which countries but it covers most euro countries, just be aware that when you do this you auto opt of the euro data charge limit which means you can be charged >£40 for data

    Ive found Vodafone are rubbish for data though, 3 are better if you can get a signal

    Three allow you to use your tariff in selected networks in Europe eg Austria, but be aware that if you are near a border your mobile device may roam onto a network in a country not covered by this offer - 3 are sorting this issue though

    I have contracts on 3, o2, virginmedia and Vodafone

    nb. I work freelance in it/telecoms
     
  8. PilotAudi

    PilotAudi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,352
    Likes Received:
    478
    I have no intention of paying Vodafone £3 a day. We are in Europe circa 100 days a year mainly personal and use local wifi or as now I am using an SFR sim in my iPad which cost me 9 Euros a month!
    It is about time mobile operators stopped cheating us in the uk!,,
     
  9. royalsteve68

    royalsteve68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    158
    obviously, the euro traveller isn't designed for people like you. just get a local operator sim.

    it costs billions to build and millions a day to run a mobile network. people forget that. tariff pricing should be simpler though and agreed its about time the operators joined forces to simplifying charging across euro borders.
     
  10. royalsteve68

    royalsteve68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    158
    laughably the sfr network was built by Vodafone. you can get cheap sim only deals in the uk if you look

    - try www.hotukdeals.com, moneysavingexperts (though 99% of their deals come from hotukdeals not that c4 annoying Muppet's site to which he annoyingly likes to take the credit for all deals even those found by others like me), Best Mobile Phone Deals | Cheap Contract Phones & Free Gifts or other mobile phone sales portal/deal site
     
  11. PilotAudi

    PilotAudi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,352
    Likes Received:
    478
    Maybe but what a faff swapping sims for a Nav system , will it actually work without a visit to French or German Audi dealer?.. Too many questions, no answers from Audi Vodafone or SFR!
     
  12. cemerson

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    846
    Got my pre-loaded 3 SIM today to try out in the car. It mentions you can top it up once it has expired but I can't find the price for this anywhere! I registered online to try and find out but they've sent my password in a text message to the SIM... so going to have to stick it in something to find out anyway!
     
  13. cemerson

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    846
    Haha, I can have 1GB extra topup for £10 per month... or just buy a new 1GB pre-loaded SIM for a fiver! What a rubbish deal! Guess I'll just keep buying the pre-loaded SIMs then
     
  14. Itguy

    Itguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    447
    I've now got my ovivo sim through and it seems to work a treat in my smartphone, haven't had an advert yet!

    Cemerson - have popped you a mail
     
  15. robo1million

    robo1million Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    56
    Have you got your car yet, Itguy? Had a chance to put the sim in?
     
  16. Silky-S3

    Silky-S3 Is loving his new 8V S3!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,399
    Likes Received:
    318
    Im using a Three unlimited plan (with 4G) works great!
     
  17. robo1million

    robo1million Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    56
    I'm hoping that the OVIVO works as it's then free (apart from £20 for the SIM card)
     
  18. Scott

    Scott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,282
    Likes Received:
    119
  19. Scott

    Scott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,282
    Likes Received:
    119
    I think this will be the best choice
    Pay as You Go 321 - Price Plans – Three
    1p per mb, if you look at most contracts, they are more expensive than this e.g. over £5/month for 500mb
    and with this, if you don't use the full whack, you don't get charged for it!
     
  20. cemerson

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    846
    I currently have his SIM card, but it's a micro SIM and the car takes a mini SIM, I haven't found a way to use it yet and try it out. I taped the sim card in to an adapter, but that makes it too wide to go in the slot - and I have a feeling that it'll be the same if I used glue (as it is slightly thicker than a SIM card with the adapter). I can't think of a way of testing it without a frame that goes around it that I can glue the micro SIM back into, though there is the risk of that falling apart too.

    Itguy - I should send the SIM back to you, as I don't think there's anything I can do with it to test it unfortunately. Do you want to PM me an address to post it back to?
     
  21. cemerson

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    846
    I'm having a lot of success with the pre-paid pre-loaded 3 SIM that I'm using at the moment, much much more reliable service/coverage than the t-mobile one I had in before. The PAYG 3 one looks like it could be a good solution as well - it doesn't use much data really so probably worth it rather than a pre-loaded one which has a time limit. I may try that one next.
     
  22. robo1million

    robo1million Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    56
    I'm sure that you can request normal sim size from OVIVO? What adapters are you using...? I have some from amazon that I have never used, think they cost a quid...?
     
  23. robo1million

    robo1million Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    56
    Just had a look... You can get standard, micro or nano...

    Are you saying that it needs micro not nano?
     
  24. cemerson

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    846
    No, as I said it takes mini SIM, NOT micro and NOT nano. I'd advise people to be careful with it as well as it looks like using adapters will be tricky!
     
  25. cemerson

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    846
  26. robo1million

    robo1million Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    56
    So mini sim equates to a normal sim that any old brick of a phone would accept. Not a problem, that size is available...
     
  27. cemerson

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    846
    what you'd call 'normal' at this point in time yes, very old brick phones took the credit card sized ones though!
     
  28. robo1million

    robo1million Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    56
    I don't think anyone worrying about turning their car into a 4G router will be using a credit card sized sim anymore... I hope!!
     
    #68 robo1million, Jan 6, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2014
    Foshiznik likes this.
  29. cemerson

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    846
    no, but that's still what a full sized SIM is! The one people usually call 'standard' size is actually the mini-SIM, and is what you need for the A3 (assuming the 4G version is the same, which I don't know for sure).
     
  30. robo1million

    robo1million Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    56
    Ok...but the question still stands about the OVIVO simcard's comparability?

    Anyone bought one and want to PM me their phone number so that I can do the refer a friend thing and get you £5 credit...?
     
  31. bleedsoff

    bleedsoff Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    60
    So I got one of these PAYG 3 sim's, where its 1p mb. Put it into the sim card slot and try Audi connect in the car. Seems to to a loading thing then says every time tho service in unavailable. I check the data usage on the menu options and it has used some data and I can use Google Earth on the sat nag (I assume this uses data). Am I doing something wrong?

    Oh and I used a standard sim, have no idea where you lot are getting nano and micro sims from.
     
  32. cemerson

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    846
    Scott and robo1million like this.
  33. Scott

    Scott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,282
    Likes Received:
    119

    That is very strange re Audi Connect. Just a thought, are you sure you have good 3G signal where you're trying to use it? The satellite imagery might be cached, but obviously Audi Connect needs a real time connection in order for it to work. My 3 PAYG sim works absolutely fine with it. I love this sim/deal. The best bit is, you get 150mb free when you top up £10 and I'm still using that. I have done 450 miles (approx) and it's used about 75mb of my free allowance. If I had paid for it, then it would have cost me 75p. Not bad.
     
    bleedsoff likes this.
  34. Scott

    Scott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,282
    Likes Received:
    119
    JohnM100 likes this.
  35. bleedsoff

    bleedsoff Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    60
    I def have 3g signal cause it says on the screen. I have also occasionally seen 4g come up to. Just wandering should i put the sim into a phone before putting into the car?
     
  36. Itguy

    Itguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    447
    Possibly, I wonder if it needs activating or something? If you've got an older galaxy or iPhone 3GS or something you could try it in that first.
     
    bleedsoff likes this.
  37. Scott

    Scott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,282
    Likes Received:
    119
    I was going to suggest trying the sim in a phone before I read that Google Earth works ok, so the sim card must be working. Hmmm.
     
  38. bleedsoff

    bleedsoff Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    60
    Drove to work today, still had no luck!

    I have the icon on the screen and it has arrows on the top of where it says 3g. I assume something is going on. I also checked the data usage and it says 5mb downloaded and minimal uploaded. Really am stumped what is going on! Haven't had a chance to try the sim in a phone as I don't have a phone which takes the size sim :eek:!
     
  39. VeeDubDan

    VeeDubDan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    69
    Is it easy enough to see data used and credit remaining (assuming payg) from the car menus?
     
  40. bleedsoff

    bleedsoff Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    60
    Yea was going to check the credit remaining but to do that online need a verification code that was texted lol!
     

Share This Page