1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi Concert to Alpine 9853R?

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by jbw, Jan 7, 2006.

  1. jbw

    jbw Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm so close to finishing my install and I've hit a snag with fitting an Alpine 9853 in my '99 A3.
    I'm unsure about the power iso and the aerial connections.
    This is what I've got on the audi wiring:
    [​IMG]
    And this is the explanation from the top of the concert:
    [​IMG]
    This is the alpine power iso layout:
    [​IMG]
    Am I safe to just plug the power iso in? Perhaps I need to swap the battery and ignition leads around? Also what do I do with the blue power antenna lead?

    Can someone tell me, in the following pic, what the wire with the brown connector is for as I don't seem to have anything on the alpine stereo for this to connect to.
    [​IMG]

    Any help is most appreciated.
    Many thanks,
    jbw
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,966
    Likes Received:
    381
    I have answered on TA if that helps mate
     
  4. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    37
    You'll need to swap over the perm live & ignition live as Audi wire them the wrong way round.
    Hopefully you've got the antenna amp so the power antenna lead needs to connect to the antenna amp to power it.
    The brown lead on the aerial just connects to the HU chassis.
    You can just plug the power ISO in and it'll all work but you'll lose all your pre-sets when you turn off the ignition.
     
  5. jbw

    jbw Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys,
    Thanks for the support with this. Can I just confirm that the following will make the correct connections?
    Before the Alpine power block there are connectors on both the ignition and perm live wires. With these connectors I can swap the ignition and perm live around by plugging Red (ignition) to Yellow (battery) and vice versa. Will doing this give me both perm live and ignition live with the audi wiring I've got, allowing the unit to store all pre-sets?

    So the blue (power ant) lead on the alpine iso block will give power to my antenna amp? If this is the case can I happily cut this blue wire and crimp it to the blue wire from my antenna amp?

    ta,
    jbw
     
  6. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    37
    Yes & yes, as long as you've actually got an ignition on feed from the Audi loom, which it looks like you have as there is a pin present in the right slot (S-Kont).
     
  7. jbw

    jbw Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you Andy. You're a true gent. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif
    I'm off to fit my headunit!

    ta,
    jbw
     
  8. The911SC

    The911SC Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    1
    i think you can get an adapter for this. I had an alpine in my old B5 1.8T and recently retrofitted concert to it removing the adapters (XVW owns it now)...
     
  9. jbw

    jbw Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's all installed now. Just incase anyone else runs into the same problem (though I doubt it). I swapped the perm live and ignition live around on the alpine wiring, plugged it in and the power functions the same as the standard unit (turn key to position 1/start car and stereo will have power, remove key and stereo switches off on it's own). It also stores all presets and settings.
    I cut and crimped the aerial power lead and I'm getting clear radio stations too.

    Oh and if anyone is considering getting an AndyMac stealth sub for their a3... do it. The sound quality is leaps and bounds above the rubbish audi provide.

    Now I just need to find the time to fit my new front speakers... /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

    ta,
    jbw
     

Share This Page