1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

audi concert ii diversity aerial

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by steve-, Feb 3, 2013.

  1. steve-
    Offline

    steve- New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 3, 2013]
    Hi Guys ive an 2006 audi a4 b7 with concert ii single din full bose and factory ipod dock i will be removing this and fitting a pioneer avh8400bt once the fascia adaptor comes the issue i have is what kind of aerial adaptor do i need to solve the issues with the diversity aerial ive seen adaptors for the symphony which are dual fakra. but i have not come across anythng for the concert ii which seem to be a standard plug and a fakra plug ill attach a pic of the standard radio showing both sockets white and yellow. anyone have any ides what to do ?

    Attached Files:

    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 19, 2014]

  3. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Feb 3, 2013]
    Just use the ISO lead, you don't need the diversity aerial
    #2
  4. steve-
    Offline

    steve- New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 3, 2013]
    Thanks Andy. So the reception will be just as strong without it ? even with the de-mister? (this used to affect my bmw)
    #3
  5. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Feb 3, 2013]
    You need to ensure the radio can generate phantom power to power the antenna booster, if it cannot then you may need a widget to provide +12v down the antenna wire.
    #4
  6. steve-
    Offline

    steve- New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 4, 2013]
    But wouldn't the yellow fakra have to be connected somehow to The new radio to do this ? What would be a good 12v wire to connect to ? I have seen a phantom double fakra connection for retrofitting the rnse but does any company make something that will work for me ?
    #5
  7. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Feb 4, 2013]
    #6
  8. steve-
    Offline

    steve- New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 4, 2013]
    Thanks Andy i have just ordered one. You seem to know what you are talking about so i have another question, i bought the CTKAU02 fitting kit i have full Bose is the harness plug N play or do some of the pins have to be swapped around ?
    #7
  9. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Feb 4, 2013]
    Are you sure you have a single DIN Concert (thought they were all double DIN quadlock on the B7)
    If you do have a single DIN Concert then not sure why you bought the CTKAU02, as that includes a Quadlock harness and from the image above your system is clearly ISO - all single DIN Audi HU's are ISO
    #8
  10. steve-
    Offline

    steve- New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 4, 2013]
    CTSAD002.jpg CTSAD003.jpg
    yeah im sure its a single din bought a double din frame and climate control in order to fit the double din pioneer.
    Take a look it has both the quadlock and iso harness i bought it as a kit worked out cheaper (this is what i will be using harness with brown rca's) just not sure if it is 100% plug and play ?
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2013
    #9
  11. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Feb 4, 2013]
    Yes it should be. You won't have a switched ignition live though, not sure if that adapter will give you CANBUS emulation so you may need to wire both up to the perm live or wire in a switched live
    #10
  12. steve-
    Offline

    steve- New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 4, 2013]
    Apparently it is compatible with the canbus system it has a little box (far right on the picture) that is supposed to hook up to it so Im hoping this will give ignition live and illumination. Is there anything else the canbus adapter should control ?
    #11
  13. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Feb 5, 2013]
    No just power and steering wheel controls if you have them
    #12
  14. JohnE
    Offline

    JohnE Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Feb 15, 2013]
    The canbus interface I got delivers GALA (speed controlled volume) and illumination as well as ignition and reverse gear outputs
    #13

Share This Page