1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi Concert - Changing or Replacing?

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by fraz, Nov 17, 2005.

  1. fraz

    fraz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Volume control dial has 'gone' on my concert h/unit. So can I link a non-audi headunit eg. sony or similar to the existing audi 6 disc boot changer? if so what parts do i need to aquire pls.

    Lastly if i can not do the above - where might i source a Concert head unit cheap? other than e-bay?

    p.s is there anyway of fixing the dial on my existing head unti which may prove alot cheaper!

    i've got a 98 A4 by the way.

    thx for any help fraz
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    39
    No HU will work with the Audi changer other than Audi
    The fix for the volume problem is gonna be £60-£80
    A cheap Concert will develop the same problem over time.
    Sell the changer on ebay for around £100, and put the money towards a decent DAB/mp3 HU like the Blaupunkt Woodstock and forget the Audi prehistoric technology.
    The Woodstock also uses the exactly the same wiring as the OEM HU so you don't even need any adapters to get the rear speakers working.
     
  4. fraz

    fraz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    thx andy,

    2 further Q's if i may:

    1, where would be the best place to get the volume control fixed

    2, i have found some Concert HU for sale but WITHOUT the code's. Are the codes easy to overide, are they available on the internet?

    THX AGAIN
     
  5. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    39
    There was a thread on here a while back where one guy got his fixed, but can't remember where, the explanation on the problem is here: Concert Volume Problem
    The code can't be overidden, you have to plead with a stealer and be able to prove the unit isn't stolen (which that one obviously is) and then pay £30 for 4 clicks of their mouse.
    The unit could also have the same problem anyway as this isn't an issue that effects some units. It is an inherrent design flaw which will effect every unit given enough useage (IIRC it's something like 10,000 turns of the volume knob)

    It's good money after bad IMO, take it as a sign and get something dramatically better.
    Just a thought, what would the local dealer do if you installed the no code HU then took it in for a service. They disconnect the battery so would presumably have to give you the code FOC?
    Probably not knowing Audi.
     
  6. Nessy

    Nessy VW + Audi mad

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    7
    My local Audi Centre (Sinclair Audi of Bridgend) didn't charge me a penny last week to retrieve the code from my Concert HU.
    I was pretty gob-smacked they didn't try and sting me for £20 (which is what Cardiff Audi had wanted), but they reckoned it wasn't their policy to charge for radio codes......

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif
     
  7. dickys3

    dickys3 Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,955
    Likes Received:
    1
    [ QUOTE ]
    My local Audi Centre (Sinclair Audi of Bridgend) didn't charge me a penny last week to retrieve the code from my Concert HU.
    I was pretty gob-smacked they didn't try and sting me for £20 (which is what Cardiff Audi had wanted), but they reckoned it wasn't their policy to charge for radio codes......

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Cardiff Audi are **** imo!

    We are very lucky to have a dealer as good as sinclairs on our doorstep!
     
  8. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    39
    Yeah I think the main problem is proving the unit isn't stolen, as it won't be the same unit that was supplied with the car, this may even effect their ability to get the code, not sure if it is dependent purely on the serial number of the HU or a tie up with the chassis number.
    Would be worth a call to the stealer to ask them, explain the problem, let them act surprised like they've never heard of this volume problem before, then ask if the code can be retrieved on a secondhand unit from another vehicle.
    As I said this second unit will also develop the same fault (if it hasn't got it already).
     
  9. fraz

    fraz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    current head unit model is 4B0 035 186 B and the one i am looking at replacing it with is 4B0 035 186 C.

    Anyone know the difference between the 'B' and the 'C'? and most importantly will it work with my existing (standard fit) boot changer and speaker set up in my A4 please.

    Lastly how do i remove the CD cable from the rear of the HU? tried pulling (but not to hard in case i broke something - whilst depressing the 3 'clips' on the side of the connection lead)

    thanks again all fraz
     
  10. fraz

    fraz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyone help pls?
     
  11. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    39
    The CD cable is the long mini ISO connector at the top of the HU (some are multicoloured and split into 3, others are a single black connector). It just unclips by depressing the each side clip, probably easier to do it with a small screwdriver.
     
  12. fraz

    fraz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thx andy -its the thick black lead with a 'circular' end connection that i'm having a job removing - i assumed this was the cd chnager cable but obv wrong.

    how do i disconnect this lead please.

    regards

    antony
     
  13. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    39
    Thats the aerial, use a screwdriver to lever it up on the opposite side to the cable. If you try and prise it off with just your hands all you do is lift one side up where the cable comes out at a right angle which then skews it.
     
  14. fraz

    fraz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    many thanks andy
     
  15. I'm currently having the same dilema as fraz, does anyone know if a Concert can be replaced with a Concert-2 (single cd)?
     
  16. S4_dan

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro!
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,285
    Likes Received:
    131
    I had same problem with my concert, so i put it on ebay as faulty and sold it for £65 with code!!

    I then paid £23 for a concert that had NO code with it. took a chance.

    Fitted it and went to audi, said i changed battery and now radio code needs entering...can you help?

    Certainly sir, leave the car with us for an hour and then come back!! (that was their response!)

    Hour later, stereo working and NO CHARGE!!!

    That wasa good deal i think. prob wont work now in the morning!!!!!!!!!!
     
  17. god_thats_quick

    god_thats_quick Numptie of the highest order

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    [ QUOTE ]
    I'm currently having the same dilema as fraz, does anyone know if a Concert can be replaced with a Concert-2 (single cd)?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    You can as far as I know as long as you get one from the same aged audi, the A4 one with silver lines on won't fit but the older ones will. Mainly the newer ones that don't fit on ebay.

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Audi-Concert-II-cd...1QQcmdZViewItem

    The above one should fit I believe - only going one what I've read on internet etc so don't blame me if it doesn't but I think it's a straight swap.
     
  18. mwarrey

    mwarrey Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    It can , but must be from an A6 or TT I believe. (B6 A4 wont fit). There are also issues around the lights not working on non-canbus cars as well as a power down after 1 hour problem. Take a look on the tech on Audiworld, there is info on there. By chance, I was able to compare the size of a concert 1 and TT concert 2 on the weekend at a local specialist and they are the same size. He also had 3 concert 1 units in for repair (all volume faults).

    The concert units are made by both Panasonic and Blaupunkt, he reckoned that the Panasonic versions don't suffer from the volume problem ? Instead the screen fails !. Anyone out there with a Panasonic Concert that can confirm this ?
     

Share This Page