1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi A4 Tiptronic box lumpy running problem, please help !!!

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by moveitnick, Feb 17, 2014.

  1. moveitnick
    Offline

    moveitnick New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 17, 2014]
    I am going to have a vagcom test done on the car this week. I have been having this lumpy acceleration and cruising speed problem when driving, it happens in tiptronic mode too. Someone said to me it could need a gearbox oil and filter change and that could solve the problem. I'm hoping i don't need the rather expensive gearbox sensor part which i think is around £800. Any advice is truly appreciated plus if anyone knows where is best to buy the gearbox sensor ? Many thanks to all.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 18, 2014]

  3. S4_dan
    Online

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,813
    Likes Received:
    84
    [Feb 17, 2014]
    Can you explain more in terms of lumpy acceleration/cruising speed problem?

    Could be an issue with the engine rather than the box or maybe even a mount!

    However, an oil flush and filter change is wise on the auto box as Audi though longlife oil would last the life of the car/gearbox...hence the problems the earlier auto boxes had.
    #2
  4. dualmono21
    Offline

    dualmono21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    61
    [Feb 17, 2014]
    which engine and which gearbox ?
    is it a tiptronic or is it a multitronic ?
    how many miles on the car ?
    #3
  5. moveitnick
    Offline

    moveitnick New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 17, 2014]
    It is the 2.5 V6 diesel engine, multitronic with 114,000 miles on the clock. When it is driving it sometimes drives not smoothly, like when you barely touch the accelerator. Sometimes it drives fine. Many thanks
    #4
  6. p1tse
    Offline

    p1tse Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    24
    [Feb 17, 2014]
    You may want to chane the title
    Multitronic need regular maintaince oil changes
    Do a google search on it
    Try an oil service on it and fingers crossed fixes isues
    #5
  7. moveitnick
    Offline

    moveitnick New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 17, 2014]
    Many thanks for the advice, just seen that the gearbox takes nearly 8 litres of CVT oil ! WOW !
    #6
  8. moveitnick
    Offline

    moveitnick New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 17, 2014]
    CVT oil and filter ordered and being done on wednesday, hope that solves the glitch ! Will post back if it does the trick, thanks for all your advice peeps !
    #7
  9. shorty
    Offline

    shorty New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 18, 2014]
    Do the revs 'bounce' up and down slightly (100- 200rpm) at a constant speed? If so then it could be an issue with your torque converter. Google it and you'll find its seemingly a common problem with the tip auto boxes. I have it with my '04 S4. :-(
    Seems its not a cheap fix either.
    #8
  10. p1tse
    Offline

    p1tse Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    24
    [Feb 18, 2014]
    Tiptronic and cvt are different boxes
    First I've heard of s4 tiptronic issue though, will google
    #9
  11. dualmono21
    Offline

    dualmono21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    61
    [Feb 18, 2014]
    Had this when i first bought my car
    Was nothing whatsoever to do with torque convertor ....
    It was due to too much differance between the rolling radius of the tyres
    Changed tyres and hey presto .... Cured problem nothing to do with torque convertor
    #10
  12. dualmono21
    Offline

    dualmono21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    61
    [Feb 18, 2014]
    Had this when i first bought my car
    Was nothing whatsoever to do with torque convertor ....
    It was due to too much differance between the rolling radius of the tyres
    Changed tyres and hey presto .... Cured problem nothing to do with torque convertor
    #11
  13. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,222
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    [Feb 18, 2014]
    First check for fault codes with VCDS or other.
    That will show up any faulty sensors.
    If there is no fault codes, do the oil and strainer service.That will solve most of the issues.

    I got the simalaure fault with my Auto box and will be putting it in for a oil service when when I get time.
    #12
  14. moveitnick
    Offline

    moveitnick New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 28, 2014]
    I had a problem last year with the autobox where it flashed PRDNS , i had that re-programmed to fix it but it has started again so it looks like i will have to buy the ecu which i think is around £800 !!!!! So if anyone knows of the best place to buy it , i will be very grateful !
    #13

Share This Page