1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi A4 Soft Top problem

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by Evans94, Oct 7, 2012.

  1. Evans94

    Evans94 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there,

    Just bought a A4 3.0 TDI quattro on a 57 plate and the roof would not close earlier today.

    When I tested the car everything worked fine, i bought it private so can't go back.....

    There was no warning signs, and I checked the fuse to be ok. I manually open the roof but found it a struggle to close on my own so put it back in. I tried to close the roof again it worked ok?

    Do you think this could have been a one off and does anyone have any experience with soft tops not closing?

    Thanks and look forward to hearing from you
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Illusion-Paul

    Illusion-Paul Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same thing with mine, same car too.

    It was the soft top position sensor, now works perfectly. Do you have vcds? where are you located?
     
  4. Evans94

    Evans94 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for reply.

    What is VCDS and I live in Gloucester
     
  5. Illusion-Paul

    Illusion-Paul Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    VCDS is the audi/vw diagnostic program that will find all the fault codes.

    From there you can find any issues and parts to fix. I was down in Worcester last weekend and i have VCDS. You just need someone to scan your car to find out.
     
  6. hades-

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    625
    they sometimes go out of sync
    so by opening and closeing with the tool in the dash resets the roof
    i wouldnt worry if its working
     
  7. g12

    g12 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    I doubt it'd be a sensor. Its happened to mine before - would open fine, but then wouldnt close, or would open only to unlock the top and not move any further.

    I fixed this by resetting it via VAGCOM (restore defaults), then to readapt its settings by opening/closing the hood manually 3 times (procedures on the forums somewhere).

    I'd do that before changing any sensors!
     
  8. VagPro

    VagPro Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    31
    Get the codes read using vagcom, if there are no codes after resetting chances are its the brushes in the motor sticking. Ive wrote a guide on how to solve this

    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/audi-s...et-soft-top-roof-hood-motor-repair-guide.html
     
  9. VagPro

    VagPro Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    31
    Hi, this is caused by the brushes in the motor sticking in their carriers and causing arcing with the commutator, this leads to poor contact. I've just posted a link to a guide how to solve this
     
  10. g12

    g12 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers@VagPro

    I read your guide when I had problems with mine (3 months back). I didn't think it was this as my car had only done 15K miles which is why I did what I did and thankfully its been working since.
     
  11. Evans94

    Evans94 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Poentiometer was replaced today. All good.
     

Share This Page