1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi A4 loss of of power, turbo?

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by mattsavage, Nov 4, 2007.

  1. mattsavage
    Offline

    mattsavage New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 4, 2007]
    Year 2000 Audi A4 1.9 Tdi PD

    Hi. I serviced our Audi yesterday, changed the oil and filter, changed fuel filter, changed air filter, checked brakes, tightened slightly loose rear wheel bearing and that was all I did.
    Then, I start it up, give it a few seconds to idle then I went for a drive.
    No power! Just as if the turbo was not doing anything. I've had this before and it was the air flow meter, so I disconnected that, and still no power.
    A while ago I brought a diagnostic reader. So I plugged this in and it came up with,
    VAG type 5 digit - 17964
    P type - P1556

    When I look up 17964 it tells me,
    "Turbocharger pressure - upper limit exceeded"

    and says the problem could be,
    "Turbocharger wastegate regulating valve, intake leak, Turbocharger defective"

    All I did was change the filters!!

    Has anyone had this problem before? I'm guessing it's something simple.
    Any help much appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Matt Savage
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 30, 2014]

  3. Rev-head
    Offline

    Rev-head Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,987
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Nov 4, 2007]
    bleed the fuel system sounds like that is the problem .air in the filter
    #2
  4. Administrators
    Online

    Administrators Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,624
    Likes Received:
    263
    [Nov 4, 2007]
    Hi 17964 is negative not positive make sure that airmass plug and the connecting pipes on the air box are all sealed


    17964 P1556 Charge Pressure Contr. Negative Deviation
    #3
  5. mattsavage
    Offline

    mattsavage New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 4, 2007]
    Well, I've just opened the bonnet to figure this problem out, and after a lot of looking, checking and messing about, I just happened to notice a thin vacuum pipe at the back of the engine that was not connected! I must have some how pulled it off when I was changing the fuel filter!
    So I guess the fault codes were raised because certain things could not actuate.
    Anyway, all sorted now. Thank you all for your input.

    Cheers,
    Matt
    #4

Share This Page