1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi A4 Auto - Help with DTC codes - Car going in Limp mode

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Winchmore, May 27, 2012.

  1. Winchmore
    Offline

    Winchmore Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 27, 2012]
    Car goes in Limp Mode – DTC light

    #1) 17976 x 2 -Not listed on Ross-Tech but may be re throttle

    #2) 17967/P1559/005465 - Throttle Body (J338): Fault in Basic Settings
    #3) 17972/P1564/005476 - Throttle Actuator (J338): Under-Voltage during Basic Setting
    #4) 17973/P1565/005477 - Throttle Actuator (J338): Lower Stop not Reached
    #5) 17950/P1542/005442 - Angle Sensor 1 for Throttle Actuator (G187): Implausible Signal
    #6) 17579/P1171/004465 - Angle Sensor 2 for Throttle Actuator (G188) Implausible Signal

    17967/P1559/005465 - Ross-Tech Wiki
    17972/P1564/005476 - Ross-Tech Wiki
    17973/P1565/005477 - Ross-Tech Wiki
    17950/P1542/005442 - Ross-Tech Wiki
    17579/P1171/004465 - Ross-Tech Wiki

    Capacitance Discharge (disconnecting the battery and shorting
    the terminals together) may help with 17976 not sure about the rest


    Need help - please advise

    New to the forum :)

    Sheffield S8
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 23, 2014]

  3. Sandra
    Offline

    Sandra MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    16,494
    Likes Received:
    2,489
    [May 27, 2012]
    Welcome to ASN. One of the guys should be along shortly. Enjoy the forum. Have a :readit:through information available in threads.
    #2
  4. AR-rkon
    Offline

    AR-rkon BZZZZ.... caffeine fueled electrical engineer Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,730
    Likes Received:
    83
    [May 27, 2012]
    Looks as though your throttle potentiometer has failed. could be a simple fix (go to measuring blocks, enter 060, then click on "basic settings") to run the throttle alignment, or the throttle may be genuinely faulty.
    #3
  5. marty.h
    Offline

    marty.h Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 27, 2012]
    Sounds like it needs a good clean out and the Adaptation re-done if the above does not sort it worth trying that before you go buying a new one.

    Did you try clearing the codes and see what ones return ?
    #4
  6. Winchmore
    Offline

    Winchmore Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 30, 2012]
    Many Thanks !

    Going to get local garage to clean and reset.

    Will also get the spark plugs changed...not done for a long while. Which ones NGK or Bosch ....model? - V6 2.4 Auto engine

    "Did you try clearing the codes and see what ones return " no will alos give it a go
    #5
  7. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,697
    Likes Received:
    332
    [May 30, 2012]
    Check the wiring plug for corrosion.

    Mine had fault codes like that and there was some crust on the pins on the throttle body, i sprayed in some WD40 and plugged/unplugged it many times and that sorted it.
    #6

Share This Page