1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi A4 2.5 TDI Pump Timing.

Discussion in 'VCDS (formerly VAG-COM) forum' started by BlackQuat, Apr 11, 2010.

  1. BlackQuat
    Offline

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Apr 11, 2010]
    I've done a few searches and I'm struggling.
    My car isn't the best at starting, a few good folk on here have suggested checking the pump timing.
    I had a play today with vagcom, but couldn't find the relevent options.

    Could someone please advise.
    Cheers.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 25, 2014]

  3. bearthebruce
    Offline

    bearthebruce Ross-Tech, LLC

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    17
    [Apr 11, 2010]
    Are you looking for the TDI Timing Checker? This will allow you to check your timing on non-PD engines.
    #2
  4. BlackQuat
    Offline

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Apr 11, 2010]
    Thats the one yeh, i found something earlier. But it said something about Seat engines.


    Edit:
    Now i have a better idea of what to search for!
    Found it, Cheers Bruce.
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2010
    #3
  5. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,362
    Likes Received:
    158
    [Apr 29, 2010]
    Hey guys,

    I am interested in looking into this with my new VCDS cable but have been into engine and then measure blocks but cant see TDi pump timing anywhere. Am i looking in the right place as i would like to check my pump timing to see if its correct and is the cause of my starting issues. The car is an A4 B6 2.5TDi 180 Quattro with the BAU engine.

    Cheers
    #4
  6. 1wheelonly
    Online

    1wheelonly cabriolet VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,083
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Apr 29, 2010]
    rob,
    as your is the BAU engine, have you checked that you have the relevent pins in your diagnostic plug, you need to get on your back with a tourch mate and count the visable pins in the purple socket you plug your vag cable in !!!!
    let us know how many pins you have mate.
    #5
  7. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,362
    Likes Received:
    158
    [Apr 29, 2010]
    Sounds like fun will do it in a bit :)
    #6
  8. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,362
    Likes Received:
    158
    [Apr 29, 2010]
    ok so this is what i can see, there are 16 holes 8 on the top row and 8 on the bottom row

    x - - x x - x -
    - - - - - - xx

    x is where i have pins and - is where there are no pins
    #7
  9. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,473
    Likes Received:
    1,262
    [Apr 29, 2010]
    Dude, seriously why are you sending kisses to Lea on an open forum, man this forum is becoming so gaysport.
    #8
  10. 1wheelonly
    Online

    1wheelonly cabriolet VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,083
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Apr 29, 2010]
    rob,
    just as i thought mate, your 4 top x's would stand for " WIND "
    and the second row would stand for " UP "

    but dont you feel better for that bit of fresh air !!! lmfao

    sorry mate, couldnt resist.
    #9
  11. 1wheelonly
    Online

    1wheelonly cabriolet VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,083
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Apr 29, 2010]
    here you go mate


    Step by step:
    • Make sure you are using VAG-COM Release 303.1 or newer.
    • Start your engine
    • Start VAG-COM
    • Click [Select]
    • Click [01-Engine]
    • Click [Meas. Blocks - 08]
    • Go to group 000
    • Click [Switch to Basic Settings]
    • Click [TDI Timing]
    • Select your engine code from the drop-down menu
    it states this may help too
    http://forums.tdiclub.com/showthread.php?t=163435
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2010
    #10
  12. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,362
    Likes Received:
    158
    [Apr 29, 2010]
    Damn you all! you see this is the problem you have been to helpful so now i believe anything you tell me.

    Thanks mate for the procedure will give it a go 2moro after work.

    Gaysport i like it, so thats where you can go to get some real hands on support ;)
    #11
  13. 1wheelonly
    Online

    1wheelonly cabriolet VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,083
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Apr 29, 2010]
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2010
    #12
  14. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,362
    Likes Received:
    158
    [Apr 30, 2010]
    Gonna have a read thru that link and then have a go after work today.

    Cheers guys will let you known how i get on.
    #13
  15. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,362
    Likes Received:
    158
    [Apr 30, 2010]
    #14
  16. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,362
    Likes Received:
    158
    [Apr 30, 2010]
    Right really confused now as i have followed the instructions and i dont get the right results as no TDi button shows up!

    So i am going into engine and then measure blocks (all with the engine running on tickover) goto group 000 and click go then i goto basic settings and in the bottom right hand corner i get buttons for graph and for log but nothing saying TDi Timing.

    I am using the latest version of VAGcom 908 and the only difference i can see is that the instructions i have with pics they are using version 805.1 so could this be why i am not getting the TDi timing button as i have no other ideas.
    #15
  17. bearthebruce
    Offline

    bearthebruce Ross-Tech, LLC

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    17
    [Apr 30, 2010]
    Did you download your software from the Ross-Tech web site? If so, the TDITiming checker should be there. You can download the program separately.

    Your engine is definitely supported.

    Was the engine up to operating temp? I seem to remember that TDIGraph is disabled until engine is warm.
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2010
    #16
  18. adamss24
    Offline

    adamss24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,494
    Likes Received:
    192
    [Apr 30, 2010]
    Use the above mentioned procedure but USE Basic Setings block 4 instead of 0 !!! The engine should rev on its own to 1100 rpm and the tdi buton should appear on right hand side corner of the screen. Press -it and select the last option from the drop down box on the lowere corner of the graff ! The timing should be between the top and middle line...
    #17
  19. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,362
    Likes Received:
    158
    [May 1, 2010]
    Ok so had some progress as i have found the TDi timing button after using group 004 so i followed the instructions, got the car upto running temp and then hooked up VAGcom and started the graph chose my engine from the drop down box and waited. i could see it doing something and the engine kept dropping and picking up. but it just ran and ran and said waiting for injectiont timing to be retarded at the bottom of the graph. so am confused again!
    #18
  20. BlackQuat
    Offline

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    44
    [May 4, 2010]
    If you click 'cloud' it'll put a cloud of dots where the timing is. So it shoudl say where the timing is.
    #19
  21. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,362
    Likes Received:
    158
    [May 5, 2010]
    Cheers buddy, i did click cloud but was unsure what it did so unticked it almost immediatly. If i have some time will give it another go soon.
    #20

Share This Page