Audi A4 1.8t (8E) engine swap with TT Engine

J7USS

Shuddup Foooool!!
Reaction score
:sos: ...Well where do I start...

Firstly Im pretty New to the Audi Scene and the Forum and hoping you can shed some light on my situation..

Basically Ive owned my Audi 1.8t Quattro (8E) for nearly 4 weeks now, When I picked it up from the private seller I was travelling home sitting at the 80 mark when all a sudden the OIL indicator flashed (stop engine, check oil level), so doing so I did and checked oil level- Fine, Right on the max level, hmmm:search: strange, so I started the engine back up and the Indicator went off, Everything OK.
Reaching home I double checked, Yes all fine...

3 weeks later, driving home from Newcastle... Beep, the oil indicator flashed up again, Pulled over, checked, Fine. Started the engine back up and heard a Tapping in the engine:( , dissapeared after a minute or so, so I thought Id take a slower drive home with still 150 miles to go.
Car was driving 100%, No power loss, Nothing. Still taking it easy as I was approaching the Junction then all a sudden the Tapping returned, this time louder and getting louder, I swiftly steer onto the hardshoulder and must of been down to 40 mph when it started frog hopping then a Loud Bang, loads of smoke flew out and engine Died as we came to a halt:uhm: , I jumped out (being careful of course) and lifted the bonnet fighting through the last of the Smoke then it dawned on me as the oil started to run out from underneath the front end...OUCH:sob: - The Bottom End has gone. AA recovered me and now its sitting sadly on my Drive....

Now then I need serious Advice in what to do next...

I want to ring the guy who I bought it from and ask him straight out was he aware of any indicators flashing for the Oil before but Its down to the sold as seen thing and maybe my stupidness for not getting it checked out in the first place.